We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$399
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$222
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$220
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$240
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$356
US$269
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$228
US$195
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$258
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$389
US$269
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$458
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,428)
Filter reviews
6,428 results
Traveller rating
2,940
2,418
740
200
130
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,940
2,418
740
200
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe view loungem clubthe concierge loungegreat locationunion squareconvention hotelmoscone centertop floorlarge hotelbusy hotelcorner roommarket streetbusiness triplobby barbart stationper daycable car
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 6,428 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018

This is a wonderful centrally located downtown property, within walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, and the Embarcadero. The rooms are very nicely appointed, and quite spacious. The staff are friendly and attentive.The hotel has a variety of dining /drinking options, and an incredible View lounge on the 39th floor with killer views of the city skyline. Top notch fitness center, and the best member lounge ever! I highly recommend this property for anyone who wants a high level Marriott experience in SF

Room Tip: If you can get an upgrade, you'll be very happy with the size and layout of the suite.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank a2grand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear a2grand,

Thank you for recommending the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. We believe a well-appointed room along with the amazing service and facilities sets the tone for a wonderful visit, and we are thoroughly excited to know this was your experience. Your recommendation is truly appreciated, and we look forward to your next trip in the near future.

Chris S.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

it's older version of Marriott in SF, and if you need quiet place, this is not the place, hotel is just old and need major renovations.

also in terms of safety, I don't like it when anybody can take the elevators up or down to the rooms, there are so many people in the lobby area that you need to be careful about your belongs.

Room Tip: ask for view rooms
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank masonsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear masonsf,

Our goal is to provide a comfortable stay and we are sorry your stay was not peaceful and that we weren't able to fix the issue to your satisfaction on this visit. Thank you for your business. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to show you our excellent hospitality.

Chris S.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

The Marriott Marquis is fantastic. One of the best locations for a hotel in San Francisco. Big hotel and always busy. Super friendly staff who are always helpful and have plenty of knowledge about what to see and do around town. Rooms are big and very comfortable. Lobby is always busy and sometimes queues for check in but the staff always make you feel welcome and never rush you. Excellent location and a great city

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

You cannot be better located in the city. Steps from the museums, convention center, Union Square, and Market street. The rooms are all unique in this Art Deco designed building, and the staff are sincerely friendly and helpful. I only wish they still had the swimming pool, which was converted into a greater sized modern health club.

Room Tip: For Marriott Rewards members, the Concierge lounge is one of the best!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

I had a good two nights at the Marquis. The staff were extremely friendly. I got a 4:00 PM checkout upon request. The M Lounge was excellent with good choices for breakfast and the evening service. Hotel is around the corner from the Powell Street BART station---extremely convenient trip to or from SFO or OAK if you are traveling light. Cable car is within a couple of blocks. My only complaint is that the internet service dropped out a lot.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wilcox73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews