We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$188
Hotels.comUS$188
eDreamsUS$188
PricelineUS$188
Orbitz.comUS$188
travelup.comUS$830
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
41
7
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
41
7
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect getaway to celebrate our special day. We were greeted outside as we pulled up to the hotel by Albert at the front door with a big friendly smile and upbeat personality. We were upgraded to the highest floor and enjoyed a spacious updated room with a great view. We had drinks in the Redwood Room and were well cared for by our female server, sorry to not have her name but she was terrific. On our way to our room to turn in for the night, we met Albert again and he insisted on creating a series of fabulous photos of us sitting on the big chair. He is a special person. Do ask for him and tip him well! Great stay, great people.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 93TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gino Santistevan, Guest Services / Front Office at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 98TJ,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We're glad that you were very impressed with Albert's service and that he was able to provide you with his warm hospitality and attention to detail service. It's awesome to hear that he was your photographer. :) Your kudos will certainly be passed on to him. I'm also pleased that you enjoyed yourself in our world famous Redwood Room bar. We are genuinely happy to finally reopen it post our full hotel renovation. Again, thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Gino - Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2021

I initially reached out to Clift Royal when considering it for our hotel block; its convenient location in city and the old SF glamour of the Redwood Room would be great for our family flying in for the wedding. In my first conversation with Jill Plemons, she said "Congratulations! Where are you getting married?" and I had to confess that I did not know. We knew that planning a wedding during COVID would be riddled with uncertainty, and our original venue for both the ceremony and reception had fallen through. In that moment, Jill became my wedding fairy godmother sharing that the Clift had recently remodeled the Spanish Suite that could be used for events. With the support and care of the entire Clift staff, we held the most special (and safe! and easy!) wedding weekend, having our ceremony, reception, hotel block and afterparty all hosted at the Clift.

Convenient Location:
The location was great for visitors to explore SF. We held our rehearsal dinner Del Popolo (a Michelin rated Bib Gormound!) that was a 6 minute walk from the Clift, on the day after the wedding everyone too BART to the Oakland Colosseum to watch the Battle of the Bay series Giants v. A's.

Elegant Hotel:
The remodel is truly beautiful, a simple and modern elegance while still keeping true to the old glamour of the hotel. Our guests were so impressed by the space, found the rooms quiet and comfortable.

Best Bar:
A stunning space that made our weekend feel elevated and unique. We had family in from Chicago, Minnesota and Texas, and the Redwood Room was a slice of old SF to share with them. The drinks were delicious!

COVID Considerate:
The hotel was clean and spacious, with good signage and safe practices followed by all staff.

The staff made our wedding weekend so easy for us! Everyone was organized, attentive and gracious to all guests and vendors. The florist commented how nice and helpful everyone was, saying that is not always the case when she arrives to decorate a venue.

Here are some standouts from our stay:

Jill and Patrick, thank you for your help organizing

Chef Dan + Ahmed, from our tasting to the reception dinner (and last minute popcorn for cocktail hour!!) the food was exceptional -- beautifully plated and delicious to eat.

Jason, the Doorman, was so helpful with our valet and all of our comings-and-goings

Stephanie, the Operator. Behind the scenes organizer and coordinator whenever I picked up the hotel phone for a need, she facilitated exactly the help I needed (even at off-hours). Her attentive hospitality made our stay so easy, even over the phone she was warm and personable.

Todd, our Go2 Guy. (I think my aunts are all a little in love with Todd now.) He helped us bring all of our wedding supplies up and baggage, and attended to all requests ranging from room upgrades to locating wedding gifts left at the front desk.

Elizabeth, Hostess at the Redwood Room, thank you for everything!

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank erinfD2785RQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gino Santistevan, Guest Services / Front Office at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2021

Dear erinfD2785RQ,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel and a huge congratulations on your recent nuptials! I'm so glad that you were very impressed with Jill, Patrick, Chef Dan, Abed, Jason, Stephanie, Todd, and Elizabeth's service and that they were all able to provide you with their warm and attention to detail service. Your kudos will certainly be passed on to them all. Also, I'm so pleased that your wedding experience with us exceeded your expectations. We were also so very excited to host your group as you all were our second wedding event post our $90,000,00 full hotel renovation. Again, thank you so much for sharing your special moment with us and we look forward to seeing you and your family again.

Sincerely,

Gino - Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2021

The Clift Hotel sits in a great downtown location and is central to everything in San Francisco. This newly renovated and relaunched San Francisco gem has everything you need. Starting with the arrival, we received a warm welcome and had a quick check-in. The hotel's safety protocols are best-in-class, and we felt safe and comfortable.

We had a 1-day business meeting at the hotel. The boardroom is state of the art with all the modern comforts and technology needs. The food and beverage were yummy; we will definitely return. The guest rooms are stunning, modern, clean, inviting, and comfortable. The suites are even nicer and very spacious, worth it if you're with family.

Room tip: High Floors are best, if you can splurge for a suite, DO IT!
Date of stay: September 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealTravelSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gino Santistevan, Guest Services / Front Office at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2021

Dear RealTravelSteve,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! I'm glad that you were very impressed your arrival experience and my team's service. Your kudos will certainly be passed on to them all. Also, I am so pleased that you appreciated all of our Covid safety measures and that you enjoyed your boardroom meeting experience. The brand new boardroom and its technology is part of our $90,000,000 full hotel renovation. Again, thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Gino - Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2021 via mobile

Just happened to walk by the famous and newly remodeled Clift Hotel in downtown San Francisco. Got a sneak peak inside by Albert. What a beautiful place!! What a fun guy! Definitely will check it out for our next trip. Can’t wait to have a cocktail in the Redwood room. Thanks for the quick tour Albert!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Meander55355168366
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gino Santistevan, Guest Services / Front Office at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2021

Dear Meander55355168366,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We're glad that you were very impressed with Albert's service and that he was able to provide you with a tour of my hotel. Your kudos will certainly be passed on to him. We are super proud to show off the completed work of our super recent $90,000,000 full hotel renovation. Again, thank you so much for stopping by and we look forward to seeing you again in either our world famous Redwood Room Bar or as a guest in one of our luxury rooms.

Sincerely,

Gino - Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2021

I'm so mad I didn't take pictures! We had a small suite with a pull out couch (kind of comfy To sleep on), small frig, complimenty on arrival water bottles, 2 closets (one walk in), two queen size beds, 2 tvs, super clean shower, and a very roomy living room. My son had so much room to crawl. We had a $100 Amex credit to use in their restaurant which was great for breakfast. Really nice portions, clean and friendly staff.
Albert and Todd at the front and valet were so great. Listen to their suggestions and tip well- They deserve it. Covid has made everything super clean and everyone working here has their guests' best interest. Great location and some parking lots available, valet was easier with a baby. Walgreens and starbucks across the street, union Square 15 min walk away, 28 mins walking to the giants stadium. Can't wait to come back!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gino Santistevan, Guest Services / Front Office at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

Dear Jade H.,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We're glad that you were very impressed with Albert and Todd's service and that they were able to provide you with his warm hospitality and attention to detail bellman service. Your kudos will certainly be passed on to both of them. Again, thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Gino - Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews