We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
19 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$525
travelup.comUS$572
Hotels.comUS$473
TravelocityUS$473
PricelineUS$525
ZenHotels.comUS$650
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,827)
Filter reviews
5,828 results
Traveller rating
2,562
2,009
678
330
249
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,562
2,009
678
330
249
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages cottage room royal scoop tower rooms ocean view black rock free trolley whalers village our honeymoon beach bar main tower breakfast buffet kaanapali beach beautiful beach travel agent per day an upgrade
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 5,828 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2022 via mobile

Where do I start? My partner and I were trying to get away for a night to celebrate our anniversary. Even though we tried to book weeks in advance, we could not choose between a room and a cottage. Assuming that for $550 (!!!) a night it would likely be nice either way, we were okay with being assigned something the night of. When we arrived at the hotel the lobby was lovely and the staff was wonderful.

However, once we got to our cottage, we were VERY underwhelmed. These cottages have been neglected for at least a decade. Cabinet doors were falling off, the mini fridge was gross, there was mold in the bathroom, stains on the carpet from the air conditioner and cobwebs everywhere. Whatever, we knew that we were paying a premium for the location and as long as we could enjoy a peaceful nights rest, we decided we could look past these things. Sadly, this location couldn’t even offer us that!!! These cottages are like duplexes where you share a wall with the guest next to you. These walls are PAPER thin! Our neighbors were not being extremely loud or inconsiderate. They simply rolled their luggage into the room at 1am and continued to chat. THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN FINE! It was so loud in our room I thought they had gotten into our room by mistake and I jumped up to stop them from entering. Nope, they were in their own room, using inside voices to talk and we could hear every freaking word. Eventually we figured out that if we blasted the fan for the AC we could drown it out. Our neighbors continued to pop champagne and play music through the rest of the night. For $550, my partner and I didn’t get a minuet of sleep.

The next morning we pack up as quickly as possible, head to the desk to complain. The front desk lady couldn’t do anything for us and asked if we wanted to speak to the manager. We said yes. Conveniently she was in a meeting and couldn’t speak with us. We had other obligations and couldn’t wait around all day for her ON OUR VACATION so we requested a call back. We waited a day, never heard from her.

We contacted our credit card company to contest the charge for the stated reasons and when they got ahold of the manager, she LIED and said we were given an upgrade. This would have been impossible since we stayed for ONE night and never once spoke to her.

If this has been &250 or even $300 a night, we might have been more understanding but good god, $550 to feel like I was staying in a roadside motel.

Thanks for nothing.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank M4464WIerins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2022

Thank you for your recent feedback concerning your stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort. We are extremely sorry to hear about your negative experience. We will be forwarding your review to the management team to resolve the concerns you have listed so we can improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2022 via mobile

We love staying at Royal Lahaina. Being beachfront located at Ka’anapali beach is great. The staff and service are welcomong. The ocean front room in the Tower provides a spectacular view. The room is comfortable and fairly large. Pricing is reasonable for amenities and location. There are cottages on the property very family friendly. The photo is our nightly view at sunset. Paradise found.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2022

Aloha! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback. We hope that you had a beautiful time and will keep us in mind on your next trip to Maui.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2022 via mobile

The only thing we like about this hotel is it’s low key and not as fancy as the other hotels.

We ate at the restaurant and as we were leaving, it was disturbing to see two of the restaurant employees sniffing drugs in an alley of the lobby.

Needless to say we will not be visiting this hotel again. My teen children witnessed it as well. My 7 yr old asked what they’re were doing.

Apparently drugs is a huge problem on this island

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank haniv1148
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2022

Thank you for your recent feedback concerning your stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort. We are extremely sorry to hear about your negative experience and even more sorry to have disappointed you. We try to maintain the highest standards of service but clearly that is not what happened here. We will be reviewing this with our management team to improve our service to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2022 via mobile

This place was outstanding. The staff was all super friendly and the resort was beautiful. We whale watched from our balcony and was also able to see the beautiful sunset every evening. The live music every night was also great. Will definitely be returning!

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank johnnysF5030IC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2022

Mahalo! We appreciate your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2022 via mobile

Calming with easy access to beach. Great bartenders and great food. Wheelchair avail from front desk if you ask. Cleaning staff did an excellent job. Received daily text alert to the happenings of the day. Hiu Wai, hula lessons and Zumba. Ice cream shop has great coffee and fruit smoothies. 24/7 Safeway close, go early. Budget rental agent said no need for snorkel cruise as top 5 snorkel areas 1/4 mi from hotel and it was exceptional. Take binoculars, tons of whale activity 100 yds from beach. Vacation to remember!

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 25AnnaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2022

Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all we have to offer! We hope to welcome you back again for another unforgettable vacation in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews