We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views but food not memorable”
Review of Alioto's

Alioto's
Reserve with OpenTable
Alioto's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #162 of 5,796 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$19 - US$38
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Cross street: Jefferson & Taylor
Transit: Cable Car, Muni
Description: Alioto's Italian Seafood Restaurant is located in the heart of San Francisco's famed Fisherman's Wharf overlooking the historic fishing fleet and the Golden Gate Bridge. The Alioto family has been serving the freshest local seafood, authentic family recipes, the oldest/original Italian Seafood Restaurant on the Wharf, started by Nonna Rose back in 1925. The restaurant features a warm ambiance with a 3-tiered dining room offering every guest stunning views of San Francisco Bay. Don't forget to try our world-famous Nonna Rose's Cioppino and Dungeness crab, always fresh. A trip to Alioto's is more than food, it's a trip through history to the oldest family owned and run restaurant in San Francisco, boasting the best views and best seafood on the Wharf.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The views of Fisherman's Wharf from our table were interesting. We enjoyed the restaurant environment and the pleasant service but unfortunately the food was mediocre and the lobster which was the reason why we visited this restaurant, was quite tough and 'old'. Such a pity. Need to review the freshness and cooking techniques of lobster and crabs.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kitten16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

i assure you kitten 16, we do not serve "old" food. Perhaps you should have expressed your displeasure to one of our managers on duty. I'm sure they would have made your meal right. Please give us another try and email me at marketing@aliotos.com to let me know when you might like to dine with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 1,851 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visit Alioto's every visit to San Fran. A dinner reservation gives you a view of the sunset and the Golden Gate Bridge. The service is top notch and the menu is full of great choices. I enjoyed the Risotto Alioto which was sooooo good. We had the Alioto calamari appetizer which was good, but did not leave enough room to eat as much of the Risotto as I would have liked. Lisa had the tri fish (three) meal and each fish was beautifully prepared and presented.

The wine selection is good and all the restaurants have excellent sourdough bread. Dinner at Alioto's will either make or save your day. Old world charm abounds.

Thank gasteve41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Thank you gasteve41 for writing this wonderful review and sharing it on TA. We really appreciate all your compliments and hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The view...amazing. The service... firat rate. The wine...devine. The Cioppino? Oh my gosh! The cioppino is world class! They could not possibly fit more seafood in that bowl!

Thank Cyndy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

Our portions are overflowing, and I'm glad you were able to dine with us. Please come back and visit again. Ciao.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Thai wife and I wanted to experience an old fashioned seafood meal at Fishermans Wharf. We hadn't done any research so after having a look around the location, our instinct drew us to this restaurant.

We were quickly seated upstairs and enjoyed the experience of an knowledgeable, helpful and attentive server and some really great food in an authentic old style atmosphere. Nothing disappointed except when we finished dessert and knew we could go on. We chose our appetizers and entrees to share and range across a variety of seafood. The creme brulee at the end was one of the better desserts I've enjoyed over the years.

The price was very reasonable although admittedly we did not have alcohol.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BoganInParasite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

What a great review BoganinParasite! After almost 93 years we'll be here when you decide to come back and have another "old fashion seafood dinner." Our menu does offer traditional as well as trendy. Thank you for your wonderful words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Aliotos did not disappoint. True Italian seafood and atmosphere. Solomon, our waiter, was excellent. Beautiful views, great food and ambiance.

Thank NTaylor7300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

You made my day NTaylor7300. Solomon is one of the best! Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alioto's also viewed

 

Been to Alioto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing