We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$263
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$209
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$227
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Makai Club Resort(Princeville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Ka 'Eo Kai(Princeville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,052)
Filter reviews
3,052 results
Traveller rating
1,954
592
303
127
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,954
592
303
127
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskauai grillbutler servicemakana terracepacific dream photographyfour seasonsjunior suitepool beachour honeymoonchampagne saberinggreen marblelobby barturn down servicean ocean view roomgrand hyatthotel is beautifulsushiamazing location
Filter
Updating list...
2,405 - 2,410 of 3,052 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We spent two nights at the St. Regis Princeville for our honeymoon this past October and were not impressed with the hotel. The St. Regis incorrectly overbilled our credit card by thousands of dollars for a security deposit on our two-night stay and it took several days (and several calls to the hotel once we left!) for them to reverse the mistake. But perhaps most disappointing was our room at the St. Regis. It had such a strong mildew smell that we asked to be moved to a different room for our second night. Not a very restful stay! We suggest trying another hotel if you are visiting the northern part of Kauai.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 24KAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisPV, Guest Relations Liaison at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

Aloha,

We appreciate you taking the time and sharing a review of your stay with us. Congratulations on your special occasion! Honeymoon vacations are a magical time for couples as you both embark on life’s journey as one. We apologize that we missed the opportunity to create a magical honeymoon celebration for the both of you.

Our security deposit policy is equal nights stay inclusive of taxes. For extended stays a 3 nights inclusive deposit is taken. We apologize for the incorrect billing and the inconvenience you experienced.

Hawai’i has a tropical climate. We make every effort to ensure our guestrooms are well ventilated and climate controlled for the comfort of our guests. Whenever we are made aware of a guest that is concerned about any mildew issues we have a set protocol in place to diagnose and find the problem.

It would be my pleasure to discuss with you further the details of your stay at Michele.davis@stregis.com. Should your travels return you to the island of Kaua’i we hope you will allow us the privilege of restoring your faith in us and welcoming you back to The St. Regis Princeville Resort.

Warmest Aloha,
Michele Davis
Guest Relations Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Yeah, it used to be the Princevill hotel when we first went there. Been back almost every year since. Spectacular view of Bali Hai from the restaurants and some of the rooms. The staff is friendly and always remember us. Not cheap, but I'm a frequent flyer and have lots of points.

Room Tip: Anyone facing Hanalei Bay is perfect.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rk1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisPV, Guest Relations Liaison at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Aloha,

Mahalo for taking the time and sharing a review of your stay with us. Your kind words shared for our staff is greatly appreciated and was shared during the morning staff meeting. As we pioneer the St. Regis brand in Hawai’i our staff are trained in the ho’okipa (hospitality) culture traditions embodied in the “aloha spirit”.

On behalf of the entire St. Regis Ohana (family) were privileged to welcome you back for 20 celebrated years, and to share in a legacy of memories each year. We look forward to your return soon. A hui hou – until we meet again!

Warmest Aloha,
Michele Davis
Guest Relations Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Super property,great views and friendly staff- but at the prices they charge I don't expect to get
charged 18$ a day mandatory for rental car valet( no self park option). I don't expect to get charged 14$ a day for internet. Prices in all the restaurants were very,very high.I enjoyed the stay, I think people there work hard to please so no complaints in that dept...I just think long term they will struggle as a value proposition because of the "extras".
We were there for a meeting-- about 40 of us and we stay at 5 star resorts often... this is just average. Also-- ATT cell service is very spotty at the hotel. Worked ok in lobby-- would not work at all in rooms.
Rooms were pretty nice..ocean view was incredible.Only complaint on the room is a pretty big step into shower tub.

Room Tip: We were on 6th floor.. had a super ocean view.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisPV, Guest Relations Liaison at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing a review of your stay with us. Your kind words shared for our staff is greatly appreciated and received as words of encouragement and praise. While the views are great and our staff friendly we apologize that we did not exceed your expectations.

As a luxury resort in Hawai’i we are committed to delivering exceptional service. The daily valet service includes unlimited in-and-out privileges, young Hawaiian Artesian water, and towels for the day. We offer several options for internet connection in addition to the 24-hour $14 wireless service. These include complimentary hourly hot spot connection and complimentary 24-hour business room access.

We’ve been in discussion with AT&T. They realize the growth of their customer base on the North Shore of Kaua’i and are committed to make improvements on their network.

Should your travels return you to the island of Kaua’i we hope to welcome you back to The St. Regis Princeville Resort.

Warmest Aloha,
Michele Davis
Guest Relations Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I'm going to put this as directly as possible, if you are a traveler who has experienced true 5 star luxury properties, the St. Regis tops out at about a Sheraton level. If you are used to Holiday Inn's, Sheraton's etc. this probably seems like a great place. Honestly, it is not worth the cost of the rooms, and cannot hold a candle to a four seasons resort.

My husband and I stayed at the St. Regis Princeville on the second leg of a 10 day Hawaii trip, the first 5 nights were at the Four Seasons Wailea, which is a much much much better property. If you are trying to pick between the two, go with the Four Seasons and plan on having a much better experience. I will try to break this review down as much as possible.

Staff:
Most people here at first blush seem very nice, friendly, helpful, and service-oriented. However, that is until you realize that most are being friendly while they are expecting a tip from you, otherwise, most of them look at the floor when you approach and will not acknowledge your presence. Example: our bellman who helped us with our bags when we checked in was super nice and friendly during check-in, we saw him the next day in the hallway and he put a flower arrangement up in front of his face and hurried past us. The pool guys, after setting up your towels, will retreat to their station and make fun of you. We overheard them on 2 separate days over and over again during those days going over to the canopy and picking on guests. (At the four seasons the guy replacing flowers at the resort stopped to say hello and ask about our stay, a much different experience there indeed)

Of course it should be noted there are some genuinely nice people working here (Rick a breakfast server was just a truly nice person), there just aren't that many and the staff is not service oriented.

Concierge:
Horrible horrible horrible. 1 star at best, and that's only because I finally found one great person to help us out. My first experience with the Concierge was walking in to ask a question, when I arrived all 4 desks were staffed and I was the only guest in the office. The ladies were all to busy chatting about one's disneyland vacation to bother with me (she was leaving that day as I gathered). When I finally interupted the conversation with an "excuse me" one girl pointed over her desk at someone else. I sat down with this girl and asked about scheduling a golf lesson. Her response was "I don't know about that". REALLY?! Then she told me I should go to the golf course and ask. Ridiculous. Later that evening we found Steven who was actually really wonderful, he helped us with a hike for the next day, gave us some pointers and offered up information on the elusive golf lesson.

Rooms:
The rooms are spacious and well appointed, and the beds are very comfortable, so they have that going for them. We had an ocean view room which had a nice view of the bay and Na'Pali coast. The bathrooms are pitiful however. There is very limited counterspace, and the shower is the worst I have experienced in a while. There are two temperature settings, scalding hot and freezing cold, and the water trickles out of the worst shower head ever made.

Food/Drinks:
Breakfast buffet was pretty good, although probably not worth the $35 price.

The St. Regis bar was good, we had drinks and appetizers here one night. Cocktails about $13-$15, wine $16 - $22 for a caraf (about 1/12 glasses), beer $6-$9. The appetizers were about $13-$25.

Pool: Cocktails/wine/beer same as above, and food between $13-$30 for the most part.

Amenities:
Here is where a real downfall of the property is. Every single thing here is an extra fee, which is annoying when you pay over $700 for a room. At the Four Seasons most of these amentities are included, which really makes it even worse to come here. Morning yoga - fee, exercise classes - fee, coffee - specialty shop (nothing in the lobby complimentary), no water sport program, no suntan lotion by the pool, nothing. At the four seasons, everything listed and so much more is included in the rate. Hugely disappointing. The St. Regis doesn't even run a shuttle service anymore, they were actually telling people to take a cab to the golf course. Surprisingly, the Westin right up the road was running a shuttle for their guests, one stop was the St. Regis so the Westin guests could enjoy the St. Regis pool and beach.

Pool:
The pool is beautiful with the only downsides being no adults-only pool so families and small children and Westin guests pretty much take over the area. Additionally, the pool loungers have absolutely got to go. They are gross, dirty, mesh loungers that are falling apart, if it was truly a five star property these pool loungers would be clean, well kept and have comfortable cushions on them. Simply placing a towel over a dirty mesh seat does nothing to deserve a 5 star rating.

Service at the pool is also lacking. As mentioned earlier the pool staff will set you up and give you towels for the chairs, but then turn around and make fun of you. Also if you go swimming you have to keep asking for more towels (at the four seasons if you got out of the water a staff member was standing near the pool to hand you a fresh towel, never allowing a wet one near your chair).

The "put the flag up for a drink" policy is ridiculous as well, it takes no less than 5 -10 minutes for someone to come over, at which point you can't even remember what the heck you wanted. There is someone that comes around with frozen grapes which is nice, but you have to get up and get everything else yourself (water, towels, etc)

I know some of these things might seem nit-picky, but for what you are paying, you should get an actual 5 star experience. A true 5 star property would be ashamed of the level of service and attitudes of the staff here. There is simply no value in a $700 a night property that can't even properly anticipate the needs of guests, or for that matter not make fun of the guests in ear shot of said guests. Again, if you have the option, please stay instead at the Four Seasons Wailea, and enjoy the real 5 star experience. If you absolutely have to come to Kauai and you enjoy blowing money on hotels, by all means stay here, otherwise stay at the Sheraton or the Westin and enjoy the cash in your wallet and expect the receive the same level of service at all 3 properties.

*Disclaimer* I did receive an email from the property manager soliciting feedback. I wrote him pretty much the same email as the review above. I did receive a response back from a front office manager asking when we could speak to each other. I sincerely hope that the phone call is to improve the nature of the property.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This hotel met and exceeded our expectations. The view from the lobby and the guest rooms is breathtaking and the staff went above and beyond. Shannon at the Concierge desk was extremely helpful, recommending Dolphin in Hanalei to eat at (highly recommend) and giving us some helpful pointers in how to successfully complete the 6-hour Hanakapiai hike. The food was expensive, but good and you should make reservations at the Kauai Grill if you're interested in eating there. They seemed pretty strict on dress code at this restaurant, but if you're a hotel guest and have made a prior reservation they won't turn you way (we did see a walk-in get turned away because of dress code issues). Turndown service always seems special and it didn't hurt seeing Marg Helgenberger and the Jonas Brothers while we were there. One complaint would be that rooms are pricey enoughs, so you would expect the free wifi to be available. Otherwise, a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mogabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisPV, Guest Relations Liaison at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2012

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing a review of your stay with us. The beauty of Kaua’i and the natural surroundings of the north shore make Hanalei Bay truly a magical place.

Your kind words shared for our staff, including Shannon, Concierge is greatly appreciated and will be shared with her supervisor. As we pioneer the St. Regis brand in Hawaii our staff are well trained in the ho’okipa (hospitality) culture traditions embodied in the “aloha spirit”.

We’re proud to mention Kaua’i Grill, featuring the exquisite cuisine of acclaimed chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten was named the Number #1 restaurant on Kaua’i for food and service by the renowned Zagat Survey. We are honored for this recognition and steward this award intently. Your comment shared regarding wifi is well received and will be taken under consideration.

On behalf of the entire St. Regis Ohana (family), mahalo for allowing us to share in your vacation. We look forward to welcoming you soon to The St. Regis Princeville Resort, Hawai’i’s Quintessential Address!

Warmest Aloha,
Michele Davis
Guest Relations Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews