We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$422
US$409
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Pioneer Inn(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$234
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$336
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$204
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$289
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Aston at Papakea Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$256
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hakuna Matata Maui(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/07
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$729
US$539
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
109
72
16
14
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
72
16
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachsullivan propertiessea turtlesherb gardenocean fronthear everythingheated poolsome tlcnice poolno air conditioningthese condosan easy driveliving roomwest mauia great place to staycondo complexwasher and dryer
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2016

When we visit Maui, Kahana Sunset is where we choose to stay. A laid back, quiet location, with beautiful grounds, modest units, great view of Molokai and a "private" beach. This is where we come to relax and recharge our batteries. Staff have always been very pleasant and accommodating. A neighborhood store is close by for anything you need. If you are looking for a high powered resort, this is not the place. Thus another reason why we stay here. I highly recommend Kahana Sunset the next time you are considering a trip to Maui.

Room Tip: Not all condos have been remodeled. We have stayed in both and while certain units show some wear, we have been happy regardless.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GoBeavsSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

What a perfect little beach! The KS property is beautifully landscaped and has a gorgeous sandy beach. Last time we were there, there was some construction going on but it is all completed and now the place is heaven on Earth! The pool is blue tiled on the bottom and has a shallow kids pool attached to it. It's great for kids learning to swim. If you already are a good swimmer the ocean beckons. We saw green sea turtles on every snorkel swim. You can even see them from out of the water! There are no private beaches in Maui but this is as close as you can get to that. Most units are remodeled and updated. Make sure you ask for one that is. We stayed in B-10 and it was amazing. Full kitchen and your own W/D. B-10 had A/C but not all the units do.

Room Tip: These are condos with individual owners. Make sure you get an updated one with A/C. We stayed in B-10.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Highly recommend these condos to Maui travelers. Spacious and clean units with ideal grounds and location. Great private beach, pool, BBQs, and deck/reading nook. Very quiet. Great views from D units. Close to great snorkeling sites and market to pick up what your forgot at Costco. A real vacation!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank amys224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay at Kahana Sunset B2 from late April to early May. This is a top floor two-level unit with 2 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms and two balconies. We rented through VRBO. You can YouTube this unit and see the gorgeous decor and all of the amazing upgrades they put into it. Susan was super easy to work with through VRBO.

This unit is DIALED IN!! The owners have put tile throughout, granite, built-in units with stone mosaic, full tile and mosaic showers, whisper quiet cabinets, stainless steel appliances, and even a really nice flat top electric cook range (I was impressed by this last one, as I HATE the coil ones usually found in condo rentals). Condo was also SUPER clean upon entering. I'm kind of a stickler for cleanliness...when we travel I inspect the whole place and re-clean light switches, countertops, toilet seats and lids, etc. Not one speck of dust was found on the wet wipes I was using. Color me impressed! They also stock it full of every kitchen gadget and item you would need...even a crock pot (large and small), enough dishwasher soap for your stay, and a ton of spices/random things for cooking.

We'd highly recommend this unit to anyone who'd like to stay on a semi-private beach in Maui. I've been to Maui 11 times now and have throughly explored most of its beaches. Never been on this beach because you can't really tell it's there unless you were staying in the units at Kahana Sunset.

Grounds are beautiful and well kept. Gardening day is Tuesday morning and on the early side...but you'll be awake already from the birds who reside here (they usually wake and start singing around 5:35am sharp. We are early birds though, so didn't bother us at all.

The only downside, if you have to have one...the AC, or lack thereof. We knew this going into it, but still, even being from a warm area in SoCal, we were hit with a heat wave and had to acclimate a bit. We left doors and windows open when we could and the whole unit has super strong fans throughout.... Oh and if you're squeamish on bugs...2 centipedes in the unit (on separate days) that we threw back out into the bushes after catching them on a paper towel and also a three inch cockroach found on the first night (and a handful of baby ones) but only found in specific area near master bathroom.... and not every night. This is super likely in a tropical climate and didn't bother us a bit. I remember coming here to Maui as a kid and a a server joking with us at a restaurant that they use cockroaches here on Maui as busboys lol!! ;) Anyways, felt necessary to give you a heads up that most of the time when you visit Maui you will see at least one cockroach lol.

Like I said before, I've stayed on Maui in many different condo complexes and this condo is by far the most beautiful I've stayed in. Our daughter loved the beach and the condo itself. She enjoyed just being here in what she dubbed as "our vacation home." We will recommend to all our family and friends to come stay here based on the ease of working with Susan, the private feeling of the beach, and the beauty of the condo.

Enjoy!!!



Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank DVCfamily16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Kahana Sunset is a wonderful quiet get away! Beautiful well kept grounds, peaceful pool, quiet beach, grills for guests to cook on, daily cleaning service if wanted, and free wifi all around the grounds. We stayed in unit C2C and it was beautiful. Updated kitchen, bathroom, and living space, with private laundry. This unit has a wonderful view of the grounds, pool, and of the ocean. My husband and I loved waking up to the views, playing cards on the deck, and enjoyed the sea turtles everyday in the ocean!
Will definitely visit Kahana Sunset Unit C2C again!

Room Tip: Wonderful unit C2C- A/C optional, wonderful views!
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krussell19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews