We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Orchard Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$336
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$243
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$196
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Union Square(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hyatt San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$199
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$191
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
da Vinci Villa(San Francisco)
US$229
US$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Spero(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,947)
Filter reviews
2,947 results
Traveller rating
1,777
936
170
41
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,777
936
170
41
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscable carunion squarepowell and bushgreat locationtwo blocksgood sizelarge bathroomking suitestay there againboutique hotelpowell stfront desk staffstreet sidebed was very comfortablewonderful hotelsmall hotelcontinental breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,430 - 1,435 of 2,947 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We enjoyed a three-night stay here in August. We found the room to be outstanding, the customer service well above par, and the location to be ideal. We will try to stay here again when in the area. We found the lounge an ideal spot to relax in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petarandreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is fantastic and right in the middle of it all. The staff was kind, helpful, and personable at all hours of the day or night. The rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I liked the decor. The room was very comfortable. The door staff and reception were very friendly.
The tea and coffee making facilities were not sufficient. The small coffee maker worked fine, however, a tiny sachet of creamer was not enough. There were only two. I requested milk from reception. Was sent to the restaurant and was charged three dollars 50 odd for a small glass of milk. Wasnt overly impressed.

That aside, the location was fab. A cable car stop just on the next corner, the Union Sqaure shopping area, very close. China town in walking distance. Extremely comfortable bed. Bathroom was lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeCe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My stay at The Orchard was delightful, and I'd likely choose it again for my next SF visit. The room was very pleasant, fresh, and quiet, despite being in the downtown area. Bed was super comfy, and the bathroom spacious. Plush robes await in the closets. Breakfast room also very pleasant, though the service was slow (perhaps because a large group came in from outside the hotel for some celebration). Just a couple blocks from Union Square. For the environmentally conscious, you'll be pleased to find it's a "Green" hotel.

Room Tip: Chose an upper room to be sure it was quiet, given the downtown location, and it was.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAL11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed here a few days ago, as I was attending a conference in town. I agree with many of the comments made by other reviewers. Loved that this is a smaller hotel, with smaller corridors. The rooms are very nice and for the most part, clean. I found hair in the bathtub upon check-in which grossed me out. The bottom sheet on the bed is not fitted, nor is the mattress pad, so if you toss and turn even a little during the night, the bed becomes a big, uncomfortable, lumpy mess. And the sheets were very rough and scratchy. Low water pressure in the shower, and if you are taking a shower between 6 am and 8 am, don't expect hot water. The front desk staff were ok. I asked a few questions about the area and they couldn't answer my questions. The bellman/conceirge was busy most of the time playing wtih his iPhone. It was these little things when added up, led to my 3 star review, but most of these items can be fixed if management pays attention. However, the location is good and in a safe, comfortable, convenient location. And as a woman travelling alone, I felt perfectly safe going out after dark and walking down the hill to Union Square. And the trolley is only steps from the hotel on Powell St.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank OwensMommy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews