We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lied about room but still no refund”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #88 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 August 2017

I booked a one-night stay for me, my wife, and our 17-year old daughter. The facility is hard to find and does not look at all like a hotel from the street (which is not a big deal; just worth a mention). When I went to check in, I was greeted by Jason at the front desk, who confirmed my reservation, took credit card details for incidentals, and gave me the card keys for the room.

After taking the tiny elevator (for those who are at all claustrophobic), we entered our room to find it was a one-bedroom suite instead of the two-bedroom suite we had booked and prepaid. I immediately went down to the front desk and spoke with Jason, and showed him the itinerary confirming we had booked and paid for a two-bedroom suite. Jason said "oh, you booked through Expedia," and then said that Expedia describes the room we were given as a "two-bedroom suite" because the sofa folds out into a queen-size bed and there is a separate bedroom. Although I was fairly certain that Jason was lying, it was late, we were tired, and my wife and daughter said not to make a big deal of it.

After we returned home, I verified that there are indeed two-bedroom suites as well as one-bedroom suites, and there is a significant price difference of sixty bucks per night between the two. I immediately wrote to both Expedia and the hotel group, but over seven months later have not received a refund.

Room Tip: Make sure they don't lie to you about the room you booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank jeffs92651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2017

When you book it and you get a confirmation, a surprise is waiting for you. Sorry we don't have the room for you due a leak and pluming work!!! We have relocated you to our sister hotel. It's a scam hotel and they sell rooms on other hotels!!! YOU ARE SCRWED know your rights

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank trooper426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights and a great central place to use as a base.
Close to harbour, bike rental (use Alcatraz bike tours - brilliant), trams stop right outside, short walk for breakfast and good choices to pick from.
Restaurants a short walk away and a good selection too. 20 minutes stroll to the Italian area.
It also has a good roof terrace looking out towards Alcatraz and harbour.

Couple of down sides. One, the walls aren't that well insulated so hearing noisy neighbours with less consideration than others could be an issue.
Two, the pull out sofa bed needs replacing. It's knackered and broken.

Would I stay here again. Definitely yes.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Great hotel! Very specious, clean. It is a bit outdated but didn't bother us.
We enjoyed making our own food.
The parking lot is very little - but once you get it the first day you have it till you leave.
Be very specific if you consult with the Concierge unless you want to buy tours or spend your day on sales & promotion. (I didn't - so I stayed very specific)
The roof balcony is beautiful! We took our breakfast there - was Great!!!
Will stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank 2301michal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We stayed at the 2bdr as we are a family of 6.
The hotel was a great surprise for us as we had no high expectations, however, employees are very friendly, we got parking in the hotel for the entire 4 nights. Location is awesome and the top floor terrace is super.
If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place for you, however, if you look for a clean, good size room with very helpful staff and perfect location this is the place for you.
I would definitely come back if we will visit in SF again.

Room Tip: We stayed at the 2 bdr at the 3rd floor, was good sized, well equipped and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eylon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirard...
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
700 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites at Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 2655 Hyde St, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: RM1,215 - RM2,404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites at Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24 spacious suites, The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf is the perfect choice for discriminating travelers who want to leave their heart in the heart of San Francisco. The spacious suites offer you comfortable one or two-bedroom floor plans, each tastefully appointed with the furnishings you’d expect from a sophisticated San Francisco hotel. The intimate ambiance of the property is evident in features like the fountain in the lobby, and the private balconies and patios available in selected suites. Located next to the Hyde Street Cable Car stop, you’re just a short stroll from the sensory pleasures of Fisheerman’s Wharf, or the turn of the century ambiance of The Cannery, Pier 39, or the undersea secrets of the Aquarium of the Bay. This lyrical city by the bay will take you wherever your imagination allows, and The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf San Francisco resort is the perfect place to begin your journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suites at Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Fishermans Wharf
At Fishermans Wharf Hotel
Suites Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing