We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A piece of heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Tradewinds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haiku
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maui Tradewinds
Ranked #1 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Starwind Cottage for our wedding/honeymoon trip. I'm trying to sum up my feelings into words for this review. It is very difficult. If I had to pick one word, it would be 'Wow!". Bev and David provide for you a dose of heaven on earth while you are staying with them. The cottage was all I thought it would be and more. IWe fell in love with the pics from the website, but they don't even do it justice. The veiws are just amazing. Bev provided all you need and then some. They respect your privacy as well as being at your disposal whenever you need them. The only problem we had was figuring out a way that we could get there yearly for our anniversaries. If we weren't coming from NJ we could probably swing it. Bev and Dave, hope to see you in 5 years or less!! (hoping for the 'less') God bless you both!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tfreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
170
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Bev and David have created a truly stunning vacation cottage. We stayed in the Starwind Cottage for five nights following a week at a conference on the big island. What an amazing way to wind down our trip! Their attention to detail is spectacular. From the hot tub on the deck, to the outdoor shower, to the well-equipped kitchen, to the abundant towels and beach supplies--nothing could have been better.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We vacationed at Maui Tradewinds for a week at the end of October and wished we could have stayed longer. It was the perfect place for us to stay. The place was about 15 minutes from Paia, easy to find, and had all the amenities mentioned on their website.
Bev and Dave were so helpful, explaining everything when we arrived but respecting our privacy from then on. Even though we stayed in the first story of their private residence we felt like the place was all ours.
The view from the Jacuzzi was divine , the landscaping beautiful, and the suite itself was spacious and homey.
If you are looking for a restful and peaceful lodging in Maui this is definitely the place to stay. Thanks Bev and Dave for helping to make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We were so spoiled to stay at Maui Tradewinds Suite for 2 full weeks! The suite is immaculate! The suite and property are so beautiful that words nor pictures really convey how beautiful it is. It is so quiet the only sounds you’ll hear are the birds singing. A very nice change from the busy areas of the island! Bev and David provide everything you need for an outstanding vacation—from all the beach gear you need (chairs, coolers, boogie boards, snorkel equipment, beach towels, even sunscreen!) to kitchen items if you want to prepare meals there. Some of our favorite days on Maui were when we just stayed at “home” to enjoy the beautiful gardens that are full of flowers and tropical plants—an excellent way to kick back and relax! Bev & David are gracious hosts who respect your privacy. They are available if anything is needed but otherwise they are “invisible.” There are too many positive things about Maui Tradewinds to list everything—but there are no negative things at all! I have extremely high expectations when I rent a vacation home and Maui Tradewinds far exceeded all of my expectations! If you are looking for a paradise retreat, Maui Tradewinds is it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PatM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Hills, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

For a truly (5) star Maui vacation experience we recommend Bev & David's Maui Tradewinds.
As fairly frequent Maui vacationers we only recently found out about the Tradewinds on the beautiful north shore. Our stay at the Tradewinds was a unique experience that will last a lifetime.

Our experience began with a orientation by Bev to the bungalow. What we saw and the welcome she provided far exceeded our expectations. She reviewed what was supplied, which is everything, how to operate everything, where things are found, and how to reach Bev and David if we require anything. Both of them are caring and gracious hosts to make your stay pleasant and memorable, it was clear from the beginning their intent was to make our stay a "home away from home". They have put together a manual of maps, restaurants and where to go sites to assist you in our plans.

This is a unique vacation spot because its luxury living away from the crowds but with pristine views of tropical landscapes. Each room has a 180 degree view for sunrises and sunsets.
What we experienced in our stay could be descrbed in one word "perfection".
Highpoints are:
* Everything is very clean
* 180 view deck with a Jacuzzi
* Fully stocked and supplied with robes, linen, towels, appliances, some food, deck furniture.
* A well thought out and designed B & B
* Views of lush landscape and serenity
* Sun rise and sunset views
* Close to Haiku and Paia for shopping and restaurants

Hopefully we will be back,
D. & S. Claeys

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
35.7 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
40.7 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
27.4 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Maui Ocean Breezes
Maui Ocean Breezes
#2 of 8 in Haiku
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
23.3 km away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
7.2 km away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Tradewinds

Property: Maui Tradewinds
Address: 4320 Une Pl, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5368
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price range (per night): RM1,148 - RM1,804
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic honeymoon/vacation retreat on Maui's beautiful north shore. Have the best of both worlds by staying away from crowds and commercialized development, yet conveniently situated for exploring the entire island. A rare combination of gracious island lifestyle, unspoiled natural beauty, and privacy. Experience breathtaking views, brilliant rainbows, sunsets over the ocean, and your exclusive Jacuzzi, tropical garden, kitchen, and luxurious sauna/bath. Free, self-catered continental breakfast. Free WiFi and long-distance calls to U.S. mainland and Canada. Free parking. Highest ratings by respected travel authors, including Frommer's and Best Places to Kiss. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Tradewinds Haiku, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing