We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location, not so nice motel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenwich Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Greenwich Inn
Ranked #171 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, not so nice motel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed here for three nights and this was without a doubt the worst motel we stayed in during our three week vacation in western USA. At arrival the manager wasn't very motivated. The room we were assigned to, was located on the 2nd floor.

Some bad things about this place:
Carpet in the room was very dirty
Bed was very wobbly
Shower wasn't clean
Towels were late twice (5pm)
Refrigerator was noisy
Some drinks from the vending machine where beyond "best before date"
One day we had brown water coming out of the faucet

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ademan_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    64
    72
    32
    34
See reviews for
42
101
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
widnes uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We had no problems here at all,even though i am smoker and it was all non smoking rooms,i could smoke on the balcony with no problems (Yes I know you are not all smokers out there,same as my husband,but it means a lot to us smokers !!)
Anyway!!!,by the by !! all in all it was a great place to stay we where there for 4 nights a great district,with coffee shops and resteraunts all around,and easy walking distace to catch the bus to other places in the city including Fishermans Wharf and Union Square. The first day we arrived we walked to the Marina it took us about 20 minutes,Fishermans Wharf is then about another 30 mins walk.
The room its self was very good although the bathroom was a bit small,but it had a walk in shower ( no bath,for all of you out there who like to have soak !!) there was a fridge in the room,iron and board,and also a hairdryer,-essentials for us women !!-
All in all a good place !! hope you enjoy.

Room Tip: Was'nt bothered by anyone at all,good clean rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Pretty good value. The location is near to some sights, including the Golden Gate bridge. If you come by car, this might be a good choice for you. The rooms were clean, staff was actually nice. There are a lot of nice restaurants nearby. Nothing special though, but you wouldn't regret it if you want to save money in San Francisco.

It was pretty cold at night, I didn't know if there was a heater - you should probably figure that out before you book.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herbert_eins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Easy to walk to various points of interest and neighbourhood felt safe and friendly. Lots of restaurants nearby. Free parking and relatively cheap rates. A good base for a few days in San Fran.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cat2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm springs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed here again, and it was just as before, 59.00 per night, free parking, just a good place to sleep...after all when in S.F. you don't stay in your hotel all day!.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#168 of 229 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#108 of 229 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#135 of 229 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#86 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#181 of 229 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Inn

Property: Greenwich Inn
Address: 3201 Steiner Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price range (per night): RM651 - RM1,155
Hotel Class:2 star — Greenwich Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Greenwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel San Francisco
Greenwich b&b
Greenwich Bed Breakfast
Greenwich San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing