We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveller rating
450
192
62
27
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
450
192
62
27
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palms restaurant general store rental shop parking lot keawakapu beach convenience store beautiful beach the kitchen bedroom condo grassy area sea turtles great snorkeling small room ocean view lounge chairs coffee maker beach access
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 758 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2021

Doug, the property manager, is a superstar. He goes out of his way to make sure all tenants are happy. Our views from our lanai were breathtaking. We snorkeled right in front of the hotel and saw turtles every day. It was a magical experience. We will be back.

Room tip: The ocean-side rooms have incredible views.
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseLaevastu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Chinn, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2021

Mahalo for your review. Doug is very customer service oriented and as you said, does a great job.
Happy Holiday’s!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2021

Highlights of our stay at the Mana Kai:
-- Located on a gorgeous beach with great swimming and a super mellow vibe. Lots of space, lots of beach chairs (i.e., nobody getting up at 6 AM to save beach chairs), relaxed atmosphere, lots of sun but also lots of shade.
-- Comfortable condo with fantastic view. Our upgraded "ali'i" room looked just like the promo photos, and was very clean.
-- Reserved parking space and monitored parking lot meant no parking stress.

Cautions:
-- World's smallest bathroom. Only one person could be in it at time.
-- Room layout is odd, and lanai is small.
-- Service was adequate but impersonal. Front desk closes at 5:30 PM.

Room tip:
We felt that these rooms represented great value. Be careful about the rooms on the backside the hotel (without an ocean view). These rooms are essentially interior rooms with no windows.

Overall, we had an extremely relaxing stay at the Mana Kai. It was also the best value of our Hawaii trip.

Room tip: We liked our upgraded ali'i ocean view room
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JEyre1847
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Chinn, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2021

Mahalo for your comments, yes the hotel type room is small (210 SF), but as you pointed out a great value for a property right on the beach. One bedroom units have a million dollar view as you experienced. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2021 via mobile

Super mediocre. Actually quite disappointing so we left a night early (and happily forfeited our fully paid room to get out of there).

Good: The staff were great, very polite and helpful. It’s great that they have plenty of assigned parking for guests and a nice beach front spot and also nice area in front of then beach with ample lounge chairs so didn’t see folks going and guarding spots early in the morning. The shop on site has a good supply of food/drinks and miscellaneous items that you’ll need!

The not good: where to start…

Our room was horrible. See the photos on the web of the updated 1 Bed Ail’i Ocean View and then the actual unit we were in. While the appliances were new a few years ago, there was left over trash in a closet, the countertops and cabinets were hideously filthy, the TV was very out dates, part of the shower didn’t work, the couch was dated and uncomfortable, and there was minimal dresser space. Would have been fine for a night, but not a great way to start a vacation.

Seems like most rooms share a common entry way with a secure door and then you have your own door to your room. Our “neighbor” enjoyed getting up early and going in and out of their room often at early hours and letting the door slam shut. And could even hear the doors slam down the way.

Though the place is smoked free, this isn’t enforced. Enjoyed the wafting cigarette smoke coming in to our condo multiple times.

The 5 palms restaurant seems convenient especially with the 20% off… but there were no spots saved for note guests and no reservations so wait times were often an hours. The 20% off actually only applies to only a single meal. And though we went in the evening thinking we were having dinner, appears we were there for happy hour and couldn’t use our 20%off.

Is this place horrible? No, and in fact it seems many people have been coming here for years and love it. But looking at what was expected based on the o line description and photos, definitely feel duped. Was not worth it at all, and in fact leaving a night early and losing that paid room and paying to go a night early to our next place was worth it…

Room tip: Check you room before agreeing to stay to see if it meets the description. Honestly, probably better to just book elsewhere
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank B303B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Chinn, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2021

Mahalo for your comment, please email me at winston@manakaimaui.com, and let me know what room number you were assigned to and of course your name. Without this information, I cannot research to find out what happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2021

Prior to arriving, we had great interactions and assistance with the front desk and customer service, setting our expectations for the room and stay high. Unfortunately, we were quite disappointed. The view, on-site beach and location to shops/restaurants are what made this place for us. The room left a lot to be desired. The room was dirty, banged up and simply not taken care of. Front desk and housekeeping closed at 5 pm, leaving us without sheets and towels our first night. Would look for another place next time we visit the Kihei area.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 617courtneyw62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Chinn, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2021

Thank you for your comments. It is impossible for me to research and see what unit number you stayed in, so I can see it that is a unit we manage. Hours for the front desk remain at 8:00 am to 5:30 pm. Sorry for the dirty room, our company manages 33 of the 98 units here. The majority of condominium projects do not have a front desk open 24/7

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2021

The selling point of this place is the location and proximity to a swimmable beach. Just right outside a few steps away.

Pros – Location, Location, beach front access, food on site, general store, free parking and free Wifi. Beach is wonderful

Cons – Do not expect the front desk to actually help you out with any issues you may have. Front desk closes at 5:30pm required a security guard to let us to our room. These are condos so some owners live there. They are supposed to notify you when they are planning construction. Room 401 above us did not, they were running power equipment from 4 hours every day. We notified the front desk 3 times and they shrugged their shoulders. We just wanted a courtesy note or times that they planned to work.. Not unreasonable??
Room was adequate single king bed (Nothing like the website photos) but dingy and the window was duct taped together. We checked about a late check out due to airlines canceling our flight. They stated we had to wait till the last day at checkout to inquire about a late check but, when we did they stated all rooms were booked and could not allow this… If they were just up front 7 days earlier. Parking is mixed resort and public. While they do have spots reserved for you we constantly had to get the security guard to point us to a preferred spot.
Due to COVID and water conservation they only cleaned the rooms and exchanged new towels every 3 days. They NEVER came to our room once. Only on the 4th day did we ask for a housekeeping visit. They did clean the room. Only other time we saw house keeping was on day 8 of checkout.. When she knocked on our door at 9am…….

We felt like the stay was just adequate, could have been much better.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Chinn, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2021

Mahalo for you comments. Sorry about missing housekeeping, which is the third day after your arrival. Guest cam always call us to request service of their room. The reason for waiting until the day before you check out for a late arrival is there might be a cancellation. Like the rest in our industry we are handicapped by the lack of employees and the lack of people that want to work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews