We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luana II at Three Tables Beach”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome HOME!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome HOME!
22' Outdoor Tiki Bar with Built In BBQ!  Tropical Fun in Paradise! Enormous 25' ceilings Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Welcome HOME!
22' Outdoor Tiki Bar with Built In BBQ!  Tropical Fun in Paradise!
Enormous 25' ceilings Living Room
22\' Tiki Bar with Gas BBQ & Marble Counters
Master Bathroom-Marble Floors, river rock counters and shower floor
Tropical and Lush Plants Line Our Amazing Garden
Front of Luana II
Three Tables Beach down your driveway
Master Bedroom Equipped with Cozy King Beds
Your Tropical Beach Paradise
Front of Luana II Vacation Estate
Second Bathroom- Dual Sinks-River Rock Counters!
Complete Wrap around lanai - Perfect for Sunset Viewings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Haleiwa, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Yeti_Pipp...
Kenmore, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luana II at Three Tables Beach”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
4
people found this review helpful

OK- As a fellow VRBO owner from the Oregon coast since 2009, I know what it takes to maintain a VRBO rental and keep renters happy. Renter feedback is often useful.

So this quazi Thai-style vacation rental is pretty terrific overall. At the end of review, I will list what's great and IMO, what could make it even better.

Entrance:

The driveway is about 100 feet from the main road/highway to the Luana II House which has a coded/secure gate. The house is set far enough back so road noise is minimal. However there is noise of a different variety from all the local Roosters with alarm clocks that go 24/7. This is something you should know if you want to sleep in; it's very difficult.

Floor-plan:

The house itself is an interesting open floor-plan that's unique and inspired from SE Asia. The architecture is beautiful and fairly well thought out. The floor plan is on one level with just one set of stairs to access it from the parking area. The other access adjacent to the Tiki Bar is closed due to its unsafe condition.

Living area/bedrooms:

The living/sleeping area is all open rafter which is cool with high ceilings and fans (no AC). Downside is that the bedrooms/bathrooms don't offer the privacy, sometimes needed with larger groups, since there is no ceilings. However, the three bedrooms are all big and nicely laid out with access to the wrap around deck. There is a nice (SW corner) that has relaxing couches and entertainment center with big TV.

Kitchen area:

The kitchen is OK with a nice big frig, sink area, and island with electric stove and oven. As a former chef, I quickly analyzed the set up for efficient cooking. After a meal or two cooking for 5, I have these thoughts:

The cooking island is nice, but the herb/spice rack on the island is old and most are dried out and empty. The utensils cooking needed are mostly in cabinets next to the frig which is several paces away. It's definitely a small point, but important if you're cooking a lot of your meals for larger group. You may have to walk back and forth several times while preparing meals which throws off timing and is tiresome too.

A similar situation exists with the sink area where you have to wash dishes. This area is quite far from the cooking island. The glassware, plates and utensils are nice, yet the pots/pans only so so. No disposal.

Dishwasher?

Lastly, you will spend a lot of time washing dishes since there is no dishwasher. A VRBO house of this magnitude deserves a dishwasher. I don't mind hand washing at home, but it takes time and I'd rather be on the beach or at the Tiki Bar! Also by not having a dishwasher- the plates, glasses, and utensils are not sanitized and have a slightly oily feel to them.

Tiki Bar!

Alert! Happily,there is a signature piece to this fine property. A separate and detached Tiki Bar!! It's located next to the parking area which is terrific. We used it for happy hour and BBQ every afternoon and evening. The granite top bar seats at least 5 with gas Weber BBQ, prep area, small frig and sink. Nice lighting with overhead fan completes this beauty. Lots of bugs there so bring your spray!

Beach:

The beach across the road is sweet with decent snorkeling if the surf is down. A short walk north is Shark's Cove which is better protected and nary a shark to be seen. You can also walk to Waimea Bay to the South. There is an expensive shopping center, and overpriced food stalls across the street from Shark's Cove which I have no opinion on since we brought our own food.

So........

Already great:

Owner Sam
Location/vibe
Close to beach
Tiki Bar!
Bedrooms/bathrooms
Dining/entertainment areas
Wrap around deck with clothes washer/dryer
Cleanliness (except glassware/plates/utensils)

Needs work:

Dishwasher
Kitchen island re-thought?
Update spice rack
Roosters need muting or at least tuning

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great house and grounds
Liked least: Lack of dishwasher
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
All great suggestions!!!

We are certainly glad you loved your stay!

We will be in touch with you to entice you to return for your next visit when you are ready.

It was a pleasure having you.

Till then, a hui hou (see you soon)

~Samuel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riva9129
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
684 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Gorgeous tropical home, best location on the North Shore!”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We just got back from staying at the Luana II for 9 perfect nights! We all wish we were still there.
From initial booking until we drove away from this amazing home I have not 1 complaint, and I can be very picky.
Booking was a breeze, directions and instructions on gate codes and house keys were spot on.
The house itself is even better in person then in pictures. It really is the best location on the North Shore / Haleiwa! Directly across from 3 tables beach, we watched Sunset there every night! Views r amazing. U can easily walk to Sharks Cove, Pipeline, Sunset Beach, Foodland is only 150 yards away, all the food trucks r right next to Foodland, Impossibles Pizza is 125 yards away, u can easily also walk to Waimea Bay which is about 1/3 of a mile or maybe a lil more away.
Now the house..its perfect size, huge ceilings probably 30/feet high. Open air, large living/dining area/full kitchen open concept. Just feels so airy, clean, breezes roll thru the house. Nice big flat screen TV, Netflix, ceiling fans and lights everywhere. Nice newer wooden floors, sofas r newer and clean, dinner table seats 6 easily. All the bedrooms r big, full closets, bog soft beds, end tables lights and fans r perfect. 2 bathrooms r out of a magazine..huge shower heads, rock/pebble floors and walls!!
The outside is the best, a monster deck that goes around the whole house! Plenty of seating, tables and chairs for just chilling. There's also a good washer and dryer outside and a outdoor shower which was every1s favorite.
The tiki bar is unable, huge gas grill, plenty of seating, a lil fridge, sink with running water, tsk fans with lights. U will save so much $$ just cooking out for lunches and dinners at the Tiki bar plus it is just amazing.
This house is the finest I have stayed at, perfect in every way. The management was super professional and I can really call him a true friend now. We will definitely be back and more than once. We r already planning our return!
Thanks again Samuel, this vacation has changed our lives!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
I LOVE hearing stories like this, on how the magic and energy of our home and the North Shore are etched into the brains and souls of our guests....awesome.

There is SO much more to see and do here, so, YES, you will need to come back soon!

Till then my friend, Aloha and a hui hou! ~Samuel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian s
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“100% North Shore”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This was our third visit to the north shore Oahu, (first time with children) and was delighted to find that not much had changed since our last visit . The location of the property is roughly 60 yards from three tables beach, 10 minutes walk from Waimea Bay in one direction and 10 minutes from sunset beach in the other. In my opinion this is the best location for a stay on the North Shore and would struggle to find better even at an additional cost.

The property itself is a traditional, timber framed, open plan house with an open decked area which wraps around the whole house. Lush, tropical gardens surround the house making the outside area very private and secure. Having young children, security and privacy was very important for our stay, the property is accessed from a long driveway with key coded security gates and is totally inaccessible from non-residents which allowed open reign to the grounds for the kids which was a huge bonus.
Inside, the decor is modern but very in-keeping with island style with exposed beams, wooden floors throughout and a quality finish. House it fitted with all the required appliances in great condition including a high spec entertainment TV and cable system and high speed internet connection.
Instructions on how to reach the property were good (maybe a bit biased as i have stayed at a similar property a few doors away) and on arrival the house was found to be clean and tidy ready for our stay. Many thanks to Joan the cleaner who kept the house impeccable during our stay and replaced bed linens/towels etc.

All in all, the property was ideal for our stay, was clean, well maintained, safe and was much loved by all the family. If you take any advice at all from this review , stay out of Honolulu, drive 30 miles to the North Shore and stay here.

Many thanks to the owner, a holiday we wont forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, open plan living in keeping with the North Shore
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2014
Certainly enjoyed having you and the family....we love return guests so please let us know when you are ready to come back to our little slice of paradise!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_O...
Long Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A worn out house, no privacy, loud, dirty and in a bad neighborhood”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
9
people found this review helpful

Not a luxury rental. The property has potential but it has not been properly maintained. Sinks didn't drain, fridge had broken shelves, shutters wouldn't close (really important with the noise) and worst of all was dirty. Ironically the owner was most concerned about dirt in the house as "carpets recently cleaned" and absolutely no noise or parties that would disturb the neighbors. The one small rug in the house hadn't even been vacuumed and looked liked it had never actually been cleaned. The first night we were there, after removing our shoes as requested, the bottom of our feet were black from the filthy floor. The outdoor kitchen/Tiki bar was also filthy, hadn't been swept in probably a year and the rest dirty. Same for the outside deck, never been swept. They have the audacity to charge a cleaning fee when the first thing we had to do was clean the place. Fortunately we found a great cleaning service on Craigslist in the North Shore, came for three hours at $20/hr and got the place to the state you'd want for a couple of five year olds playing on the floor.
There is no privacy in this house, the design is such that all rooms (bathrooms, bedrooms, etc) have no ceilings, just walls with tops open to the rest of the house. You can hear EVERYTHING anyone in the house does. The place and area is also overrun with chickens and roosters which begin crowing at 3am, ten feet from your bedroom. When we chased them out of the yard and shook the tree to prevent them from roosting the neighbors called the police on us! You can imagine the police reaction for being called out for chickens. The police were great, phoned a contractor the state has for catching feral chickens (the chickens are destroying the island and the residents are letting it happen, a real disgrace and now a worse threat to the islands ecology than the feral pigs),. Oh yeah, the other neighbor has dogs that take over for the roosters at 8am and begin barking. And don't forget the gun fire on Christmas Day. A working class neighborhood with monster trucks blocking the driveway, not a peaceful tropical getaway.
If you're six 20 something surfers, who don't care about overall cleanliness, and just need a place to crash, this would be a great place but at much less the rate charged. The all in cost at high season was just under $700 a night, you can get a Turtle Bay condo for that. Don't get fooled by the video and pictures like we were, it looks like it could be nice but the cleanliness, upkeep and noise makes this place way too low end.
Lastly, our review and comments are backed up by the house journal/log many of the same issues described.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2014
Yes, please DO rent a turtle bay condo for $700/night with neighbors sharing the walls you are sleeping next to!

High season is $529, no where NEAR your exaggerated $700....just goes to show people seem to take "artistic freedoms" if and when they are not happy about something....

Maybe I should copy all the pages from the review book in the house....we have about 60+ and I believe all but 2 are EXCELLENT reviews!!! Correct my math if I am wrong (and I am sure you will haha) but I think that is a
97% EXCELLENT review ratio!

I am not here to defend my home, I certainly don't need to do that as hundreds of people before this guest seemed to love it.

I welcome them to rent a room at the Turtle Bay for $500/night and let them critique their stay there next....!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jan 2013
We are thrilled that you LOVED it here.

Be on the lookout for our postcards asking you to come back or refer us to your friends!

Really enjoyed having you!!!

Till next time, a hui hou (see you soon in Hawaiian)

~Samuel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing