We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Cable Cars
from US$100.87
More Info
from US$74.00
More Info
from US$65.00
More Info
from US$26.67
More Info
Reviews (25,129)
Filter reviews
25,129 results
Traveller rating
14,547
6,839
2,580
667
496
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
14,547
6,839
2,580
667
496
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day pass union square california line per ride the powell hyde line single ride fun ride fisherman's wharf muni pass california street great fun market street fun experience nob hill public transportation bucket list conductor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 25,129 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2021 via mobile

Is so much fun! Is free just for august so enjoy as many time as you can! You can look the map through google so you can see which street the cable car goes.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Raquel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2021

It's a must-do in SF! We hung off the outside in the front and got great views of the city all around, not to mention the thrill of going up and down the hills. Even if you don't have anywhere specific to go, I think it's worth the experience to ride out and hop on the next one to come back just to say you did it. Sitting on the seats facing inward feels like riding in a car, but the seats facing outwards and the poles are definitely where the fun is.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank abrown102
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

I enjoyed the cable car ride, but would've enjoyed the ride more had the driver not been so rude to everyone! He made the ride very unpleasant, due to his sarcasm & rude remarks he made to individuals! He needs to have customer service skills training! Other than the hateful & rude remarks, it was a very enjoyable ride!

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank TKH3M0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2021

I've always wanted to ride the famed San Francisco cable cars since I was a child (mainly due to the old Rice A-Roni commercials; lol). It definitely lived up to my expectations. They are now back in operation to the public (since the beginning of August 2021) and are free for the month. We took the Powell-Hyde line (there are 3 lines total) and rode toward Fisherman's Wharf. You can feel the enthusiasm as people queued up to ride and during the ride. The views across certain streets are spectacular (at some spots you can see to the water) and it is fun just being on the car and enjoying the ride, as the operator works the brakes and controls. Kids loved it and kid's at heart did too. Just know that the lines can get long; we rode fairly early in the morning (9 am or so) but in the afternoon the wait was an hour or so at the turnaround.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank TravelSouthGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2021

I've gotten hooked on riding the cable cars, particularly since they are free for everyone in August. The views are spectacular, service form operators excellent, and I've met interesting passengers. The line moves quickly but if you don't like long waits, take the California cable car which leaves from the Hyatt Embarcadero on California and Market Streets. Definitely a must for tourists and residents alike.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank bonniew956
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews