We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varable room conditions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Molokai Shores Resort
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We had a large group in seven units. It started as six units but we complained about 305 so they gave us two 1-bedroom units. You are lucky if you get a recently remodeled unit, otherwise watch out. Most are dirty and rundown. They could at least give them a thorough scrub. The on-site office manages the well manicured grounds and pool. They can't help with the units. That office is on an off-street in Kaunakakai, with very limited hours. We asked them twice to fix our dishwasher and the sliding screen doors. They never showed. They did send out a maintenance man to spray the wasp nests. Our place was full of non-biting bugs. Wi-fi is spotty and you may be using a router in another unit.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank BILL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

I agree with the other reviewers who rated it poor or terrible. The grounds are beautifully maintained but since the individual units are owned by absentee owners, the quality varies greatly. I stayed with a group that rented 7 units. Most were lacking good kitchen utensils. Some screen doors did not work. Some were missing ice cube trays. The one that had a dishwasher was broken.

Room Tip: Avoid units with a loft. The stairs are too steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank chil2nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

My daughters and I stayed in unit 305 which was nothing like any of the units depicted on their website. It was dirty with many broken appliances. The taps in the shower and vanity sink didn't work properly, there were dead insects embedded in the carpet, lights weren't working and the fan in the main bedroom was faulty. The one star that I gave was for management who refunded our money when I contacted them. It is in a very pretty spot and the grounds were meticulous. We walked out after one night and booked into hotel Molokai. Because you can't guarantee if you will be given a renovated unit, I can't recommend staying here until management takes the terrible units off their books. Be aware too that if you book a loft apartment, it is up three flights of stairs and the car park is quite far away.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank CandAseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

I stayed in a one bedroom with kitchenet with a beautify view of the pool and ocean playground. A 10 minute drive from town on the main Highway with ample parking. Quiet nights, b b q grills and picnic areas right out your door. Most rooms have cable TV and internet availability with a coin operated laundry room on property.

Room Tip: Ground floors allow direct access to grounds and pools. 2 story condo style units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Clyde T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Location is geeat but if you rent through Castle you must go back to town to gets keys. Castle MANAGES the units. Individual owners are responsible for repair or replacement work in unit. Our windows were stuck shut and fans didn't work --Castle got them repaired after one hot night but when we complained that bathroom fan was so loud neighbors could hear it, we were advised "owner aware that it needs to be replaced." and had to live with it. Front door lock broke when we closed door to go to dinner --good thing neighbor had skills to deal with situation as there was no one on site and we had left "management info sheet" in unit when we went out.
As I said location is great and if you could be sure you had a well maintained unit, it could work out. Otherwise, you are subject to random chance.
This is a condo rental, not a hotel. You will pay extra for housekeepping. I am still not sure what the "resort fee" we were charged on arrival covered. Castle said Expedia knew about it---kind of hard to compare costs when you don't know what you're going to be charged. Wish Expedia would include all fees and charges so you can compare apples to apples and oranges to oranges.
Having said all above, Molokai is beautiful and worth the trip

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anchorgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaunakakai
36.3 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
503 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
547 reviews
17.3 km away
MVP - Wavecrest
MVP - Wavecrest
#1 of 3 in Kaunakakai
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 km away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#12 of 43 in Lahaina
329 reviews
35.8 km away
Maui Beach Ocean View Rentals
27.8 km away
Ke Nani Kai
Ke Nani Kai
#1 of 3 in Maunaloa
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Molokai Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Molokai Shores Resort

Address: Kamehameha Hwy, Star Route, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748 (Formerly Molokai Shores Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Kaunakakai
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kaunakakai
Price Range: RM626 - RM1,604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Molokai Shores Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Molokai's largest town, this property offers one- and two-bedroom oceanfront condominiums with full kitchens and a wide array of amenities, including a swimming pool, shuffleboard, and barbecue station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castle Molokai Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marc Molokai Shores Hotel Kaunakakai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing