We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Northshore Hostel Maui(Wailuku)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
21
28
17
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
28
17
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack sand beachbring your ownbunk bedstent campingblow holepots and panshana highwaysized refrigeratorpicnic tablestwo nightspermitlinensbugstowelslavasweepgeckos
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Location and value are the biggest draws at Wainapanapa. The ocean is just a short walk away, with beautiful views of the crashing waves. You may not be able to see the ocean from your cabin, but the surrounding "jungle" is relaxing to look at, especially with the sounds of the surf in the distance. The back porch was a great spot to sit and read or just relax. The cabins themselves are rustic and spartan, but definitely livable. The price is right, especially for Maui. Be sure to reserve early to assure a cabin is available for your visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank virkr208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

In early July we went to Waianapanapa to stay in a cabin, for which we had already paid $60 online some months before.

In early July, 2010, my family and I went on a camping trip to Waianapanapa State Park. We arrived at the cabins at 6:45 p.m. Upon arriving we went to the check-in area and began to read the procedures for obtaining the key. We soon came upon the statement that check-in time was from noon to 4 p.m. "No exceptions!" We could not believe our eyes! Who ever heard of cutting off check-ins at 4 o'clock? So we drove around looking for the attendant, fully expecting to get the key to the cabin that we had paid $60 for some months ago.

When we finally found her we asked if we could get our key. She said that no, check-in ended at 4 p.m. My wife said, "Can't you please let us in our cabin? We were late because we were in the National Park area?" The attendant said, "That's too bad." My wife said, "You mean we have to drive all the way to Kihei in the dark?" She said, "I guess so." Now think about this: It would have taken this attendant less than a minute to get the key and hand it to us. But instead she chose not to. As a state employee she is working for the public. But what sort of public servant behaves like this? Where was her aloha spirit? Would YOU have turned away paid guests when it would have been so easy to give them the key? I certainly would not have done that!

We left with a very sour taste in our mouths and a long drive back to Kihei in the dark. That is not the way to treat your guests! Change is needed, both in the check-in time and the attendant's attitude.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank MauiAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in april 2010. Pretty much as expected, nice location and very very dirty inside. Nice to have a fridge (clean), and new water heater. No bugs.

Tons of papaya and coconut trees, kids had a ball hunting fruit. Great walking around the park at dawn, visit the cave before anyone else and have run of the place.

Nice fruit stand in Hana, little further to spend the day at Hamoa beach.

If we do it again we'll camp in the tent site since fridge and hot shower aren't so important. Not worth $100/night (nonresident fee). Need to wear shoes inside. Bring your own linens.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank zakthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We loved our stay, but this certainly ain't the Ritz! The cabin we stayed in (#1) is a little further from the ocean than are #s 5 & 6. The ocean view was meager, but it was nice and jungly. The cabin was reasonably clean, and without the mice and bugs that other reviews have mentioned. The geckos (outside on the windows) were entertaining as they ate bugs attracted to the lights at night. The night sky was fantastic!!! Full of stars that you can only see when far from city lights. Bring bar soap, pillows, sheets and towels. Light blankets are provided, but we brought our own. Evenings were cool (January) so a sweatshirt and long pants would be nice. Some mosquitoes outdoors in the evening. Watching the toilet flush was entertaining - like watching paint dry! You're sure it's never going to happen and that you are going to have to reach in and help things along, and then at the last second - stuff disappears! A great place to go to get away from the hustle and bustle of Kihei.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MauiAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

This is where the locals stay to enjoy family reunions. Hana is a laid back, beautiful, authentic place. Come and stay here to expand your experience and have something truly memorable to talk about.

If you want sparkling clean surroundings with neatly trimmed vegetation, stay in a hotel as this is anything but; however, I would consider coming and staying for two nights again. Our family enjoyed watching the in-cabin geckos keep the place relatively bug-free. To our amazement, there were no creepy-crawlies (centipedes, spiders, cockroaches etc.) inside.

Pick up a mosquito coil on your way out of a bigger center than Hana. Hasawega was sold out when we were there. I rate this "hotel" as average because of its authenticity and would recommend it with reservations i.e. for those who are not afraid to try something different.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
3  Thank babblefishAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews