We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$503
US$410
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$263
US$255
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$135
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$229
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$198
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Makai Club Resort(Princeville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hanalei Bay Resort(Princeville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham Ka 'Eo Kai(Princeville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,088)
Filter reviews
3,088 results
Traveller rating
1,971
597
308
134
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,971
597
308
134
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskauai grillbutler servicemakana terracepacific dream photographyfour seasonsjunior suitepool beachour honeymoongreen marblechampagne saberinglobby barturn down servicean ocean view roomgrand hyatthotel is beautifulsushinorth shore
Filter
Updating list...
2,594 - 2,599 of 3,088 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The St Regis has become my favorite hotel in Hawaii. The location is excellent, the views to die for. The island of Kauai is really a piece of heaven. From the hotel's location you can access some of the best hiking, beaches and snorkeling on the island. The snorkeling right off the beach was the best I have done on the islands.
I was very happy with the service. The valet personnel would always greet us warmly, ask about our day and offer us water and towels when we left the resort. There is a review here alluding to some type of bias, but we don't exactly fall into the blonde with blue eyes demographic. The service at breakfast on the terrace was terrific, our waiter, a 17 year veteran of the hotel gave us great information about the island. The Grill was not to the standards of Jean Georges in New York, nor the Alan Wong restaurant in the FS on the Big Island or Spago's in the Maui FS. We had dinner once in the hotel and the rest of the nights we drove to Kaapa and Hanalei.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank interterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisPV, Guest Relations Liaison at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing a review of your stay with us. It’s an honor to know we are your favorite hotel in Hawai’i. Of the 8 major islands in the Hawaiian Archipelago, the island of Kaua’i is truly a special place. The natural beauty of the north shore and breath-taking views of Hanalei are unsurpassed. Your comments shared and recommendations offered will be helpful for others considering Kaua’i and our resort for a vacation destination.

Thank you for your feedback regarding Jean George inspired restaurant Kaua’i Grill, recently named #1 in Hawaii for Food and Service by renowned Zagat Survey. This prestigious award is highly regarded and taken very seriously by our team. Every comment shared receives careful attention as our team continuously strives toward perfection.

Should your travels return you to Kaua’i we hope to welcome you back to Hawai’i’s Quintessential Address!

Warmest Regards,
Michele Davis
Guest Relations Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This hotel keeps trying to think that it is first class in service but in reality it's a far cry. First of all, when we first checked in we were given a temporary room while waiting for our room to be cleaned. We locked our valuables in the safe and took a walk around hotel. We told the bell desk person that we would go back to grab our stuff from the safe a bit later. He said no problem the keys should work. when we went back, the keys didn't work and we had to go wait in line in front desk to figure out what was wrong. So they said that they had already rented the room out to other people while our valuables were still in the safe lock. That pissed us off because we specifically said we still had stuff there. What if it got lost or stolen?! Luckily we retrieved it back after wasting an hour to sort things out.

Second thing upsetting- kauai grill service. It was horrendous. The guy appeared rude and patronizing. Also he kept questioning about our comments about how the fish tasted bad. Sigh. That just blew. Can't believe st Regis have this type of service. They try to think that they are giving the service on the surface but deep down it is really not.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RychiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I have been in Hawaii many times, so I know what to compare with wath. Let me also introduce myself by saying that I like luxury travel and like to test the hotels listed by Conde Nast or Kiwicollection. As such, I visited some of the best and most unique hotels of the world (see my other reviews). I had been to the Princeville resort before it became a St Regis. What can I say : this hotel will blow you away !!!

The major advance of the St Regis - by which it outruns al of its competitors in Hawaii - is its location. It is perched on a rocky outcrop and offers one of the most stunning hotel views you will ever encounter. The splendid beauty of Kauau's North Shore - with Hanalei Bay & the Napali Coast - is all in front of you.

Having said that, the hotel offers many other pro's as well :
- very well trained and friendly staff
- nice & large infinity pool & jacuzzi, with offer of complimentary snacks during a sunny afternoon (beware that there is only one pool, and as such no adult only pool is available)
- private stretch of beach with awesome sunsets (in summer at least)
- rooms are large, beds supersoft, decoration modern en luxurious
- offered spa products/therapies are expensive but well worth it
- service is comparable to that of Four Seasons

I am not a big fan of big resorts - I like more intimate boutique hotels - but I became a big fan of the St Regis Princeville, and would recommend it to everyone in a heartbeat.

The hotel does have a few minor issues according to my opinion that they should address :
- valet partking (20 US $ a night) is not included in the room rate and must be paid. They should offer guests - like in most Hawaiian resorts - the possibility of free parking.
- the food at the Makena Terrace (their signature restaurant) was mediocre at the best (I would not recommend it). But it was not really the food that bothered us, but the sercive. One of the ladies was actually very rude (and not in line with wath you would expect at a St Regis)

Some tips :
- check the website of the hotel : they do offer good promotions from time to time.
- north Kauai is the most scenic part in the whole of Hawaii : hike the Kalalau trail to the waterfalls, take a heli flight (prices are cheaper for heli companies in Lihue than Princeville Airport), take a boat trip from Hanalei bay (only possible in summer) to the Napali Coast which is the best way to the splendour of the Napali cliffs. The hike is best done early in the morning (to get some shade), but the heli flight and the boat trip are best done late afternoon for the best light for your pics.
- as said, the north shore is much more spectacular and thé place to stay in Kauai (although good weather is less guaranteed). Nevertheless, a few nights in the south (Poipu) are recommended (before moving to the north), since this is the base for a trip to Waimea Canyon and the Koke'e State Park (not te be missed) and it may be a good place to start your Hawaii trip with overcoming the jetlag in the sun. We stayed a few days in the Sheraton (see my seperate review).
- we had dinner one night in the restaurant of the Westin Princeville : highly recommended.
- we had most dinners in beautiful Hanalai Bay : there are some very good restaurants there such as the blue dolphin.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LuxTravelExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisPV, Guest Relations Liaison at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing a review of your stay with us. Your comments shared and suggestions offered will be helpful for others considering Kaua’i and our resort for their vacation destination.

It’s always interesting receiving feedback from guests who’ve stayed with us during Luxury Collection and return to experience the renovated, re-branded St. Regis Princeville Resort. Your discerning taste for fine luxury resorts and best travel destination are intriguing. Please include on your list The St. Regis Princeville Resort, named The World’s Best Places to Stay, from Conde Nast Traveler, in January 2011 - Gold List.

The breath-taking views of Hanalei Bay and majesty of Mount Makana are unsurpassed. Nestled on the perch of Pu’u Poa Point, we are privileged to be graced amongst such beauty and splendor.

Our staff strive to deliver the highest level of service. Valet parking is a service experience offered at fine hotels and resort. Our daily valet fee includes unlimited in-and-out services and is substantially less than most major cities.

I’m sorry to know your dining experience at the Makana Terrace Restaurant was mediocre and the service was less than exemplary. Your concerns are well noted and being addressed.

Should your travels return you to Kaua’i we hope to welcome you back to Hawai’i’s Quintessential Address!

Warmest Regards,
Michele Davis
Guest Relations Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed here as a family for 7-nights during mid-August. The hotel was incredibly beautiful and the view of Hanalei Bay is amazing. However, customer service is somewhat lacking. The valet department really left us with a bad feeling. Yes, the valet did their job, parked the car and retrieved the car with care; if this was the service that is provided to everybody else, I probably will not complain about their service. However, watching other guests being treated with warm attentions, nice short chit-chat conversations and were offered beach towels and water every day while we did not even once receive such attention really made us feel excluded. By the end of our stay, the only observed difference between us and those who received attentive service is the color of our skin.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSgarbi, General Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your review. We deeply apologize that you felt that this lack of service was intentional. Hawaii is considered one of the most ethnically diverse places in the world. Our team is made up of many nationalities and we welcome guests from around the world on a regular basis. I can assure you any service deficiency was not intended or directed at you personally for any reason. We assure you that we do not tolerate or condone any kind of discriminatory actions.

Your comments are being taken very seriously and will be addressed with our staff.

Warmest Aloha,
Milton Sgarbi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Our family broke up our trip to Kauai with a few days at the St. Regis. This was absolutley the best part of our vacation.The views are the best on Kauai, in my opinion, and it is so tranquil here. Their Sunday brunch is worth the trip alone. That said, the reason we will be coming here again is because of the outstanding service. Everyone was helpful, friendly, and attentive(but not annoyingly so). It is very evident that they take service very seriously and that goes along way in my book. Thanks to everyone for helping this busy family relax and enjoy our stay(here's looking at you "uncle" Noah).So worth it! Mahalo.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisPV, Guest Relations Liaison at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing a review of your stay with us. Family vacations are an important time. In a fast-paced decade where people are often busy with deadlines, commitments, and day-to-day responsibilities we need refuge. It’s during family vacations where generations are able to reunite and strengthen the ties which bind them. We are honored to know we shared in this quality time for you and your family.

The breath-taking views of Hanalei Bay and majesty of Mount Makana are unsurpassed. It’s serenity and splendor is magical. We feel privileged to be graced amongst such beauty.

Our staff strive to deliver the highest level of service and are trained in the Ho’okipa (hospitality) Culture Traditions. This culture tradition is also known as the Aloha Spirit and can only be found in it's people of Hawaii.

The Culinary Team under the direction of Executive Chef Fabric Huet ensures the finest taste and freshest quality food available. We are pleased to know your dining experience during Sunday Brunch was “worth the trip”!

I’m going to assume your mention of “Uncle Noah” refers to our staff member at the pool. I will be sure to share your kind gesture to both Noah and his supervisor.

On behalf of the entire St. Regis Ohana (family) we hope to welcome you back to Hawai’i’s Quintessential Address! “A Hui Hou - Until We Meet Again!”

Warmest Regards,
Michele Davis
Guest Relations Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews