We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I had been reluctant about staying at a B&B until our stay at the Inn on Castro. The location was ideal for walking and public transportation. The room was very comfortable and the view out the bay window was beautiful. It was a joy to wake up to a delicious breakfast served by our host. At the communal table, we were able to meet other guests from around the country and the globe. I would highly recommend staying here to my friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 619 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

We were here for about six days. Could not be happier with the place and all that we got for the price. As other reviewers have noted, the breakfasts are truly outstanding. The owner/manager was very friendly and helpful, even taking the time to sit down and orient us with the area and the city on a provided map - this was my first trip to SF.
Also, the place is about 25 steps from the corner of Castro and Market, the heart of the Castro and the F line, which will take you right down Market Street to the Embarcedero (popular tourist destinations). We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My friend and I just returned from 5 nights here. We were overwhelmed with what a fantastic place this was to stay, and we both would recommend it to anyone wanting quality accomodation in the heart of Castro.
We wanted to be in Castro, and we couldn't have been any closer. The inn is ideally placed for public transport and taxis too.
Our room (The Brown Room) was really clean and comfortable with a mini fridge full of complimentary soft drinks, and a lovely brandy decanter on the side. The bathroom had a nice shower with red hot water and high quality tissues. Towels and linen were changed every day.
Jan (the owner) is a delighful Man, who puts on a superb breakfast, where you can sit and meet other guests, or chat to Jan about his vast knowledge of the city or any other subject for that matter. He's an interesting chap to chat to in general.
I am so glad I chose the Inn on Castro over slightly cheaper accomodation, as I feel its worth every penny.
I will definitely chose Inn on Castro for my next trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 44DavidC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I second the thoughts of other reviewers -- the location is great, the breakfast is incredible, the rooms are comfortable and include free bottled water, juice, and hooch. The wireless can be a bit spotty, but my rooms had ethernet cables as well. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I don't recommend the rooms in the basement -- not enough light makes it difficult to wake up. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

headline about says it all - no parking, clean space, but furnishings are very old (the blanket on our bed was fraying where sewing was coming a apart across all the trim), soap and conditioner in the shower, no shampoo; brandy in the room, free unlimited bottled water and juice. Proprietor was a bit odd (older-middle aged gay man, make not so funny gay jokes directed at us...).

The redeeming characteristic of this place is the breakfast - that gets an A+ both day (fruit, yogurt, cereals, gourmet coffees, AND three cheese omelet, french toast, poached eggs on Spanish, etc. Again, breakfast was VERY good.

Room Tip: more expensive rooms are obviously nicer and quitter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 231 in San Francisco
1,528 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,574 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#17 of 231 in San Francisco
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
996 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#13 of 231 in San Francisco
457 reviews
Mission District
The Inn San Francisco
The Inn San Francisco
#6 of 72 in San Francisco
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: RM 526 - RM 877 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Inn with 8 individually appointed bed rooms in an Edwardian Town house. Modernist interior with original Edwardian details. For 37 years. A full breakfast is served round a Saarinen table where you meet fellow travelers from around the world. Located at Castro and Market streets. With public transport connecting you to all the major places in the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing