We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property - well maintained and nice secluded beach. (Stayed in C1)”
Review of Kahana Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kahana Sunset
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2016

NIce grounds. Clean grilling area. Covered sit down area with a beach view. Small secluded beach - kids loved it. Rock outcrop on the right side of the beach attracted lot of turtles. Service staff was good. Had some issues with the safe but were resolved promptly. Will come back again.
Visit Napili beach it is excellent. Lot of waves.

Room Tip: Ask for updated unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony_Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KahanaSunsets, Manager at Kahana Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Aloha Tony,

Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We hope you will schedule another visit soon and take advantage of our 15% return guest discount.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2016

When we visit Maui, Kahana Sunset is where we choose to stay. A laid back, quiet location, with beautiful grounds, modest units, great view of Molokai and a "private" beach. This is where we come to relax and recharge our batteries. Staff have always been very pleasant and accommodating. A neighborhood store is close by for anything you need. If you are looking for a high powered resort, this is not the place. Thus another reason why we stay here. I highly recommend Kahana Sunset the next time you are considering a trip to Maui.

Room Tip: Not all condos have been remodeled. We have stayed in both and while certain units show some wear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GoBeavsSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

What a perfect little beach! The KS property is beautifully landscaped and has a gorgeous sandy beach. Last time we were there, there was some construction going on but it is all completed and now the place is heaven on Earth! The pool is blue tiled on the bottom and has a shallow kids pool attached to it. It's great for kids learning to swim. If you already are a good swimmer the ocean beckons. We saw green sea turtles on every snorkel swim. You can even see them from out of the water! There are no private beaches in Maui but this is as close as you can get to that. Most units are remodeled and updated. Make sure you ask for one that is. We stayed in B-10 and it was amazing. Full kitchen and your own W/D. B-10 had A/C but not all the units do.

Room Tip: These are condos with individual owners. Make sure you get an updated one with A/C. We stayed in B-1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Highly recommend these condos to Maui travelers. Spacious and clean units with ideal grounds and location. Great private beach, pool, BBQs, and deck/reading nook. Very quiet. Great views from D units. Close to great snorkeling sites and market to pick up what your forgot at Costco. A real vacation!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank amys224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay at Kahana Sunset B2 from late April to early May. This is a top floor two-level unit with 2 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms and two balconies. We rented through VRBO. You can YouTube this unit and see the gorgeous decor and all of the amazing upgrades they put into it. Susan was super easy to work with through VRBO.

This unit is DIALED IN!! The owners have put tile throughout, granite, built-in units with stone mosaic, full tile and mosaic showers, whisper quiet cabinets, stainless steel appliances, and even a really nice flat top electric cook range (I was impressed by this last one, as I HATE the coil ones usually found in condo rentals). Condo was also SUPER clean upon entering. I'm kind of a stickler for cleanliness...when we travel I inspect the whole place and re-clean light switches, countertops, toilet seats and lids, etc. Not one speck of dust was found on the wet wipes I was using. Color me impressed! They also stock it full of every kitchen gadget and item you would need...even a crock pot (large and small), enough dishwasher soap for your stay, and a ton of spices/random things for cooking.

We'd highly recommend this unit to anyone who'd like to stay on a semi-private beach in Maui. I've been to Maui 11 times now and have throughly explored most of its beaches. Never been on this beach because you can't really tell it's there unless you were staying in the units at Kahana Sunset.

Grounds are beautiful and well kept. Gardening day is Tuesday morning and on the early side...but you'll be awake already from the birds who reside here (they usually wake and start singing around 5:35am sharp. We are early birds though, so didn't bother us at all.

The only downside, if you have to have one...the AC, or lack thereof. We knew this going into it, but still, even being from a warm area in SoCal, we were hit with a heat wave and had to acclimate a bit. We left doors and windows open when we could and the whole unit has super strong fans throughout.... Oh and if you're squeamish on bugs...2 centipedes in the unit (on separate days) that we threw back out into the bushes after catching them on a paper towel and also a three inch cockroach found on the first night (and a handful of baby ones) but only found in specific area near master bathroom.... and not every night. This is super likely in a tropical climate and didn't bother us a bit. I remember coming here to Maui as a kid and a a server joking with us at a restaurant that they use cockroaches here on Maui as busboys lol!! ;) Anyways, felt necessary to give you a heads up that most of the time when you visit Maui you will see at least one cockroach lol.

Like I said before, I've stayed on Maui in many different condo complexes and this condo is by far the most beautiful I've stayed in. Our daughter loved the beach and the condo itself. She enjoyed just being here in what she dubbed as "our vacation home." We will recommend to all our family and friends to come stay here based on the ease of working with Susan, the private feeling of the beach, and the beauty of the condo.

Enjoy!!!



Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank DVCfamily16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.4 km away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
7.1 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,208 reviews
1.1 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Kahana Reef
Kahana Reef
#7 of 43 in Lahaina
177 reviews
1.3 km away
Napili Sunset Beachfront Resort
1.9 km away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#12 of 43 in Lahaina
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Sunset

Address: 4909 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9217
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: RM1,098 - RM2,205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kahana Sunset 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Kahana Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Sunset Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Sunset Maui/Lahaina, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing