We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Superb Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Ranked #15 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newmarket, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Superb Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We travelled to San Francisco in August 2011 and stayed at the Chancellor Hotel for a week. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and extremely nice. The hotel is situated in Union Square and is right on the cable car line so getting around the city is a breeze. We also ate breakfast at Luque's restaurant located in the hotel and it was reasonably priced and very good. We asked for a quiet room and it's exactly what we got, we heard absolutely no noise at all. If we ever come back to San Francisco we would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hercapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,760
    1,909
    327
    48
    18
See reviews for
576
2,648
337
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,071)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Conveniently located right in the heart of Union Square, this charming little hotel was steps away from a myriad of restaurants, cafes, shopping options, and all methods of public transportation. The trolley stop is about 10 steps away -- passing right in front of the hotel, on Powell St.; and the BART (subway train) is less than a 5 minute walk.

The staff -- from the front desk clerks, to the housekeeping, to the tour desk advisers, to the bartender -- were some of the friendliest people we encountered on our trip. And though the rooms were surprisingly small, the walls were thick and the room was quiet (other than the street noise, which was actually kind of soothing).

Another fun perk: free coffee, cookies, and apples 24 hours a day down in the lobby!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We are doing a round the world trip and staying in 5 hotels along the way. This was the lowest star rating but in fact from the moment I booked it until today (which is nearly 1 year on) this hotel has remained consistently as No 10 hotel in SF. Little wonder - it is in a perfect location so close to Union Square and with the cable car stop right outside. There has been lots said about the hotel before including small(ish) rooms, coffee in the lobby etc etc and it's all true so nothing I can add to that. For a first time (or repeat) visitor to the city this is a perfect hotel. We spoke with one member of staff who said that the owners have a policy of occupancy over rates and as a result the hotel is almost always full and they have never had to lay off staff. There are plenty bigger and more expensive chain hotels in the area and beyond but this hotel was a perfect base for us and we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the noise of Union Square then a room at the front would be OK otherwise we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shona-Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Thank you! I look forward to serving you on your repeat visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

The staff was excellent. We were in our room less than 15 minutes after arriving at the hotel. We had a couple of drinks in the small lounge. We had two different bartenders. Both of them were very helpful. Told us cool places to go for food and drink. The room is small but very cozy. Plenty large enough for a couple on vacation. The bed was very comfortable. The room had a huge bathtub. Now my girlfriend wants one that size at home. Location is perfect for whatever you want to do in the city. We will definitely be going back to The Chancellor.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

The Chancellor was a wonderful hotel to stay at for many reasons. The people there were very friendly and helpful. The location, right near Union Square, was perfect for us. It's an older hotel and although it doesn't have all the amenities of a larger hotel (room service, gym), the small rooms were clean and very comfortable. The price was very reasonable, which included garage space for our car.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jayala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#24 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Hotel on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Hotel on Union Square

Property: Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Address: 433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): RM879 - RM1,597
Hotel Class:3 star — Chancellor Hotel on Union Square 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION at the BEST PRICE...The Chancellor Hotel on Union Square is a historical, boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco where the Cable Car stops at the door step. Experience the best service and thoughtfull amenities while being surrounded by world class shopping, dining and theaters. From Union Square, ride the Powell Street Cable Car over Nob Hill, past Chinatown and North Beach, to Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chancellor Hotel on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing