We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveller rating
450
192
62
27
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
450
192
62
27
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palms restaurant general store rental shop parking lot keawakapu beach convenience store beautiful beach the kitchen bedroom condo grassy area sea turtles great snorkeling small room ocean view lounge chairs coffee maker beach access
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 758 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2021

This is a shabby uncared for unit. Literally, we had four teaspoons and had to wash each meal. The bathroom faucet fell off the first time I used it. The broom was so black at the bottom that I was afraid to use it on the floor. The light switches are little prongs sticking out of the wall. knobs all missing. The furniture is old, bulky and too awkward for the unit. I had to move the table and chairs aside to get to the kitchen light. Mis-matched chairs and a too big table on the balcony, make it uncomfortable for more than two people. Not dirty, just not lived in. A commercial unit without amenities. The lid of a pitcher, but no pitcher. The popcorn ceiling is dingy. On the positive side the Vacasa repair man who came to turn off the smoke detector that went off at 4 AM was fast, efficient and friendly. He also repaired the garbage disposal and tried to repair the bathroom faucet. Thank you for that. Really get rid of this rental property. Not worth any $$ as a vacation destination.

Room tip: Do Not Rent Unit 211
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
2  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Chinn, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2021

Sorry, you had such a bad experience with unit 211. This unit is not managed by the on-site rental company. Our company manages 33 two bedroom units here, 211 is managed by another company. I would suggest you contact the company you made your reservations through and let them know of your experience with unit 211. Of you want to give the property another chance, you can book us at www.manakaimaui.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2021

Searching for hotel rooms at a decent price on Maui was its own job. Coming across the a reasonable rate for the Mana Kai Maui on hotels.com at a reasonable rate seemed too good to be true. Based on the descriptions and further research, it looked as if our room would be one of the interior ones that faced north (towards the parking lot). But with that foreknowledge, feeling as if we'd be out of the room most of our stay on Maui and low expectations, my partner and I decided to book our stay for Thanksgiving weekend here. The front desk was closed when we got to the property, but could reach the helpline to retrieve the temporary keycode to get into our room (525B, if I remember correctly) with the stipulation that we would have to return during normal business hours the next day to get the permanent keycode for the rest of our stay and the parking permit to park on the property. After getting that info, we were treated to a spectacular sunset on Keawakapu Beach, which Mana Kai is located directly on. We proceeded to check into our room. Cons: The room is only large enough for a queen bed, a swivel easy chair (which may have contributed to the beaten-up scratch marks on the bed frame), and a small desk with a microwave, coffee maker and a small refrigerator. The window looks out to the walkway between the rooms, so it was hard to ever have the window and side shutters open to enjoy the ocean breezes without someone walking past (but we knew this info in advance). The bathroom is also tiny, with a sliding barn door for a door. If you are queasy with noises from bodily functions, this could be of concern. There was a musty smell from the shower curtain and the shower curtain rod fell a few times (a tension rod that we could easily fix ourselves). The bed mattress was a little too soft for our tastes and we kept rolling to the sides. I also found a long strand of hair on my pillowcase (as neither of us have long hair, it couldn't have been ours), but that could have easily come from not being caught by the lint trap in a dryer. Pros: The location made us overlook pretty much everything. We could even see the ocean and beach from our window. At the base of Kihei and the top of Wailea, this was as centrally located as anything on the south(west) shore of the island. Very easy to get into Kihei for the lowkey vibes, dining, and nightlife, or over to the luxury resorts in Wailea. Lawnchairs and beach towels are included in your resort fee, which made relaxing on the beach and lawn nice and easy. Shower pressure was very good and there were plenty of towels for use. The staff was also very vigilant about COVID guidelines, as I was reminded to put one on to transverse through the lobby (from the beach to our car to get something). A self-service laundry room was available for our use (via credit card) which was very handy. We did not dine at the 5 Palms nor use the convenience store that was on the property, but appreciated that there was one. Maid service was unavailable to us during our stay because of COVID concerns. Should we return to Maui in the future, we would certainly consider staying at the Mana Kai Maui again.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BnMadven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Chinn, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2021

Mahalo for your good review. Yes, the hotel type rooms are small, 210 sf, but as you said, you didn’t plan on spending a lot of time in the room. Your heading says a lot as we are fortunate be be in such a prime oceanfront location. Next time you come, try our one bedroom units with a million dollar view.
Happy Holiday’s

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2021

Doug, the property manager, is a superstar. He goes out of his way to make sure all tenants are happy. Our views from our lanai were breathtaking. We snorkeled right in front of the hotel and saw turtles every day. It was a magical experience. We will be back.

Room tip: The ocean-side rooms have incredible views.
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseLaevastu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Chinn, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2021

Mahalo for your review. Doug is very customer service oriented and as you said, does a great job.
Happy Holiday’s!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2021

Highlights of our stay at the Mana Kai:
-- Located on a gorgeous beach with great swimming and a super mellow vibe. Lots of space, lots of beach chairs (i.e., nobody getting up at 6 AM to save beach chairs), relaxed atmosphere, lots of sun but also lots of shade.
-- Comfortable condo with fantastic view. Our upgraded "ali'i" room looked just like the promo photos, and was very clean.
-- Reserved parking space and monitored parking lot meant no parking stress.

Cautions:
-- World's smallest bathroom. Only one person could be in it at time.
-- Room layout is odd, and lanai is small.
-- Service was adequate but impersonal. Front desk closes at 5:30 PM.

Room tip:
We felt that these rooms represented great value. Be careful about the rooms on the backside the hotel (without an ocean view). These rooms are essentially interior rooms with no windows.

Overall, we had an extremely relaxing stay at the Mana Kai. It was also the best value of our Hawaii trip.

Room tip: We liked our upgraded ali'i ocean view room
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JEyre1847
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Chinn, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2021

Mahalo for your comments, yes the hotel type room is small (210 SF), but as you pointed out a great value for a property right on the beach. One bedroom units have a million dollar view as you experienced. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2021 via mobile

Super mediocre. Actually quite disappointing so we left a night early (and happily forfeited our fully paid room to get out of there).

Good: The staff were great, very polite and helpful. It’s great that they have plenty of assigned parking for guests and a nice beach front spot and also nice area in front of then beach with ample lounge chairs so didn’t see folks going and guarding spots early in the morning. The shop on site has a good supply of food/drinks and miscellaneous items that you’ll need!

The not good: where to start…

Our room was horrible. See the photos on the web of the updated 1 Bed Ail’i Ocean View and then the actual unit we were in. While the appliances were new a few years ago, there was left over trash in a closet, the countertops and cabinets were hideously filthy, the TV was very out dates, part of the shower didn’t work, the couch was dated and uncomfortable, and there was minimal dresser space. Would have been fine for a night, but not a great way to start a vacation.

Seems like most rooms share a common entry way with a secure door and then you have your own door to your room. Our “neighbor” enjoyed getting up early and going in and out of their room often at early hours and letting the door slam shut. And could even hear the doors slam down the way.

Though the place is smoked free, this isn’t enforced. Enjoyed the wafting cigarette smoke coming in to our condo multiple times.

The 5 palms restaurant seems convenient especially with the 20% off… but there were no spots saved for note guests and no reservations so wait times were often an hours. The 20% off actually only applies to only a single meal. And though we went in the evening thinking we were having dinner, appears we were there for happy hour and couldn’t use our 20%off.

Is this place horrible? No, and in fact it seems many people have been coming here for years and love it. But looking at what was expected based on the o line description and photos, definitely feel duped. Was not worth it at all, and in fact leaving a night early and losing that paid room and paying to go a night early to our next place was worth it…

Room tip: Check you room before agreeing to stay to see if it meets the description. Honestly, probably better to just book elsewhere
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank B303B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Chinn, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2021

Mahalo for your comment, please email me at winston@manakaimaui.com, and let me know what room number you were assigned to and of course your name. Without this information, I cannot research to find out what happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews