We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
43
24
3
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
24
3
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nob hill daily maid service per day cable car timeshare exchange front desk union square great location the sofa bed each morning two blocks rooms are clean powell california cars sf accommodations
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Simply WONDERFUL... we were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived at how cozy and charming this bungalow is. LOCATION is PRIME, and this is right on the corner of the Powell and California Cable Car lines. The service is OUTSTANDING as we were greeted from a day of walking with beds made and dishes done and put away! Parking is about a block and a half away and a little pricey ($22 per day), but you get in and out service. Wifi is $20 for the week which is well worth the money. You also get a local newspaper at your door each morning (yes, including Sunday).

HIGHLY RECOMMEND that you ask for a room at the back of the hotel so you aren't hearing the cable cars and traffic all night long on this busy street. Also, ask for one of the four rooms with the patio. We had coffee and enjoyed some light reading every morning (we visited in July when the weather is a bit warmer).

Kitchen is limited with a small refrigerator, but it has enough to accommodate daily breakfast and some easy lunches and dinners. Cable TV is solid with Disney HD for the kids. Our teenagers slept on the pullout couch with plenty of room for them. The ONLY drawback is that the kids have to go THROUGH the bedroom to reach the bathroom. Soap in the bathroom is liquid, so you may want to bring a bar and shampoo (no shampoo provided).

The front desk is manned 24/7, and you leave your room key with the desk (classy). You won't want to carry it anyway as it is on a heavy brass keychain. There are plenty of little markets nearby to stock up on small, in-room meals for the week. Close to many San Francisco attractions and sites, and very close to the Dragon's Gate landmark in China Town.

We lucked into this little San Francisco oasis in Nob Hill! GREAT place to stay if you can score it in a timeshare exchange!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

The place is wonderful. At the lobby a kind and funny man will tell you great tips to go out and about the city. It is a very very functional mini-apartment, kitchen fully equipped and everything is clean. The details at the door: a rose and chocolates! The chocolates are delicious.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Evangelina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

I've been using timeshare for 30 years and this is a great place. High standard of accommodation coupled with good service. We had never been to San Francisco before and were delighted to find this place is right in the centre of things with a cable car stop outside the apartment. Hop on to go down the hill to the centre of up the hill and over to Fisherman's Wharf. A great location. Being on the main road does mean a lot of traffic noise especially the cable cars and often emergency services but we would highly recommend this place.

Room tip: A room on Powell Stree itself is best for atmosphere.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

The place is wonderful and very well located. Just be aware that one of the buildings has no elevator and if you are assigned a room on the upper floors it can be quite tiring to climb the stairs several times a day and more if it is with luggage since there are nobody to take them to the room. Everything else excellent.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabriel150812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

My first trip to San Francisco and staying in Powell Place Hotel. Great location, friendly and very helpfull staff- i was very pleased with Dianna and Oscar. They were great assistance and pleasure to talk to. Very clean room,comfortable beds, nice little kitchen with everything in it if you decide to cook a little to save some money on eating out.NO Elevator to my room on 4th floor- but no complain from my side- i need to walk and loose weight anyway. Close proximity to cable car stop, China town, shopping area, wallgreens with nice selection of fresh food and bakery. I would definitely recommend that place.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alenka4691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews