We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,268)
Filter reviews
1,268 results
Traveller rating
748
371
85
44
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
748
371
85
44
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskaanapali beachblack rockhula grillshopping cartsocean viewtower facingfull kitchenunderground parkingabc storepineapplepremium roomkoi pondconstruction noisethrough vrbostudio unitnorth sidedaily maid service
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 1,268 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We have just returned from a 10 stay at the Whaler on Maui.It was Great! I say this because the Aston is made up of privately owned and hotel rental condos. I had booked a private 2 bedroom condo (902) through a 3rd party vacation rental company but as it turned out we arrived to find out that the rental was a scam. Jason was on duty at the front desk and he was sympathetic and helpful.Keeping in mind that the island was 96% booked up for the Christmas holidays, he was able to find a room on site for our family of 4. It was only a 1 bedroom but he informed me that he would keep an eye out for a 2 bedroom. Within 2 days Jason's associate was able to find us a 2 bedroom. The condo was wonderful with breathtaking sunsets. all rooms were well appointed.
Thank you again Whaler Employees!

Room Tip: The pool view room which still have an ocean view are much quieter
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tracykor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottobley, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Aloha Tracykor and Mahalo for your review. We appreciate your taking the time and making the effort to share this and are thrilled we were able to assist in ensuring that your family had a great time on Maui, in spite of the unfortunate scam you experienced. I am happy to share that Aston has a long and stable history here in Hawaii and when it is time for a return to the islands, please know we will be delighted to assist. We manage resorts on Maui, Oahu, Kauai and Hawaii Island, and while we'd prefer it if you return to Aston at The Whaler on Ka'anapali Beach, we do have a presence on the four largest islands and will gladly be of service at any one of the properties we manage. Wishing you a fabulous 2018!
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Overall this place exceeded my expectations! We were in room 413 which was very clean and spacious considering it was a bachelor suite. I believe a common misconception about this place is that people think all the rooms are similar, however they can be completely different. When you're scoping out this place, see if you can find pictures of your exact room.

Upon arrival, management was very friendly and they delivered a signature Hawaiian fresh cut pineapple to our room as a greeting. The room was immaculate and offered a great ocean view. The room came with a mini kitchen with all the essentials (fridge, oven, stove, sink, dishwasher) as well as a walk in closet. The pool was a little small (but very clean and well-kept) however we didn't bother to go in it because the beach was beautiful and was just as close.

If you're looking for a beachfront place around many restaurants and activities all at an affordable price compared to other hotels/condos in the area, I would definitely recommend this place!! If you're travelling as a family with small children, I don't think I would recommend this place as I believe there are more children-oriented activities and pools at other hotels in Ka'anapali. If you're traveling as a couple or with older kids in their teens or twenties I believe this is a great place to stay for the money we paid. There are plenty of surfing/diving/snorkeling/whale watching activities all within walking distance as well!

Overall value: 4.5/5 !

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kate_jane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottobley, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Happy New Year Kate_Jane22!

Thank you for the very nice review of your time with Aston at The Whaler on Ka'anapali Beach. You are correct in noting that we offer a variety of room configurations including studio condominiums, 1-bedroom condos and two-bedroom units as well. All units have fully stocked kitchens with the conveniences of home in a great ocean front resort property. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the condominium, the property and the excellent beach that is just steps away. Please come see us again!

Best Regards,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The Whaler is at the top of the game! All new hallways, doors, and space age locks. A brand new lobby with premiere service and a concierge with all the local info. New tennis courts, BBQs, Spa, and fitness room -- the place is the best in the perfect location next to newly renovated Whaler's Village mall! We stayed in a studio unit (413) that matched the rest of the facilities --granite kitchen and BR, glass shower, beautifully furnished, closet to the ocean with a spectacular courtyard view where Elvis sings Blue Hawaiian on Thursday nights! Unreal. Can't wait to return. 5 star in my book.

Room Tip: loved the courtyard room experience -- anyhing third floor and above.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottobley, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Aloha Dave S and Mahalo for your exceptional review! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the exceptional facilities and services our many repeat guests return for year after year. And thank you for noting the all new hallways, doors and the latest technology in locks. We are delighted to provide our guests with first class facilities and first class service in a world class destination. Great to see that you took advantage of all of the amenities Aston at The Whaler on Ka'anapali Beach has to offer on our grounds, as well as the terrific shopping and dining that is directly adjacent to us at Whaler's Village in the heart of Ka'anapali. The location can't be beat, that is for sure. Finally, thank you for letting us know which condominium you stayed in, as I am always pleased to share our customers' feedback with owners who take great pride in providing exceptional facilities for our visitors. Wishing you a very Happy New Year!
Best Regards,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Best spot for getting around, eating, enjoying the beach, the views, the sun, and all of the fun. The Whales were just coming back from Alaska, wow, great shows right from the Lanai of our unit. Tower 2 facing north (even numbers) gives the best views of Black Rock which is magical and the Pacific ocean, all of the units give views of the mountains and the ocean to some extent, but the odd numbers in tower 2 face the Whalers village and don't give the view of Black Rock. While Tower 1 on the south side is in the sun all afternoon, and has no view of Black Rock, but does give you a view of the pool. The north side of Tower 1 gives you the view of Black Rock, but not of the courtyard and pool like the north side of tower 2.

Tower 2 rocks! Our condo was great, love the views....

Great kitchen, great bbq area, great common grounds, and the best location. This place isn't pretentious, but it is great. If you want to experience Maui for what it is, this location can't be beat! We love it so much, we purchased a TIO unit her (Time Interval Ownership). So every stay going forward should be at the Whaler!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mspreh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottobley, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Aloha Mspreh and congratulations on joining our ohana of owners via the TIO program!
Thank you so much for the great review, and we have to agree that The Whaler occupies an amazing ocean front location n the heart of Ka'anapali that makes it especially easy to relax and enjoy this slice of paradise. We look forward to being of service to you in the coming years and best wishes for a magical and memorable holiday season!

Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

We had decided to end our two weeks in Hawaii at The Whaler, based on TripAdvisor reviews, and were definitely NOT disappointed!! We had been upgraded to a two bedroom, two bath apartment on the ninth floor. It was beyond lovely and so nice that we have requested to return there next year. While the Whaler does not have all the restaurants, gift shops, etc. that are usually found in a standard hotel (since it is a property made of separately owned condos), there is more than enough of that nearby. We loved our stay there!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottobley, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Aloha and Happy Holidays Kate!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us here at The Whaler and appreciate your taking the time to share your experience. True, we are not a standard hotel by any means and we are pleased you were able to enjoy the spaciousness of a condominium and that you took advantage of our prime location right next to all the restaurants and shops of Whaler's Village. Please know that we look forward to your return next year and wish you all the best in 2018!

Sincerely,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews