We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Moana Hideaway.....a Fantastic Place to Stay!”

Review of Moana Hideaway

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kihei, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Thomas794
Greenville, NC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Moana Hideaway.....a Fantastic Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Moana Hideaway the week of June 8th until June 15th, 2013. We had nine in our party for a vacation/wedding so after debating on staying at a resort or renting a house, we decided to rent a beach front home. After investigating many homes in different areas of Maui, we decided to rent this house in Kihei.

Kihei is conveniently located, a 30 minute drive from the airport, less than 10 minutes to Wailea, 30 minutes from Lahaina. Near the house there were plenty of restaurants, souvenir and dive shops, clothing stores, several grocery stores including a large 24 hr open Safeway (if you go to Safeway, be sure to get a Safeway Club card. It is free and will save you a lot of money on groceries).

Now to the jewel of the trip, the Moana Hideaway. We absolutely loved staying there. It has a good size master BR with a sliding glass door to the pool area. The bathroom was large, the shower huge with different types of shower heads. All the bathrooms are stocked with plenty of towels, soap and conditioner/shampoo. The bed was very comfortable too. There are two other bedrooms in the main house, one with a queen and one with twins. These bedrooms shared a bath. Two people in our party (the newlyweds) stayed in the cottage that is on the grounds that counts as the forth BR. They enjoyed it to say the least and had no complaints with the cottage. Since the house is for eight and we had a ninth person, we rented a twin rollaway bed and put it in the small computer room. It fit perfectly, the person that stayed in that room had privacy and there was a half bath in the room too. It is very nice that they have a computer for your use and to print boarding passes for your return flight home.

The rest of the house was great also. The kitchen was large and stocked with everything you need to cook. It was also stocked with coffee/coffee filters, condiments, paper plates, glass and disposable cups, sugar, Splenda, etc. The great room was large, good sitting area with a nice entertainment center with a large TV and electronics (I think the owner is with EA SPORTS so there are game type electronics everywhere). However we rarely watched TV and such because the pool area was so nice and the views were so fantastic that we stayed outside except to sleep and eat. We enjoyed hanging by the pool and Jacuzzi so much that we ended up not visiting any of the famous beaches on Maui liked we had planned. The pool area has a gas grill and small fridge in the hut/bar area. There were also plenty of lounge chairs and beach towels provided. There is a very nice outside shower and half bath adjacent to the shower. This was located in the little portico outside area of the house which also had a futon for shaded, outdoor napping (there is also a hammock for outdoor napping too).

The Moana Hideaway is just a fantastic place to stay, worth way more than the rental fee you pay. The concierge service was excellent to help with your stay and answer all of your questions (Yvonne and Adrienne, if you guys read this, you were fantastic and thanks for all of your help).

We would stay at the Moana Hideaway again in a heartbeat! We recommend it 100%. Our kids have been on several cruises in the Caribbean, trips to Cancun, Bermuda, Bahamas, Europe and all of them said the week at the Moana Hideaway was their favorite vacation.

Other information:

The breeze and ocean at the house were very calm in the morning, perfect for paddle boarding or snorkeling. However around noon every day, the breeze kicked up and the waters were too rough and current too swift to do both. However the breeze should did make it nice by the pool. There are a lot of lava rocks on the ocean bottom so I would definitely have beach shoes on while in the water and also walking along the beach. The depth of the bay is pretty shallow to a couple of hundred yards out. Snorkeling at the Moana Hideaway we did see a turtle but not many fish and the water clarity was good but not crystal clear.

If you like to paddle board, most places rented them around $40.00 for two hours of use. Maui Dive Shop that is on the corner of S. Kihei and Halekuai (walking distance from Moana) rented them $40.00 for 24 hours.

Costco is near the airport and is a great place to buy your liquor and bulk items but it is a zoo. It has to be one of the busiest Costco in the country. We decided we would rather pay a little more at Safeway and save a lot of aggravation, not to mention time.

We attended the Old Lahaina Luau in Lahaina and it was excellent. The concierge made us reservations. I would recommend making them way, way in advance to your trip so that you have good seats.

If you have anyone that needs to eat gluten-free, Maui Brick Oven is a few blocks from the house and is totally gluten free. It is small but the food and service was excellent. Only one of our group had to eat gluten free but all of us enjoyed the food.

We also ate at Ruth’s Chris Steak House in Wailea one night which was very good and similar to all the other Ruth’s Chris you may visit and another night we went to Mama’s Fishhouse which is about 35 minutes away on the the Hana Highway but it is worth the drive and price (nine of us ate and with cocktails, appetizers, meals, desserts and tip….@$900.00….again it was worth it). The rest of the week we grilled out by the pool.

A couple of excursions we did were a snorkeling/scuba half day trip with Pride of Maui (which was crowded but a lot of fun. We also did a helicopter tour with Blue Hawaiian and it was a blast too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Liked least: Nothing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ParkCityt...
Park City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow....”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We just got back today after spending a week. Wonderful. Layout was great for 74 year olds (single level), 8 and 10 year olds and and then 40+'s. House has everything!!! Seriously, everything. Stocked with plenty of towels, beach chairs, cooler, toys...even coffe (dark, medium and decaf). Walk to stores/shops and park (3/4-1 mile). Having the beach right there was fantastic. Can walk out into water for 100 yards before water goes above waist. Great views. Secure location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything...location, pool, spa, amenities, house configuration...you name it!
Liked least: There was not a thing we did not like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish MT
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing