We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fitzgerald Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$338
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$242/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$188
US$177
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$250/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chancellor Hotel on Union Square(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cova Hotel(San Francisco)
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$283
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$386/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$142
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hyatt San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$239
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$269/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$143
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 51% below average rates

The price you found is 51% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$280/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
64
120
112
64
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
120
112
64
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallairport shuttlefresh fruitblocks from union squareironing boardbudget hotelpowell stlocation was perfectelevatorcityshampooubercaliforniachinatown
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Arrived late afternoon, Melvyn said gave you an upgrade, wow the room small, what was the other room like. Tele did not work , so waited in for repair man, all sorted pretty quickly. Good nights sleep, coffee machine and ironing board etc. Very helpful staff. Breakfast make yourself, a variety of toast, cereals fruit, all good. Good location, even though room was small would stay again. Funny thing is we went up 2 floors in the lift but our bedroom window was on street level.. this is San Francisco !!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21casper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel was cheap for San Francisco and the price included a buffet breakfast, but I would not choose to stay there again. The rooms were small and quite shabby. The en suite was tiny but the water was hot and clean towels, shampoo and conditioner were provided. There is also free Wi Fi. Overall this is probably a good place for students or people on a tight budget to stay

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Wantage98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

My husband and I stayed here three nights at the end of June. For two nights we were on the third floor in a very small room. Very small. There is a double bed, with a nightstand on each side. There is a small TV, microwave, and small refrigerator. A path to walk around bed. Put suitcase in small spot where door opens. Bathroom is also small and after we flushed the toilet once, the tank didn't refill. I checked to make sure water was turned on. It was. I refilled tank with water from bathtub and then told receptionist before we left in the morning. It was fixed when we returned. Also, there is not air conditioning. At first this was suprising to me since we could not survive without it in TN; however, the windows were open for air and with the mild temps in SF (even in June), we were fine. My husband did step out into the cooler hall a time or two. The third night we were there, they moved us to the ground floor. (The room we were in was already reserved.) They told us that room would be cheaper but that it could be quite noisy. We decided to stay there anyway. This room and bathroom were much larger. You could hear noise from the street and from the lobby, but with the ceiling fan going and our sleep machine, it didn't really bother us. I could hear the lobby phone ringing for a while during the night, but overall, I preferred the space of this room over the first cramped, quiter room. The receptionists were friendly . . . I saw someone else use the word "gentle." I think that's a good word. They almost seem bored, but not in a rude way. They're very pleasant. The breakfast was nothing much. We ate it the first morning--bagel and cream cheese and coffee. The next two mornings we went out to eat. The hotel is in an excellent location. So, not fancy,but for the price we paid in comparison with other hotels, I was pleased. Not ecstatic, but satisfied. I personally would stay here again. We took an Uber to the hotel, but used the Shuttle Service ($11 a person) to get back to the aiport.

Room Tip: ground floors are noisier but roomier
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TennesseeTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

If you're looking at the cheaper rooms as an option to save some money, be careful!! We stayed here for three nights as part of a road trip across California and opted for one of the cheaper rooms to save some money. As we weren't paying for one of the best rooms I wasn't expecting to be impressed, but what we got was awful. Our room was right next to reception and the noise level was absolutely appalling - you could hear every single word that was said by the receptionists and people passing through the lobby all night long. The beds were incredibly uncomfortable, the room was tiny and the fan was practically falling off the ceiling. We complained the next morning and to be fair to the hotel, they did move us to another room on the second floor. However, the manager never spoke to us in person about the complaint. Instead, I had to chase the receptionist three times to get something sorted out; not the best customer service. The breakfast was also sub-standard. Fruit isn't replenished, it isn't clear where the cereal is and there aren't any pastries/continental options.

On the plus side, the location is good - it's easy to get public transport to other areas of the city from the hotel - and the room was pretty clean.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again. We stayed in motels for other parts of our trip and found them to be more spacious, comfortable and welcoming for about a quarter of the price.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

The hotel is a short walk from Union Square which is centrally located in San Francisco. The high end shops and Macy's are here along with scattered restaurants. The double decker open topped buses commence their round trip 2-hour tours from Union Square as Stop One. The hotel is a short walk from Powell Station which is directly on the line from the international airport. It was very easy and cheap to catch the train and we were able to roll our cases about 5 blocks, two up and three across from Powell Street station. The rooms are small, the bed wonderful. The hot water for showering took about 4 minutes to come through. If you like to be waited upon, this is not for you. If however, you are happy to overlook luxuries you can save quite a bit of money to go out and spend! How much time are you going to spend in the room anyway? The included self serve breakfast was good; fresh fruit salad, porridge, toast, a variety of different bagels and jams, coffee, tea etc. The staircase and old fashioned gated lift are a reminder of the past, and a bit of fun. The free wi-fi was good in our room on the fourth floor. The management were most accommodating allowing us an early check-in after a long and tiring flight from Australia. They may not always be able to do that. All in all if you can overlook some minor flaws you will be happy here. We were :)

P.S. Across on the corner, Honey Honey Cafe. Good "basic staples" and home style, burgers, sandwiches, pasta, salads, soups and crepes!

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank Yogalover9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews