We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$419
US$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$545
US$378
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$184
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Pioneer Inn(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$234
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hono Koa(Lahaina)
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$385
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$311
US$276
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Aston at Papakea Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$286
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,243)
Filter reviews
1,243 results
Traveller rating
731
366
83
44
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
731
366
83
44
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskaanapali beachblack rockhula grillshopping cartsocean viewtower facingfull kitchenunderground parkingabc storevillage shopping centerpremium roompineapplekoi pondstudio condoconstruction noisethrough vrbobedroom bath
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 1,243 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

The resort location is fabulous how ever that’s as far as it goes; our condo unit old and definitely not a four star plus unit, main living area is ok but old, however toilet and patio furniture is awful, patio table is dirty has cigarette burns and glass is cracked, imagine being in Kaanapali and not being able to sit or eat on your patio very poor, report to front desk four time and very little response
Will not recommend this condo building at all
Martin Higgins

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottobley, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Aloha Mr. Higgins,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience and the first condo unit you occupied. We appreciate your feedback and will share as needed with the owner of that condominium. As I understand it, we were able to move you to a different condominium unit that is better aligned with what you were expecting and I hope you will enjoy the remainder of your stay here at The Whaler. If we may be of further service during your stay or in the future, please know we are here to assist and work with you to ensure your satisfaction.

Best Regards,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

This is a top notch place to stay. Kitchenette, big bathroom area, comfortable beds and the view of Kaanapali Beach is breathtaking. Very clean, staff very accommodating and beach walk is right by the pool. Will come back here when in Maui.

Room Tip: Roooms higher up have great views
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cheritaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottobley, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Aloha Cheritaylor,

We are thrilled to read your comments and to see your experience was such that you will stay with us on your next visit to Maui. Please know our team of guest service professionals are here to share their aloha and assist in any way possible with your future vacation here on Maui.

Best Regards,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We have just returned from a 10 stay at the Whaler on Maui.It was Great! I say this because the Aston is made up of privately owned and hotel rental condos. I had booked a private 2 bedroom condo (902) through a 3rd party vacation rental company but as it turned out we arrived to find out that the rental was a scam. Jason was on duty at the front desk and he was sympathetic and helpful.Keeping in mind that the island was 96% booked up for the Christmas holidays, he was able to find a room on site for our family of 4. It was only a 1 bedroom but he informed me that he would keep an eye out for a 2 bedroom. Within 2 days Jason's associate was able to find us a 2 bedroom. The condo was wonderful with breathtaking sunsets. all rooms were well appointed.
Thank you again Whaler Employees!

Room Tip: The pool view room which still have an ocean view are much quieter
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tracykor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottobley, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Aloha Tracykor and Mahalo for your review. We appreciate your taking the time and making the effort to share this and are thrilled we were able to assist in ensuring that your family had a great time on Maui, in spite of the unfortunate scam you experienced. I am happy to share that Aston has a long and stable history here in Hawaii and when it is time for a return to the islands, please know we will be delighted to assist. We manage resorts on Maui, Oahu, Kauai and Hawaii Island, and while we'd prefer it if you return to Aston at The Whaler on Ka'anapali Beach, we do have a presence on the four largest islands and will gladly be of service at any one of the properties we manage. Wishing you a fabulous 2018!
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Overall this place exceeded my expectations! We were in room 413 which was very clean and spacious considering it was a bachelor suite. I believe a common misconception about this place is that people think all the rooms are similar, however they can be completely different. When you're scoping out this place, see if you can find pictures of your exact room.

Upon arrival, management was very friendly and they delivered a signature Hawaiian fresh cut pineapple to our room as a greeting. The room was immaculate and offered a great ocean view. The room came with a mini kitchen with all the essentials (fridge, oven, stove, sink, dishwasher) as well as a walk in closet. The pool was a little small (but very clean and well-kept) however we didn't bother to go in it because the beach was beautiful and was just as close.

If you're looking for a beachfront place around many restaurants and activities all at an affordable price compared to other hotels/condos in the area, I would definitely recommend this place!! If you're travelling as a family with small children, I don't think I would recommend this place as I believe there are more children-oriented activities and pools at other hotels in Ka'anapali. If you're traveling as a couple or with older kids in their teens or twenties I believe this is a great place to stay for the money we paid. There are plenty of surfing/diving/snorkeling/whale watching activities all within walking distance as well!

Overall value: 4.5/5 !

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kate_jane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottobley, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Happy New Year Kate_Jane22!

Thank you for the very nice review of your time with Aston at The Whaler on Ka'anapali Beach. You are correct in noting that we offer a variety of room configurations including studio condominiums, 1-bedroom condos and two-bedroom units as well. All units have fully stocked kitchens with the conveniences of home in a great ocean front resort property. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the condominium, the property and the excellent beach that is just steps away. Please come see us again!

Best Regards,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The Whaler is at the top of the game! All new hallways, doors, and space age locks. A brand new lobby with premiere service and a concierge with all the local info. New tennis courts, BBQs, Spa, and fitness room -- the place is the best in the perfect location next to newly renovated Whaler's Village mall! We stayed in a studio unit (413) that matched the rest of the facilities --granite kitchen and BR, glass shower, beautifully furnished, closet to the ocean with a spectacular courtyard view where Elvis sings Blue Hawaiian on Thursday nights! Unreal. Can't wait to return. 5 star in my book.

Room Tip: loved the courtyard room experience -- anyhing third floor and above.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottobley, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Aloha Dave S and Mahalo for your exceptional review! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the exceptional facilities and services our many repeat guests return for year after year. And thank you for noting the all new hallways, doors and the latest technology in locks. We are delighted to provide our guests with first class facilities and first class service in a world class destination. Great to see that you took advantage of all of the amenities Aston at The Whaler on Ka'anapali Beach has to offer on our grounds, as well as the terrific shopping and dining that is directly adjacent to us at Whaler's Village in the heart of Ka'anapali. The location can't be beat, that is for sure. Finally, thank you for letting us know which condominium you stayed in, as I am always pleased to share our customers' feedback with owners who take great pride in providing exceptional facilities for our visitors. Wishing you a very Happy New Year!
Best Regards,
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews