We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch”
Review of Extended Horizons

Extended Horizons
Book In Advance
More Info
US$129.71*
and up
Maui Scuba Diving Introductory Lesson
More Info
US$129.71*
and up
Maui Night Scuba Diving Tour
More Info
US$151.51*
and up
Maui Certified Scuba Diving Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maui Extended Horizons Scuba offers tours and lessons on Maui and Lanai. Established in 1983, we are unique because our instructor/guides have extensive environmental training, we are the only commercial boat on Maui running on 100% biodiesel, We are the only dive shop running on 100% solar, and we helped found and fund the Day Use Mooring Program on Maui which prevents anchor damage and creates and maintains moorings for the State of Hawaii for the public and private sector. And we love diving!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Top notch”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I enjoyed my diving with Extended Horizons while in Maui. They really know how to look after people &love what they do. Very special memories! Thank you.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Stana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    697
    42
    12
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK Dive ~ Great Dive Spots”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Small boat had a hard time crossing the channel to Lanai. Over-bearing dive guide concerned about her photography and record keeping. I felt like I was a beaten diver...waiting for her to catch up and keep moving. Crappy snacks of two boxes of triscuits and cheese. Cool eco-friendly boat. Very pricey compared to others. I tried two other "vendors" while in Maui for the week. Cool dive locations.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for Lanai diving from Lahaina”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Service with EH was great. We brought our own gear, they set it up. Their aluminum boat is trailered to the boat ramp and stored inside the shop up the road when not in use. Meet them at the ramp before sunrise and the boat pulls in all ready to go. Current coast guard regs limit their max passengers to 11. They split this up between two dive guides typically 5 and 6 each. No rushing to get into the water or back into the boat. It’s great riding on the boat with the bio-diesel instead of sucking up the regular stuff. Fresh fruit and juice packs served between and after dives. Filtered water served in re-usable bottles eliminates a lot of trash. The ride back from Lanai can beat any roller coaster when the wind is just right and if you have some luck can spot some whales. Water temps at the 1st tank deeper dives were actually a few degrees warmer than the second shallow dive supposedly due to cooler percolating freshwater coming up from below.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Safe, Professional, Knowledgeable, Eco-Friendly and People Friendly too!!!”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

As a novice diver, my hope was to feel safe at all times- And this i did! The professionals at Extended Horizons are thorough, organised and passionate about sharing their knowledge. While in the water the guides made sure we were closer together as a group when we needed to be but also allowed us to explore on our own when it was safe to do so. The fact the company's philosophy respects Mother Earth makes diving that much more meaningful!!!
I highly recommend Erik and his great Crew!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank CDT74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Service in the Industry”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The real heart and soul of this operation is its people. Mark, Victoria and Aaron led our 3 boat dives (2 each) to Lanai. Mark and Victoria lead the underwater tours and Aaron is the captain. Mark and Victoria were excellent guides. Outstanding knowledge of fish and plant life. Excellent at structure and geology. They broke up the 11-12 divers into 2 groups of 5-6 each and made sure that each group had sufficient time and space to enjoy the dive without being too crowded. Always found interesting animals both large and small on each dive. Because we took 3 trips, we did hit one of the Cathedrals twice. It didn't matter. There is so much to see that you could dive the site dozens of times and see something new each time.

The real test came when my wife's computer failed on the first dive at 50 feet. We returned to the boat, thinking our diving day was complete. But Captain Aaron had my wife in a spare rental BC, reg, and computer in minutes and we not only saved the day, but also finished the first dive. Mark made sure that he spend some extra bottom time with us when the other divers finished their air. Later the EH team changed out her computer transmitter for a high pressure gage so that she could continue to use her BC and regulator for other dives. Victoria was the fish and plant life expert. Both did a good job understanding the abilities and issues for each diver prior to the dive. Victoria did a great job giving both experienced and less experienced divers helpful tips on technique in a very kind manner.

The team is ultra flexible, always accommodating and cheerful. The staff is the reason to dive with Extended Horizons.

Note: Lanai trips start at 6:45 a.m. and finish about 12:30-1:00. EH does not boat dive Maui. They have 1:00 p.m. shore dives in shallow (20-40 feet) water. We did one shore dive in Napili and enjoyed it. Many turtles and fish that you would see on Lanai dives. EH does not do Molokini, although after doing it a few years back, I would not consider it any great loss.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank AccuracyFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Extended Horizons also viewed

 

Been to Extended Horizons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing