We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in the Mission District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn San Francisco
Ranked #6 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The Inn San Francisco is a great B&B in the Mission District. The stately building is filled with the historic charm that I expected from a B&B but not over done.
My room (37) was roomy and nicely decorated. I loved having the windows open to catch the breeze...very nice for sleeping.
No air conditioning but it's not needed in the moderate temperature of SF. Also, no elevator so select your room on your interest in walking...I liked the 3rd floor which helped me get extra steps on my fitbit!
This is a quiet place to stay, best for adults and families with older children. There's a pleasant outdoor patio area with several seating areas just off the first floor and a roof top area that is accessible by a circular staircase with a bird's-eye view of the neighborhood.
The breakfast was a buffet of fruits, quiche and breads (both baked on site) and many other choices. Other B&Bs that I've stayed in serve a large sit down breakfast, which is fine, but I enjoyed picking what I really wanted at The Inn SF.
The staff at The Inn SF were friendly, helpful and attentive...Lenny gave me a map with the many restaurants within walking distance in the Mission District.
I look forward to my next stay at this B&B.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building are quieter so better for sleeping since you'll have the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2016

This Inn turned out to be an absolute delight for my wife and I as we had zero expectations going in. We were given a room on the mail floor that was clean, spacious and very well appointed with period pieces from the Victorian Era. So authentic yet with some modern amenities such as shower/tub and TV as well as WiFi.
The breakfast was over the top with Quiche, Charcuterie, Apple pie and more. Very European.
I highly recommend this Inn. The owner, Marty Nealy is very friendly and engaging.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Billochuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We came here for my husbands birthday celebration.This is a beautiful,one of kind bed & breakfast. Perfect location. Walking distance to Valencia Street. Gorgeous, true to the era decor and architecture. Large rooms. Gracious & very accommodating staff. Super clean, comfortable & quiet. Great library of San Francisco history/story books to read with classical music playing softly in the background. Fabulous breakfast of every variety you could dream of, including fresh home baked apple pie.
Great shower water pressure. Well loved private garden, including hot tub. Rooftop lounge and views!!!
Great place to recharge and enjoy everything San Francisco has to offer! Much better than staying at a hotel or air b&b. We'll be back! Thank you Marty and your sweet staff!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Slindsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Fresh flowers in your room, beautiful candle-lit breakfast buffet, late-night sherry waiting for you after a tour of San Francisco. We found this place about eight years ago, back when the Mission district was a little dodgy, but we were rewarded with Marty's out-standing hospitality, and the care and attention that goes into every detail. We've been going back once or twice a year since - whenever we get to SF. Love everything about the experience - very personal and welcoming.

Room Tip: Stairs are steep, so just first floor if necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pmjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Great atmospheric place. I like to come back here whenever I can. Always a pleasure to indulge in the scrumptious breakfast and the gentle accompaniment of classical music.
Rooms are well organized and the beds are to dream in :-)

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank comme_un_oiseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mermer89, Owner at The Inn San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Thank you for staying with us. Love for you to come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,578 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 72 in San Francisco
203 reviews
The Castro
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
The Grove Inn
#9 of 72 in San Francisco
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn San Francisco

Address: 943 S van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94110-2613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Mission District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: RM 869 - RM 1,256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn San Francisco is an authentic 1872 Victorian mansion bed and breakfast inn. The Inn includes 21 rooms and suites, fireplaces, a garden with a redwood hot tub, a roof deck with panoramic views of the City. We serve a generous buffet breakfast 7 to 11 am. The Inn SF is located on South Van Ness Avenue in the Mission District of San Francisco. Near the Valencia street corridor, Noe Valley and the Castro. Close to the 24th Street BART station and near several bus lines. The Inn SF is surrounded by dozens of wonderful restaurants and coffee shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing