We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Molokai Shores Resort
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Location is geeat but if you rent through Castle you must go back to town to gets keys. Castle MANAGES the units. Individual owners are responsible for repair or replacement work in unit. Our windows were stuck shut and fans didn't work --Castle got them repaired after one hot night but when we complained that bathroom fan was so loud neighbors could hear it, we were advised "owner aware that it needs to be replaced." and had to live with it. Front door lock broke when we closed door to go to dinner --good thing neighbor had skills to deal with situation as there was no one on site and we had left "management info sheet" in unit when we went out.
As I said location is great and if you could be sure you had a well maintained unit, it could work out. Otherwise, you are subject to random chance.
This is a condo rental, not a hotel. You will pay extra for housekeepping. I am still not sure what the "resort fee" we were charged on arrival covered. Castle said Expedia knew about it---kind of hard to compare costs when you don't know what you're going to be charged. Wish Expedia would include all fees and charges so you can compare apples to apples and oranges to oranges.
Having said all above, Molokai is beautiful and worth the trip

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anchorgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2017

We stayed in unit 204A, a privately owned unit. It was decent enough. Plenty of clean towels and bedding, pots and pans and plates, glasses and a bit of silverware. The lock box was fiddly. When I went to the office to ask about it, I was told that was a private unit and I would have to go back to the booking agent! Instead I saw some maids and asked them, and they fixed it for me and also gave me some extra coffee. By the way, their coffee is lousy. There were some burnt out light bulbs and at least two dead electric sockets. When we first arrived there was no sofa, but some men brought it in shortly thereafter. The unit had a great view of the ocean and the Isle of Lanai. The grounds were neat and well kept. There was an unheated pool, which was tolerable if the sun had been shining. Our keys did not work in the door to the pool, but that seemed like a common occurrence. There were some things available to allow you to play shuffleboard. Big disappointment: there is no hot tub! Don't expect much of a beach...put it out of your mind. Don't look for night life: Molokai closes down around 8pm. BTW: the donkey ride down the cliff to the leper colony has been closed down. I was going to hike in anyway, but it rained every day so I didn't.

Room Tip: Corner condos are bigger, have a wrap round walk. Go for privately owned. Bring as much food as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jerrymI1826PB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

When you realize that there are not a lot of hotel choices when visiting Molokai, you have to reduce your expectations. The Molokai Shores is the largest condominium project on the island. It is located just a few minutes from town. Many of the units are available for rental either through booking websites such as Booking.com or by individual owners. There in lies the challenge. Some of the units are more up to date than others. We had unit 205. It's a bit weathered, with amateur installation of fans and older appliances. The view is good as is the location near the bar-b-que. There is no elevator so think twice before bringing large or heavy luggage unless you're on the ground floor .

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DONALD Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Check in time is 3:00 to 4:00pm. Arrived 10 minutes past 4:00pm and spent long time on phone getting a room. The beach location is excellent. The room was just average except for the bed which was excellent. There was coffee in the fridge which was great because we had to leave by 5:30am. I would stay there again, but be prepared for dogs baking and rooster crowing.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Ke Hale Kealoha A215 was great, and Chaya and Tom are wonderful hosts! They have a beautiful condo with everything we needed and more. It is worth spending the first hour just opening every cupboard and reading through the binder of information. There is a TV, laptop, wifi, binoculars, boogie boards, beach mats, beach chairs, hair dryer, books (great Cussler collection!), and every kitchen item you can think of. The view was great. We watched the whales breaching in the distance. Nice view of Lanai. The condo was exceptionally clean, and the parking was close. There wasn't AC, but there was a good breeze most of the time, and there were three fans. I saw a couple other units, and this one was the best. The only bummer was that the pool was being painted during our visit; it looks great now. The grounds are well kept. The beach is very private, but it's not really a swimming beach (shallow and muddy). The whole place was really people quiet with the only noise coming from the morning roosters and traffic. A car is a must in Molokai! We drove to the end of both ends of the island--the island diversity is amazing. Be sure to do the mule ride (I only closed my eyes three times). Reading the book Molokai after the trip to Kalaupapa is pretty cool. Finally, be sure to check out the scuba diving. The reef is VERY healthy. If you've never dove, you can do a Discover Scuba with Molokai Fish and Dive.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marcia652014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaunakakai
36.3 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
503 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
547 reviews
17.3 km away
MVP - Wavecrest
MVP - Wavecrest
#1 of 3 in Kaunakakai
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 km away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#13 of 43 in Lahaina
329 reviews
35.8 km away
Maui Beach Ocean View Rentals
27.8 km away
Ke Nani Kai
Ke Nani Kai
#1 of 3 in Maunaloa
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Molokai Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Molokai Shores Resort

Address: Kamehameha Hwy, Star Route, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748 (Formerly Molokai Shores Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Kaunakakai
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kaunakakai
Price Range: RM628 - RM1,613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Molokai Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Molokai's largest town, this property offers one- and two-bedroom oceanfront condominiums with full kitchens and a wide array of amenities, including a swimming pool, shuffleboard, and barbecue station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Molokai Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marc Molokai Shores Hotel Kaunakakai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing