We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more!”
Review of Cova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cova Hotel
Ranked #101 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 June 2017

My wife and I wanted to get away for a bit so our recent stay was at the COVA HOTEL for A summer vacation . It was very Clean, comfortable, and it was excellent service and close to everything. You couldn't ask for more!

Room Tip: The suites were the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Devina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel is nice and clean, the staff are helpful and friendly. The free wine on the roof top makes for a great start to your evening. Two bad points there are a lot of homeless people in the streets around the hotel and you never really feel safe walking back to the hotel late at night, I guess the hotel try's to combat this with there free shuttle bus during the day. The other bad point for our stay was the parking charge, $32 a day for a hotel guest I'd obscene, when I booked the hotel the website said that it was $25 a day (still far to high) and then a few weeks before I was told $30 so was a little annoyed when we arrived to find out it was $32 with no concessions for hotel guests.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank stewie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

I had a wonderful time in the city by the bay. The hotel staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about different places to visit in the area. The room was very clean. One of the staff members (Shadon) was very helpful and provided some good info on places to eat :)

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank slim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. Decided on this hotel because it looked nice and the price was pretty decent compared to a lot of others. Loved the hotel. Service was great. Clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Not in the greatest area of downtown San Francisco though. Lots of homeless people. It even smelled bad until you walked to Union Square. One morning there was an incident where some lady was trying to get into the hotel. She tackled an employee at the restaurant. Was knocking over things. Felt bad for the staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel still. I'd just suggest making use of their shuttle service and using other forms of transportation rather than walking in the hotel area.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna91SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We booked the COVA using credit card points and were feeling a bit hesitant about our choice. That feeling dissipated though ... we had a great stay and were upgraded to a suite. The staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable.

If you're easily intimidated by the homeless then this place might not be for you. We talked to staff about where to walk and not walk, and didn't encounter any issues. Yes, we saw homeless close to the hotel, and also at Union Square close to Saks ... certainly contrasting locations. SF has a big homeless population so while there is a concentration in the Tenderloin district where the hotel is located, you will encounter them all over no matter the area.

Breakfast was less than desirable hence the four star review. The only eggs available were hard boiled. There was lunch meat, but no bacon. If you're not into waffles, then you're kinda out of luck. Since it was a "free" breakfast we made it work.

The rooftop bar and free wine were a bonus! We'd go back to COVA in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmryan511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Hotel Vertigo
#70 of 230 in San Francisco
1,418 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#90 of 230 in San Francisco
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#129 of 230 in San Francisco
809 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#140 of 230 in San Francisco
305 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#94 of 230 in San Francisco
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cova Hotel

Address: 655 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8027
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: RM461 - RM1,144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of San Francisco, the COVA Hotel offers a delightful haven for travelers seeking spacious and comfortable lodging in a downtown atmosphere. COVA Hotel offers comfort, value, service and design. Newly renovated and providing the highest level of services at an affordable rate, our goal is to make your stay enjoyable. Room rates include complimentary continental breakfast and transportation to Union Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cova Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing