We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta CAnada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ah ! Koele”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Beautiful gardens and orchid house on premises. Very relaxing and comfortable. Excellent staff. always helpful when asked questions about other places to eat on the Island.

Room Tip: Don't know if there are any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaAlbertaCAnada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    71
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
133
438
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

For 8 years we have been traveling to the Big Island and Maui, and watched both islands get busier and busier. Longing for a quiet vacation, we finally "discovered" Lanai, and were very pleased. My husband and I spent 7 days at the Lodge at Koele, and were glad that we did because it is much more quiet, and the clientele appear to be more mature and low keyed than Manele. We did make one day trip to Manele Bay and true to most reviews, that is where the younger, more energetic crowd is. We had a flashback of Maui and quickly took the shuttle back to the mountains. The best thing about Koele is how quiet it is, and how time just seems to stop. We spent days just walking around the hotel grounds, lounging by the pool, and taking strolls through Lanai City.

On the first 6 nights we stayed in a Garden Deluxe Room. It was very comfortable, clean, and adequate. Guests at this hotel are early risers, and every morning we hear shuffling in adjacent rooms, starting at 6am. Not a problem, since the hotel is very quiet in the evenings, which allows us to get to sleep very early. It appears that the difference between the Garden Deluxe and the Garden is the location. The Garden faces outside the hotel, and the Deluxe faces inside. Both are the same size and layout and have good views. Both day and evening Housekeeping were polite and did a great job. We love the L'Occitane products.

On the 7th day, a wedding party checked in downstairs from us - it was a bridesmaid party that sounded like an entire sorority house. We asked the front desk if we could change rooms, and they moved us to a Koele Deluxe room. These are basically corner rooms that have panoramic windows. We got room 354, which had a nice view of the stables in front of the hotel, and the sunset. The view was amazing, but we had problems with ants and mosquitoes. There was a hole next to the mini bar where a trail of ants kept coming in, and there was an overhead flood light at the room entry way where the mosquitoes congregate. Every time the room door opened, the mosquitoes came rushing into the room. We spent our last night exterminating mosquitoes and ants and didn't get any sleep.

The breakfast at the Terrace was amazing every morning. The waitress Espe was a sweetheart and very nice to converse with. The food and service were excellent. Coffee and juice were $5 and $7. Basic items like fruit, cereal, and yogurt were $9-$14. Hot food entrees like omelets, eggs, and potatoes were $18-$25. We really enjoyed the Paniolo Breakfast, which is Kahlua Pork, rice, Portuguese sausage, and eggs. The Koele Loco Moco was also very good, which is made with local venison. During one of our breakfasts we met Chef Junior Ulep who was a cool young chap, friendly, talkative, and likable. During the weekend there was another chef with a French accent, who came out to say hi and was also very nice.

The pool was quiet, clean, and the service was extremely attentive. The pool attendants Heidi and Kevin set up our chairs and brought out ice water constantly. The complimentary sunscreen (SPF30) had a pleasant citrus smell and was very creamy and easy to apply. Pool food service is available from 11am-5pm, so you can order drinks and food to be brought from the kitchen to the pool.

If there is one aspect of this hotel that we had to pick on, it was the front desk and the concierge. A few of the front desk ladies did not seem very keen to help on occasions when we stopped by. One time we asked the concierge for a map of the hiking trail (a blonde, young lady). She handed us the map without saying a word, and we walked away dumbfounded. I guess we just sort of expected some interest, or questions, or at least a smile.
Another time I stopped by the front desk because I had a problem with a computer in the trophy room. There was one lady at the front desk, and she was on the phone. During the 5 minutes I stood in front of her, she made no acknowledgement of my existence and no effort to speed up the call. Finally two ladies emerged from the back office and proceeded to help the gentleman BEHIND me. I told them that I was there first, and they actually didn't even apologize. It was the gentleman behind me who apologized to me, saying that he thought I was already being helped by the lady on the phone (the same one who had ignored me). No problem, since this is just a small portion of the trip.

We will definitely return to Lanai, and stay at the Lodge. It's a great place for couples looking for a quiet retreat. Thanks again to Heidi, Kevin, Espe, Junior, and the entire housekeeping staff for the exceptional service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inside of the resort have a more enclosed feel. Rooms facing the outside have view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunandfun155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

What a beautiful place that is impecably maintained with a very attentive staff. Not for people who need to be entertained, great golf, horseback riding and nature walks. You can rent 4 wheel drive vechicles but this is really a small island that was made for relaxing. The beach which is about a 20 minute shuttle ride is beautiful and the Four Seasons Beach resort treats you as if you were in their rooms which they should. Would highly recommend either hotel and the island if you are seeking a peaceful, restful trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Aloha Leslie B,

Mahalo for taking the time to review the property and provide such positive feedback. With just 30 miles of paved roads, the 4x4 Jeep Rental is a great choice to really explore the island and come upon quiet and pristine beaches and miles of open road. Great to hear that made it to our sister property and spent some time relaxing seaside. Having access to two properties, on one island, within twenty-minutes apart, combines the best of the upcountry and seaside experiences. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

This lovely spot can be a quiet old fashion relaxing read a book vacation, play lawn bowling, putt on the executive course or rent a jeep for the day and do semi-off road excursions. You can use the beach,pool and facilities of the Four Seasons Manele Bay it's just a 20 minute free shuttle all day long. The town is small good for a walk around, a few galleries, eateries and very friendly people! Dinner one night try the Hotel at Lanai, the shuttle makes a stop there, you won't be disappointed. We met people who live in Oahu and Maui who come here for relaxation and to get away. All in all, wonderful place to be!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honolulu, hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Very beautiful place to relax and enjoy the beautiful grounds, landscape, turkeys, fish in the pond, minature golf, Koele has a beautiful golf course, and Manele Bay a well manicured course, if you play golf this is a must for you when visiting Lanai.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronaldrezentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanai City
32.1 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
26.5 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
25.3 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
33.0 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
28.2 km away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Property: Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price range (per night): RM4,340 - RM7,541
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAE Travel Pte Ltd, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing