We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm not sure how you could do better than this!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Where to start? Pulled up and the valet was dancing and laughing and we immediately felt at home. She was enjoying life and turned out to be extraordinarily helpful, which I found was a common theme with every one of the staff members we encountered. Down to a person they were helpful, courteous, and professional.

This is a condo complex and many of the units are individually owned. We talked for a bit with one of the owners in the lobby and even she was awesome! We ended up in an Ocean View Premium Studio room. Updated stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, and stone tile floors and shower. This unit had a full service kitchen with drawers full of utensils that you'd need to prepare almost any meal. We walked out onto the private Lanai and BAM!, there's the island of Molokai off in the distance. Gorgeous! The complex is extraordinarily (I'll be using this word a lot) clean and quiet. I can't say for sure but it seems to cater to older couples? It's perfectly positioned in relation to both the ocean and nearby restaurants and shops. It's situated right next to The Whaler's Mall which has every conceivable thing you could imagine from GoPro cameras to sunscreen. Need a Rolex? You can get one here. Hop in your car and you're a 2 mile drive from grocery stores, gas stations, more restaurants etc... And the housekeepers? Alice from The Brady Bunch would be jealous! We came in one afternoon and found a handwritten note from the housekeeper wishing us a good day! (Thanks Veronica) They were all very attentive and extraordinarily (there it is again) professional.

This complex is on the south end of Ka'anapali Beach which puts you in a great overall location for the backside drive and the Road to Hana. We're already booking a longer stay in November at this very location and hopefully the same unit will be available. IMHO, you can't go wrong with this place :) Mahalo!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottobley, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Aloha Rich,

THANK YOU FOR THE EXCEPTIONAL REVIEW! We are so pleased to hear you will be returning in November! Please let us know if we may be of service in assisting with anything prior to your arrival.

Best Regards,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

The resort location is fabulous how ever that’s as far as it goes; our condo unit old and definitely not a four star plus unit, main living area is ok but old, however toilet and patio furniture is awful, patio table is dirty has cigarette burns and glass is cracked, imagine being in Kaanapali and not being able to sit or eat on your patio very poor, report to front desk four time and very little response
Will not recommend this condo building at all
Martin Higgins

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottobley, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Aloha Mr. Higgins,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience and the first condo unit you occupied. We appreciate your feedback and will share as needed with the owner of that condominium. As I understand it, we were able to move you to a different condominium unit that is better aligned with what you were expecting and I hope you will enjoy the remainder of your stay here at The Whaler. If we may be of further service during your stay or in the future, please know we are here to assist and work with you to ensure your satisfaction.

Best Regards,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

This is a top notch place to stay. Kitchenette, big bathroom area, comfortable beds and the view of Kaanapali Beach is breathtaking. Very clean, staff very accommodating and beach walk is right by the pool. Will come back here when in Maui.

Room Tip: Roooms higher up have great views
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cheritaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottobley, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Aloha Cheritaylor,

We are thrilled to read your comments and to see your experience was such that you will stay with us on your next visit to Maui. Please know our team of guest service professionals are here to share their aloha and assist in any way possible with your future vacation here on Maui.

Best Regards,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We have just returned from a 10 stay at the Whaler on Maui.It was Great! I say this because the Aston is made up of privately owned and hotel rental condos. I had booked a private 2 bedroom condo (902) through a 3rd party vacation rental company but as it turned out we arrived to find out that the rental was a scam. Jason was on duty at the front desk and he was sympathetic and helpful.Keeping in mind that the island was 96% booked up for the Christmas holidays, he was able to find a room on site for our family of 4. It was only a 1 bedroom but he informed me that he would keep an eye out for a 2 bedroom. Within 2 days Jason's associate was able to find us a 2 bedroom. The condo was wonderful with breathtaking sunsets. all rooms were well appointed.
Thank you again Whaler Employees!

Room Tip: The pool view room which still have an ocean view are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tracykor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottobley, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Aloha Tracykor and Mahalo for your review. We appreciate your taking the time and making the effort to share this and are thrilled we were able to assist in ensuring that your family had a great time on Maui, in spite of the unfortunate scam you experienced. I am happy to share that Aston has a long and stable history here in Hawaii and when it is time for a return to the islands, please know we will be delighted to assist. We manage resorts on Maui, Oahu, Kauai and Hawaii Island, and while we'd prefer it if you return to Aston at The Whaler on Ka'anapali Beach, we do have a presence on the four largest islands and will gladly be of service at any one of the properties we manage. Wishing you a fabulous 2018!
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Overall this place exceeded my expectations! We were in room 413 which was very clean and spacious considering it was a bachelor suite. I believe a common misconception about this place is that people think all the rooms are similar, however they can be completely different. When you're scoping out this place, see if you can find pictures of your exact room.

Upon arrival, management was very friendly and they delivered a signature Hawaiian fresh cut pineapple to our room as a greeting. The room was immaculate and offered a great ocean view. The room came with a mini kitchen with all the essentials (fridge, oven, stove, sink, dishwasher) as well as a walk in closet. The pool was a little small (but very clean and well-kept) however we didn't bother to go in it because the beach was beautiful and was just as close.

If you're looking for a beachfront place around many restaurants and activities all at an affordable price compared to other hotels/condos in the area, I would definitely recommend this place!! If you're travelling as a family with small children, I don't think I would recommend this place as I believe there are more children-oriented activities and pools at other hotels in Ka'anapali. If you're traveling as a couple or with older kids in their teens or twenties I believe this is a great place to stay for the money we paid. There are plenty of surfing/diving/snorkeling/whale watching activities all within walking distance as well!

Overall value: 4.5/5 !

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kate_jane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottobley, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Happy New Year Kate_Jane22!

Thank you for the very nice review of your time with Aston at The Whaler on Ka'anapali Beach. You are correct in noting that we offer a variety of room configurations including studio condominiums, 1-bedroom condos and two-bedroom units as well. All units have fully stocked kitchens with the conveniences of home in a great ocean front resort property. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the condominium, the property and the excellent beach that is just steps away. Please come see us again!

Best Regards,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
3 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
0.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,343 reviews
2.7 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
6.5 km away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.3 km away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: RM 1,239 - RM 2,482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - On June 1, 2017, Daily Amenity Fee increases to $20. This applies to ALL reservations staying through these dates, regardless of when they booked the reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing