We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good day”

Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Bike the Golden Gate Bridge: San Francisco to Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bike the Bridge! At Blazing Saddles Bike Rental and Tours we want our guests to come away from a day on our bikes feeling as if they have just experienced the very best that our city has to offer. Whether it is a local resident enjoying our state of the art equipment or a visitor seeing the city for the first time, we encourage our riders to enjoy the bike friendly environment of San Francisco. Blazing Saddles was one of the first in the industry to develop a proprietary map of suggested routes and points of interest, and we have been a major pioneer in promoting cycling through the Presidio National Park, over the Golden Gate Bridge and into Sausalito and Tiburon. All of our seven locations in San Francisco have easy access to a car-free bike path that winds around the city by the bay. We have the largest fleet of bikes in San Francisco, including state of the art electric bikes, tandems and kids' bikes. We also have high performance road and mountain bikes for those who want to explore Golden Gate National Recreation Area and Mt. Tamalpais State Park. We rent bikes 365 days a year and are open at 8am every day. For those that want something more, we offer a daily tour with a friendly and knowledgeable guide. No reservations necessary.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Brisbane Aus
Level Contributor
224 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A good day”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We hired bikes from Blazing Saddles so we could bike the Golden Gate bridge.
Staff were very accommodating and upgraded our bikes at no cost. They took the time to make sure we had comfortable bikes for the ride and that we understood directions.
The ride itself is 8 miles or 13 km. It is an easy ride for fit and experienced riders but as it has been 10 years since we had done any serious riding we had to walk the bike up some of the hills. For us we would rate the trip as moderate.
We caught the ferry back to SF.
One tip do not leave it until the last minute to board the ferry as there is a quota on numbers. We were fortunate to be the last bikes on and therefore one of the first bikes off.
The family behind us had to wait for an hour for the next ferry.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank BuckBrisbaneAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,725
    764
    259
    151
    271
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Unhelpful sales team”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Rude, obnoxious and unhelpful member of staff (the one with the beard). This review isn't of the cycling experience - which I'm sure is fantastic - but of a particular member of staff who put us of because of his attitude and poor sales skills. If he had made a but more of an effort and was friendly then we would have taken the tour. We decided to pay $40 for the return ferry (half the price of the bike hire) and walk to the attractions ourselves.

Helpful?
Thank czaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Day on Bikes on Angel Island!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We rented bikes for the second time from Blazing Saddles next to pier 39. The staff was professional, friendly, and extremely efficient. Last year we biked over the Golden Gate bridge with our 6 year old daughter and had such a memorable experience we wanted to bike again while visiting the city. This time we decided to take the ferry to Angel Island. Our expectations were surpassed - it was a scenic and relatively easy 5 mile ride. The best part is the island is off limits to cars so it is safe to ride and sightsee at the same time. Overall, one of our favorite things to do when visiting SF.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charles808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Rent a bike to bike the bridge!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

'Blazing Saddles' is one of several bike hire teams in San Francisco. I hired a bike to ride to and over the Golden Gate Bridge. This was a round trip of about eleven miles and was very exhilarating on a windy day. The route is mostly off-road and is very safe. A wide range of bikes is available including tandems and power-assisted bikes. My bike was well-adjusted and worked well. The hire charge was reasonable and the guys were very helpful is setting you up and sending you off. You meet a lot of other people on their bikes from Blazing Saddles all over San Francisco and the bay area. If you get tired, you can cross the bridge and return by ferry boat to Fisherman's Wharf and refreshments! A great half-day experience!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lungipiedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Yan, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I wish I knew about this sooner”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I visited San Francisco many years ago so were looking for something different to do. As we walked along the Embarcadero we noticed a number of folks on rental bikes and thought "that would be fun to do!". Our hotel directed us to Blazing Saddles on Powell Street with a 10% off coupon. We were quickly outfitted with bikes and they even thought about putting rubber bands around our pant legs. After a brief but thorough overview of the routes available we were on our way including ferry tickets if we decided to use them. We biked across the Golden Gate Bridge and did ferry back from Sausalito. The bikes were in great condition and very comfortable. There was a saddle bag in front for small items and a bike rack on back for larger items if needed. There were laminated maps and tips on top of the saddle bag that we referred to more than once. We are pretty active and thoroughly enjoyed the exercise from our ride. We would have biked further and maybe even kept the bikes for a couple days if we had know sooner. It's a great way to get around the city. Blazing Saddles even provided bike locks so you can stop and tour as you go. Thanks.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours also viewed

 

Been to Blazing Saddles Bike Rentals and Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing