We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stop”

Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
Ranked #23 of 93 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: The Original Shrimp Truck Since 1993
Reviewed 2 April 2018

As expected, there was a large crowd at the truck, but it was a fun stop. It didn't take long to receive our order of garlic shrimp, which was very tasty....with tasty rice. Reasonably priced. If you're lucky, you'll find a seat at picnic tables nearby. The shrimp wasn't very large so it took a while to eat. Fun stop!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leonard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for visiting the shrimp truck and happy you enjoyed the experience at the location... Take care and hope to see you again in the future..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 123 of 1,853 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

We were recommended to stop here by a bar tender at our hotel! We were very glad we stumbled across it. The shrimp was delicious and we talked about it for days after. It's a little hard to find and the only signage is across the van. The lot is opposite McDonalds and you'll know the truck by the line of people waiting. They only have 3 types of shrimp and a hot dog on their menu. If your in the area it's worth a stop.

Thank mooza11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for visiting the shrimp truck and happy you enjoyed the experience at the location... Take care and hope to see you again in the future..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

If you want to eat shrimp and can stand to wait in line for 15-20 minutes, then you should go here. The shrimp is excellent! It is one of the most famous food trucks on the North Shore as well. It is cash only, so be prepared with at least $30.00 for two people.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan and Phyl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for visiting the shrimp truck and happy you enjoyed the experience at the location... Take care and hope to see you again in the future..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

When asking our hotel about things we should make sure to do while visiting the area we were told about the shrimp trucks, Giovanni's specifically.

We went on a Thursday afternoon, early, about 1pm or so. You can't miss it because the line is ridiculous and it's a truck with plenty of writing all over it (presumably people who have written on it to say they were there). I was hopeful the food would live up to the hype after waiting for our order 20 minutes or so, which does not seem to be uncommon. I can't imagine what this place is like on a weekend.

We ordered lemon butter and shrimp scampi along with the Mac salad. The shrimp platters each came with 2 scoops of rice and were pretty tasty. The Mac salad I did not enjoy, it just wasn't seasoned to my tastes.

For the price, under $20, the serving size was good and the shrimp flavorful.

Worth a visit but bring your patience for the wait for your order and the completely unorganized lines.

Thank LYNNIE72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for visiting the shrimp truck and happy you enjoyed the experience at the location... Take care and hope to see you again in the future..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

So my husband and I came here particularly because it was highly recommended. However, we were disappointed. The menu as far as shrimp only consisted of garlic or hot and spicy. So I was disappointed that there weren’t a lot of options to choose from. I also just wasn’t impressed with the taste. The garlic shrimp literally lasts on your breathe for hours. We ate around 12 and by 9 I was still trying to scrub the smell away. The hot sauce was good though. I dipped my garlic shrimp in it and then took a bite of the rice and that helped. The young man who served us was very nice and the overall feel was authentic. I just wasn’t impressed with the taste of the food.

Thank jayj681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience at the shrimp truck.. I will forward your review to the owner and hope you give us another chance in the future..


Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giovanni's Shrimp Truck also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Shrimp Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing