We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A French experience in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #25 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
347 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“A French experience in San Francisco”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Having been in Paris in October 2011, I was amazed to find this french themed hotel in San Francisco. It is simply a great hotel in a very convenient location near the Market and Powell Cable Car (just metres away) and near Union Square, Chinatown and just a ride from Fisherman's Wharf. This is a great spot to wander around San Francisco and enjoy the sights. The hotel is very comfortable, the breakfasts good and the hosts extremely pleasant and very accommodating. A pleasure to be in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    654
    122
    41
    30
See reviews for
222
896
105
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We booked this hotel on line as a one night value stopover before a flight. We were pleasantly surprised by its unique style and customer service. In particular we liked the little oriental lady who served our breakfast with such lively enthusiasm and friendliness. The surrounding and decor are worth a look if you are into shabby chic with a medieval French twist in the basement restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steviewarnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had dinner at the restaurant in this Hotel, Oct. of 2011 and enjoyed it very much. When we decided to visit San Francisco again this Feb. 2012, we decided to stay at the Hotel. We chose to use their weekly special, which included breakfast and dinners. Rooms are comfortable, not large and radiators do make noise, but we very much enjoyed our stay and are planning another visit this coming Oct.

The staff is very friendly and helpful at all times. Jose Rivera was very friendly especially helpful with any of our needs.

Location is excellent for all transportation needs and one restaurant we wanted to try was only a block away. If you are looking to try a great French Rest. "do" Rue Lepic on Mason and Pine.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kaalake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontoise, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I've chosen this hotel primarely for its location. Close to Union Square at walking distance from anywhere (SFMOMA, Port, Chinatown, North Beach) I wanted to go. The hotel is in an old building 30m away from a stop of the cable car (Powell) and I've been outstandingly welcomed. Jose has been a treasure of good informations. About where to have a drink or dinner, but as well to organise my trip to Napa/Sonoma. The deco of the hotel is incredible. Lot of little objects, sculptures, tools to build a French ambiance around Jeanne of Arch (the owneress is from Orleans) and middle age. The room was confortable and old style (I loved the fan on the roof). Jose kindly proposed to keep my main luggage while I was on the wine trip. Last misadventure when getting back to the airport... While repacking my stuff, I forgot my passport, and Jose found it at the time I was arrived at SFO. As it was short to do the return trip he met me at Powell subway station to save my time and give me a chance to get my flight, but too late. Consequently I won another night in the penthouse and another evening in the beautiful SF. Many thanks again Jose!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank asevaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The hotel itself is charming at very nice located- few blocks from Union Square, Chinatown and just near cable car stop so basically close to everywhere. Included in price is breakfast with two options to choose as was stated below however there are also possibility of have cereals with milk. The only problem is that the breakfast opens on 8:30 weekends so when somebody has a trip booked it can be too late.
The staff is very nice and friendly, in the lobby there is a computer when boarding passes can be printed. The whole hotel has free wifi. The reception closes at 11 pm however they give a key to main door. In order to check in late, the only thing to do is to ring to the door and somebody will give room key. The rooms seem to be small however as a European I'm used to it. I will definitely stay there during my next trip to San Francisco!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alxandra_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,158 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
2,749 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#51 of 228 in San Francisco
1,608 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 228 in San Francisco
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Property: Cornell Hotel de France
Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): RM682 - RM1,519
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing