We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Okay Room”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #13 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Okay, I stayed at the Orchard during a HUGE conference at the Moscone, so I have no idea how their prices are generally, but the week I stayed it was _expensive_ and that colors the review a bit.

The room I had was nice - nothing special, but clean. Free WiFi, coffee in the room, all the things you would expect from a good SFO hotel. It's not a room I'll remember in a year's time... no surprises. It was pretty big, though, which I appreciated.

The thing that moved the hotel up to "very good" for me though was the staff. I have to say, you can measure a hotel by the doorman, and the one at the Orchard was *very* good. He remembered my name from the first time I met him and gave me a good recommendation for dinner; similarly, the front desk was helpful and efficient. I'd come back for the people, without a doubt. Never ate in the restaurant, so can't tell you much about how that is.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neutrino_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,354 - 1,358 of 2,861 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

We enjoyed a three-night stay here in August. We found the room to be outstanding, the customer service well above par, and the location to be ideal. We will try to stay here again when in the area. We found the lounge an ideal spot to relax in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petarandreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is fantastic and right in the middle of it all. The staff was kind, helpful, and personable at all hours of the day or night. The rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I liked the decor. The room was very comfortable. The door staff and reception were very friendly.
The tea and coffee making facilities were not sufficient. The small coffee maker worked fine, however, a tiny sachet of creamer was not enough. There were only two. I requested milk from reception. Was sent to the restaurant and was charged three dollars 50 odd for a small glass of milk. Wasnt overly impressed.

That aside, the location was fab. A cable car stop just on the next corner, the Union Sqaure shopping area, very close. China town in walking distance. Extremely comfortable bed. Bathroom was lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeCe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My stay at The Orchard was delightful, and I'd likely choose it again for my next SF visit. The room was very pleasant, fresh, and quiet, despite being in the downtown area. Bed was super comfy, and the bathroom spacious. Plush robes await in the closets. Breakfast room also very pleasant, though the service was slow (perhaps because a large group came in from outside the hotel for some celebration). Just a couple blocks from Union Square. For the environmentally conscious, you'll be pleased to find it's a "Green" hotel.

Room Tip: Chose an upper room to be sure it was quiet, given the downtown location, and it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAL11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,715 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: RM879 - RM1,910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing