We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location and facilities but hotel lacking charisma and attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #32 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A Citizen of the Globe
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very good location and facilities but hotel lacking charisma and attention to detail”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is my third stay at the Nikko hotel in San Francisco in the past 10 years and I can say that the hotel still delivers a great location, unobstrusive service and very good hospitality in general.

The affluence of asian visitors to the hotel is notable and so is the hotel's Japanese heritage. In everything from the hotel's restaurant (ANZU) and the room furnishings, you can sense the Japanese quality flair.

The hotel, however, has not greatly evolved and under new management changes recently, probably should refresh very soon. Some details tell the age and lack of attention to detail quite dramatically, such as the torn (and sewn) drapers, the 1980's sound system and closet doors, for example.

The experience sums up as positive in great part due to the prime location, a few steps away from Union Square, Market St and many other relevant places in town.

This is the kind of hotel where service goes unnoticed and happens behind the scenes. You almost never bump into service people, however, service is conducted impeccably.

The quality of the food is very good, but probably not the best Japanese/Asian that one can find in San Francisco, and of course that will always be a challenge in a city with so much Asian influence and so many gourmet alternatives.

The hotel's fitness center and pool are a highlight and very good to excellent.

The lobby lacks charisma and sense of belonging. It transmits the ethos of an empty office lobby or train station, not much to see, do or enjoy. It could have a vibrant bar scene if it wanted, but for some reason it is kept eerily empty.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. Lower floors can be noisy in this part of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ultraplur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,582
    1,395
    438
    133
    94
See reviews for
590
1,372
237
905
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The hotel is in a great location. It is walking distance to shops, restaurants, trams and buses!
Do not worry about the location of it!

The room was very clean and modern and had your basic hotel amenities.

The only thing that may have made my experience at the Nikko Hotel would have been the staff at check in. It was our first time in San Francisco - the staff didn't offer any maps etc and when asked if they could recommend a place to eat, the staff member directed me to concierge to ask such a simple question that she could have answered herself.
I'm not one to complain about little things like this but one negative point like this almost made me forget about the positives.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaql33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear JaqI33
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Nikko. I apologize that your greeting wasn’t as warm as you wished. I have passed your review on to the Front Desk so that they may learn from your experience. Our goal is to have five circles in all areas and your comments help to make our operation better.
Sincerely,
Nikko Gal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel as a recommendation from my coworker. I read alot of reviews about the boutique hotels in San Fran and personally I didn't want to run into issues with room temp, water not working, or dinginess. Hotel Nikko was beautiful. The rooms were comfortable (had a double) and the bathroom was actually really nice and big. Concierge outside was awesome in getting us taxis. The lounge, Anzu, was pretty cool... decent, kind of quiet when i went but I had a cucumber martini after a long day and it was great! The location was prime as the Powell St trolley is a block away, taxis everywhere, and the shops of Union Square are ALL around you. The cons is Union Square has alot of homeless people; they werent an issue but its sad to see so many.

If you want to read my experience at San Fran and see pics of the places I visited and ate at please read my blog at www.smileclickkeep.blogspot.com. My Day 1 included North Beach, Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, and more!

Hope you found this helpful! :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristelleC650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Christelle C.
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. We are so glad that you enjoyed all that we have to offer. ANZU is known for it's fantastic martinis. they really make winding down in the evening a breeze!
Come back and visit us soon!
Sincerely,
Nikko Gal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed in San Francisco with our three kids (13, 9, and 6) for five days over President's Day weekend, and Hotel Nikko was the perfect place for us to stay.

I booked an Imperial Club Queen-Queen room via AAA, which is the best deal you'll get at this hotel. We had free daily breakfast and afternoon wine/snacks in the Club lounge, free Wi-Fi, free rollaway bed, and free access to the health club/pool for about $310/night (plus tax).

The room was wonderful -- on the 23rd floor, in the corner, and very quiet. Roomy enough for a twin-bed rollaway to fit. The Club level rooms are bigger, which is one of the reasons we upgraded. The furnishings are contemporary and the colors are soothing; slate blue/white/dark wood/neutrals. All the usual stuff for a pretty nice hotel room: iHome alarm clock, flat-screen tv, double-layered light-blocking drapes, large bathroom with separate toilet room and shower/tub room. You can even watch tv on the bathroom mirror :) There was a complimentary fruit platter and large water bottle upon our arrival, and nightly turndown service includes little chocolates.

Breakfast: You actually get a couple of breakfast choices; either the free Continental one in the Club lounge, or use the two daily passes for brunch at Anza, the restaurant downstairs. The first morning we all ate at Anza because we got to the Club lounge within 5 minutes of closing, and the guy was already putting everything away. Anza has an expansive, varied brunch buffet, which included Japanese-style breakfast items (e.g., miso soup, rice, etc.), as well as the usual American-style items. The brunch is normally $25pp, but my husband and I ate for free with our passes, and the kids' buffet was $10pp. Not too bad. The next few days my husband took the kids to the Club lounge for breakfast (they eat fast!), then brought them back to the room, where they watched a couple of cartoons while my husband and I went downstairs to Anza for the full brunch. Nice for us to get a little quiet time before a long busy day gets going, now that our 13 yr old can watch the younger ones for a bit! And you get two brunch buffet passes per night, per room, so you may as well use them.

Pool: Very nice heated pool in a large, heated atrium. Kids loved it. The only problem is the VERY slippery tiles all around the pool area. Holy cow, I almost busted my head open! The kids were sliding around, too, whether barefoot or in flip-flops. Hotel Nikko, please upgrade/change those tiles soon, before someone really gets hurt! There is also a small Jacuzzi there, which I enjoyed.

Lobby/atmosphere: The lobby is nice, the staff friendly, the place is high-end all around but not fussy; more modern. There is a Starbucks in the lobby; always a bonus!

Location: We did not rent a car, so location was crucial, and this place was awesome. 1.5 blocks to the Powell St BART and cable car stop. MUNI stops everywhere. We only took a taxi once (other than the ride from/to OAK airport).

Recommend: If you are going with kids, I highly recommend the CityPASS. What a deal! It just turned out that everything we wanted to do was part of the pass -- for some cities it is not that way at all. We made huge use of the unlimited MUNI (bus) rides and cable car rides.

Would definitely stay here again, with or without the kids.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cashmyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The hotel was beautiful. I stayed for business for 3 nights and 4 days. The rooms were well appointed and the bathroom was very nice. The rooms were cold and it took forever for it to warm up even with the thermostat at 75 degrees. I didn't get a chance to try out the restaurant but the room-service was good. The bar had seasonal drinks and provided us with a good place to chat and hash-out strategies in a lively environment. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. My view had a construction site across from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emcayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,678 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
2,935 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#17 of 229 in San Francisco
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,212 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#20 of 229 in San Francisco
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Property: Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Address: 222 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): RM1,023 - RM2,582
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to Hotel Nikko in San Francisco, where personalized service meets cutting-edge style. Our hotel is set in the heart of the city, just steps from Union Square shops and restaurants, making it the ideal destination for both business and leisure travel. Our four-diamond rated property features 532 guest rooms and 22 suites, each with pillow-top beds, high-speed internet, and a wealth of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing