We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,663)
Filter reviews
3,663 results
Traveller rating
1,002
1,293
870
336
162
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,002
1,293
870
336
162
Show reviews that mention
All reviews urban tavern cityscape bar union square huge hotel busy hotel lobby bar homeless people tenderloin district central location top floor few blocks the golden gate bridge cable car market street public transportation fisherman's wharf conference
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 3,663 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

What I expected is what I received. Hotel is well located & an easy walk to many attractions / areas, room was clean & modern, if a little small. TV size was great. Food and beverage facilities were reasonable. A little pricey though probably to be expected for location.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia G, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Thank you for your review, Jason! We're very happy that you enjoyed our convenient location and clean rooms. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Easy check in process - you can check in on your phone if you have the app, though you still have to see a representative to verify your identification. It’s a big hotel. They have lots of amenities - a large fitness center below the lobby, an outdoor pool and hot tub on the 16th floor of tower 3. There is a bar at the top of Tower 1 that has beautiful views of the city (open daily from 5 - 11 pm). There is a bar in the lobby as well, and also a quick market that’s open until midnight and sells a variety of items including prepared food, hot food, desserts, and beverages (including alcohol!). The room itself was basic but nice - two double beds and a tv with cable. It had a small fridge and air conditioning. There are several rental car companies within a block. There is parking but it is expensive overnight. We were able to Uber to many locations within 10 minutes. I would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Rquinn09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia G, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you especially enjoyed our amenities, clean rooms, and stunning views from Cityscape Lounge. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights. At checking the ladie (normal counter side) was barely understandable as she was open mouth chewing her chewing-gum and spitting while talking . Not welcoming at all, not professional, and gives you directly the impression that she doesn’t care! Although we are both Hilton Honors Gold members: maybe they stopped training their employees at this Hilton. The location of the hotel is good. However, the place is getting really old (especially the rooms). The offered breakfast is only pastries and juice according the receptionist: so booked breakfasts at restaurants nearby. Watch for unwanted people around and behind the building. Not very reassuring to walk around the hotel sadly.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank abmaubeuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia G, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

We're very sorry for your disappointment with your stay. Thank you for sharing this feedback, which we take very seriously. We hope to have the opportunity to Make it Right in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

We had 2 nights with twin rooms a double and a double double, nice rooms,comfortable beds, nice staff, excellent city.......so why spank hotel guests for snacks in the bakery/ deli? $22 for a sandwich, $10 hot dogs? cost me $72 for 4 hot dogs and soft drinks crazy city/ crazy prices!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank medzPNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia G, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

We're happy that you enjoyed your family trip, and especially our comfortable Hilton Serenity mattresses, clean rooms, and attentive staff. This said, we apologize for your frustration with the prices, and we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

First we had over an hour long queue. No one apologised. No one offered a drink as you stood for over an hour and even when we finally checked in there was no acknowledgment of the horrendous wait. The room was pretty compact but the bathroom was ok. Door staff were attentive and always polite. The roof top pool was nice though people hogged the jacuzzi for an hour so we couldn't get in.Plenty of towels provided though. Room had a coffee machine but why they only provide horrid paper cups in a higher end hotel I will never know. The worst thing for us was the view from our room - straight out onto Skid Row. Looked like it was the gathering spot for all of SFs homeless and my daughter found this really distressing. Sf is VERY hilly if you struggle with mobility you will find walking around hard. Also there was no where but Subway to buy cheap food. A single apple was a dollar and a half. Got very expensive after 4 days.

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank JDC272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia G, Manager at Hilton San Francisco Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

We're very sorry for your disappointment with your stay, and we hope to do better in the future. We appreciate your helpful feedback, which we will take into serious consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews