We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$127
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/10/21
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$150
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
Expedia.comUS$127
Priceline
Destinia.comUS$170
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveller rating
209
306
145
63
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
209
306
145
63
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed japan town queen suite van ness pacific heights hotel restaurant fisherman's wharf cable car japantown neighborhood california fillmore uber
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 790 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2021

Every once in a while you find someone who is so exceptional at their job you just have to watch them in awe. Hotel Manager Amit anticipates every need, then finds a way to go above and beyond to fulfill it. Of course the hotel is spectacular, room 407 is a once-in-a-lifetime (more accurately once-in-an-afterlifetime) experience, and the price is a bargain, but Amit's way of quietly delighting you with a respectful, professional demeanor is something to see.

Date of stay: June 2021
Thank ssdkof
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 June 2020

If you are looking for the ambience of a San Francisco hotel during the early 20th century, this is the place to go. The decor is warm, cozy and charming. Their restaurant was terrific. Definitely would stay there again.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Destination203489
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 June 2020 via mobile

I have been staying at Hotel Majestic for many years for many reasons. The hotel is in a glorious historic building and is family owned and operated. It is located in a perfectly safe, clean neighborhood within walking distance of great shopping, dining (Fillmore). Management is always helpful and courteous and exemplifies old world hospitality. I visit San Francisco often and will only stay at Hotel Majestic.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank stephth0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2020

The hotel was well located for most things and staff very pleasant and courteous. The hotel itself is quite interesting and has some history attached to it.
We were in a party of 4 and this was our first stop at the beginning of a tour around California. We were quite impressed with the main reception area and the bar area adjacent which seemed to ooze character.
We were very disappointed with the room allocated to us which seemed well used and poorly furnished. The other two in our party were allocated a far better room than we had, however we all paid the same. The complementary coffee pods needed to be requested at reception every day as the service staff seemed not to bother replenishing this daily. On one occasion I was asked if I wanted to come down to reception to pick up the coffee (6.30am) We had a table-top fridge perched on a table adjacent to our bed which had to be unplugged each evening before retiring to bed due to the noise. The bed was,however quite comfortable but it was so high off the floor you almost needed a boarding ladder to climb in.
The bathroom was tired and previous attempts to give it a make-over seemed poorly done, and having consideration for the environment the wash hand basin did not hold water. Doesn't make any sense of their promotion towards the environment as displayed on the laundry cards. (Some basic Maintenance) Especially when California suffers drought.
After reading some of the other reviews it is almost as if we have been staying in another hotel!

We only stayed there for three nights as we were moving on but think we would have had a different outlook on our stay if we hadn't been stuck in a poor room.

Room tip: Check other rooms within your price range on arrival before accepting the one allocated.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MindandMork
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 February 2020

I really enjoyed the stay. This was my third stay at this hotel each of my stays the rooms have been unique, very comfortablle and a real feeling of the City. Staff very friendly and helpful, room exceptionally clean and historical.

I travel a lot on business stay in may hotels this is one of my favorites!

I really need to bring my wife here for a weekend getaway I now she will love it..

Room tip: corner room on the upper floor (5) you get a better view and a really good feeling of old San Francisco
Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank fuelingpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2020

Hello there, thank you for leaving us this review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and choose us when coming to the city. We take pride in knowing we have accomplished our goal of making every guests stay memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warmest wishes,
Hotel Majestic Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews