We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kahana Sunset Unit C2C”
Review of Kahana Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kahana Sunset
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Kahana Sunset is a wonderful quiet get away! Beautiful well kept grounds, peaceful pool, quiet beach, grills for guests to cook on, daily cleaning service if wanted, and free wifi all around the grounds. We stayed in unit C2C and it was beautiful. Updated kitchen, bathroom, and living space, with private laundry. This unit has a wonderful view of the grounds, pool, and of the ocean. My husband and I loved waking up to the views, playing cards on the deck, and enjoyed the sea turtles everyday in the ocean!
Will definitely visit Kahana Sunset Unit C2C again!

Room Tip: Wonderful unit C2C- A/C optional, wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krussell19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2016

We stayed in Unit D5. We had a stunning view of the pool, garden, and ocean.
Our unit was clean, modern, and had everything we needed including beach towels, and beach mats. We left the windows open at night and fell asleep to the sound of ocean waves. A gentle ocean breeze kept us cool.

The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, utensils, and had a drawer with many herbs and spices. There is a garden near the pool with fresh herbs you can pick and several modern outdoor grills where you can BBQ.

This unit had a washer and dryer, so we only brought clothes for 3 days and then washed all our clothes. Bring 2 swimsuits so one can dry overnight and you have a second to wear. Laundry detergent was included.

The beds were comfortable and a showers had plenty of hot water. The TV downstairs was an LG Smart TV, so we enjoyed watching family movies at night. There were two huge decks (lanais) one on the main floor and one off the master suite. We ate our meals outside on the lanais and I had my morning coffee lounging on the lanai.

Each day my husband and son swam in the ocean right in front of our condo. There is a small beach. We also saw sea turtles every day. Then we would drive to a local beach for snorkeling. Beautiful beaches are a 5 minute drive. We also visited 2 nearby farmer's markets, Lahaina, and the blowhole. Everything was less than 20 minutes away. We walked 10-15 minutes to the local market, got Redbox movies, and also ate at Maui Tacos.

There is a tour company on site that has discount coupons. We used the free root beer float coupon for Cool Cat Cafe. The helpful staff gave us travel advice and even printed our boarding pass.

The pool was rarely crowded and sometimes we had the whole pool to ourselves. The maintenance crew cleaned the pool and grounds daily, so everything was clean and well maintained. They have a small wading pool for young children.

This is a great place for families and couples.

Room Tip: D5 had a great view and was updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Debrakaysandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

We have been coming to Kahana Sunset for many years. F-6 unit which charges a premium rate for it's location right on the water boasts having been "remodeled". Remodeled in 1995 maybe. The drains didn't drain, the kitchen sink leaked (all over the floor) and management was less than helpful. The kitchen was under-supplied with dishes, tools, etc. Overall, the unit felt dirty and dated. The unit sleeps 7 and yet only has seating for 4. We arrived on a Saturday and called on a Sunday regarding the shower that wouldn't drain only to be told that finding a plumber "on a Sunday" would be expensive and probably wouldn't be possible. After much arguing they finally sent a painter with some draino. ?? When we left a week later, the shower still didn't drain and we couldn't do the dishes because the sink still leaked. This unit needs paint. The marketing photos are very misleading. None of the remotes had batteries that worked. All in all we have found that Kahana Sunset is no longer up to our standards and in the future we will be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank horsegirl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

I can not believe owners who take our hard earned money, and have beds only pets should sleep on. These are so bad. None of us getting any good nights sleep. Our backs hurt every morning. The unit reeks if mildew, the mattress has mildew. Our friends in e have such a nice room tile floors. Will never stay here again. Waters way way too rough.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank windycross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

My husband and I were just there last week (Feb 2016). The overall property amenities and upkeep, location, friendliness, views, and private beach are great.
Unfortunately, unusually windy weather led to big waves, which made the beach not really swim able. People there said most years the water at the beach is super calm and swim able.

Best to be careful in choosing your unit, as there are major differences in the views and quality. We stayed in E3e, and it was not a great choice. It smelled slightly musty, the bathroom was old and not updated or super clean. Same with the kitchen. The bed was really soft, which made our backs sore.

Room Tip: Unit E3e has no view of the ocean and is old and unrenovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahanaSunsets, Manager at Kahana Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Aloha,

Thank you so much for your review. You bring up a very good point - all Kahana Sunset units are individually owned and the level of interior finishes is up to the owner. We try our best to list each unit accurately so our guests know what to expect prior to arrival.

We appreciate you letting us know about the mattress. Short of spending the night in each unit we must rely on owners and guests to let know when the mattress is no longer comfortable. We will let the owner know that the mattress needs to be replaced.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.4 km away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
1.1 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
7.1 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.3 km away
Kahana Reef
Kahana Reef
#7 of 43 in Lahaina
178 reviews
1.9 km away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#13 of 43 in Lahaina
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Sunset

Address: 4909 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9217
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: RM1,056 - RM2,187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kahana Sunset 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Kahana Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Sunset Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Sunset Maui/Lahaina, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing