We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$296
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$329
US$217
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$249
US$242
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Alise San Francisco - A Staypineapple Hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$370
US$287
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$365/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$229
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chancellor Hotel on Union Square(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$329
US$296
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$397
US$330
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (6,665)
Filter reviews
6,665 results
Traveller rating
3,068
2,488
757
213
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,068
2,488
757
213
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe view loungem clubthe concierge loungegreat locationunion squareconvention hotelmoscone centertop floorlarge hotelbusy hotelcorner roommarket streetbusiness triplobby barbart stationper daycable car
Filter
Updating list...
421 - 426 of 6,665 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018

The hotel staff was very friendly and made us feel comfortable upon arrival and during our stay. The SF Beer Week in BIN 55 was great fun! The conference was located in this hotel so it was very convenient. The only minor issue was the line in the restaurant in the morning for coffee/yogurt etc. Even though you can order online and pick up, very few people do that so there's a line.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank croos2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Spent holiday weekend there with my adult daughter. Over all, it was quiet, clean and a great location. My comments might seem picky but it's stuff I like reading when trying to pick a place to stay. ~ There must have been a cheer event going on at the convention center. What that meant was little kids everywhere and the downstairs/lobby restaurant never empty. That restaurant is just off the front doors and it was cold the entire time. The doors are automatic sliders and always, always seemed open. Always a breeze blowing in; granted it was a cooler weekend but the wind through the restaurant was awful. People dining with their coats on. I noticed personal heaters on the front desk counters warming the employees!!! ~ The room was fine; on 20th floor but no views. No bathrobes but ample towels. Our room was missing it's hairdryer and we had to request/wait over 30 minutes for delivery so check the back of your bathroom door when you arrive to see if it's there. Coffeemaker in room was nice and there is also a safe in closet. Windows will open a bit for air thankfully because our windows faced west and it heated the room. The a/c is not 'on' at this time of year -- it's still heat so even at a 60 degree setting, you are getting 'warm' air. It never cooled our room down. So we froze in lobby but were hot in our room! The location is convenient. We took BART from SFO and it was super easy and a short walk to hotel. Market St. is very touristy. Dining options around hotel are a bit limited and there were always lines. Maybe b/c it was a holiday weekend but overall we found less options meant longer lines everywhere. The bar on the 39th floor had great views but again, we could not get a table. Sat on a bench and waited over 20 minutes for a server to come to us. Another 10 minutes to get our drinks. Employees all over property were very nice including front desk, restaurants, housekeeping and concierge. It's a very busy property with a lot of rooms.

Room Tip: West facing rooms will get lots of heat in the afternoon! Keep your shades closed!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, General Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear T S,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for your comments regarding your stay. We were happy to hear that your room was clean and our location was convenient for your visit. We hope you will accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced with the hair dryer missing in your room and the temperature being difficult to control. We have shared your concerns with our team, and we will make adjustments to improve our processes to provide great service every stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Chris S.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Hotel is quite large and is older, but I had a nice quiet sleep on the 19th floor, with a comfortable bed - which is my primary review criteria. I am a platinum, and stayed 91 nights in Marriott's last year alone. The bathroom could use an update, but everything was clean, shower pressure was good, etc. Towels could use an upgrade (I prefer newer and fluffier)...but again were clean and functional. Definitely no complaints. Centrally located downtown with easy access to Powell St BART, Union Square and so on. Check in was easy and efficient, plus very pleasant, despite a 1:30 am arrival due to a delayed flight. It's definitely a very good choice for San Francisco. Value was good on this stay (I paid under $200 per night) but SF can get wildly expensive depending on events and so on.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SKimo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear SKimo26,

Thank you for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your accommodation and for sharing your review. As a member of Marriott Rewards, we appreciate your loyalty to our brands. It is a pleasure to read you had a wonderful stay with us and were pleased with all the aspects of our hotel along with our convenient location. Reviews such as yours mean a lot. Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Chris S.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Marriott Marquis for 3 nights. Our room in the 14th floor had a great view, was quiet, and clean.
From the moment we arrived we were treated so well. The staff is great!
The hotel is near the Powell Street station, and is centrally located near food, shopping, transport, museums, etc...
The only negative for me was our shower tile. The grout needs a redo or the shower could use new tile all together. The positives so out weigh grout...

We enjoyed The View bar/restaurant, for the view of course.

I will stay at the Marquis again! It was great!!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank RadicalBMXers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Stayed here during a convention - so it was close to the Moscone and convenient to attend. But the hotel is so well situated for any stay in San Francisco - 5 mins walk to Union Square and a lovely walk to Fisherman's Wharf etc. The room was very comfortable, the beds and pillows are super super comfortable, and the check-in and the cleaning staff were delightful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 68F is a good temperature to set the air-con.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mibelaguilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews