We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No horror stories here”
Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #70 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 October 2012

A great hotel with great front counter staff and superb housekeeping staff. Sean provides the best recommendations on where to eat. We stayed here twice, once in late August and again in late September and found the location ideal to explore the other neighborhoods from. Its also an easy walk along Sutter Street to the CBD and to Chinatown. The rooms are large with good beds and bathrooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear Snouter,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about our hotel with us and the Trip Advisor community. I'm pleased to hear that you truly enjoyed our hotel that you stayed with us a second time! We are delighted that you enjoyed our accommodations, service, location, not to mention, all the great restaurants and cafes around the area! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 556 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

I liked this hotel very much. The theme and decor were quirky and gave it a funky feel. It is well located centrally. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and whilst there was no bath, the bathroom was well appointed. Staff were generally polite. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Anywhere - it was quiet even on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Griffboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear Griffboy,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest very soon!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We booked the hotel after reading some reviews and because it seemed to be in a nice location. We loved it! The basics where great, good bed, shower/bath, plenty towels, nice modern look, quiet! Even though the hotel is located so central we loved that is was so roomy. Wide hallways, big lobby. And we really loved-loved-loved hanging in the lobby. The guys are fun to hang out with, gave us very good tips to go for dinner. They made our holiday fun. Great work. We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: The guys at reception know the area, ask them if you need any advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel-a-lot76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Travel-a-lot76,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are so pleased to hear you say that you "loved" our hotel, we love you for saying that! Thank you for feedback about how much you enjoyed the acommodations of our hotel, the amenities, our lobby, but most importantly the warm hospitality provided by our Front Desk Hosts.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest on your next visit to San Francisco!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Vertigo for 4 nights 14-18 September 2012. Very pleased with our choice of hotel. Excellent location - just 5-10 minutes walk from Union Square. Hotel was clean and decently priced (for San Fran which is very expensive!) and room was spacious with a good bathroom. Only downside, like most hotels in California you struggle to get English tea!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank YorkieMule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear YorkieMule,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our acommodations during your four-night stay with us. I will definitely bring up your comment about providing English tea with our Hotel Manager, we'd love to be one of the few hotels in California that offer that amenity!

We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to San Francisco, thanks again!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Overall: Very pleasantly surprised and left the hotel with the best impressions! The hotel had a design feel which I really liked. Some elements of the design like the porcelain dogs I found tacky but hey! Star rating: The hotel was sold at Expedia as a 2.5 star which I felt was a bit of an under estimation. I think the hotel deserves a 3star - not more.
Rooms: My room was nice and spacious with really cool design features. Loved the baroque mirror - was kinda cool. My room was bigger than my friend's room though and had more of a design feel so something tells me not all rooms carry the same style. Bathroom was smaller than other hotels but was fine for one person! Bathroom comes with a hairdryer and room also features a safe and iron/ironing board.
Location: Good and within walking distance to Union Square and Market street.
Staff: Really pleasant and fun to talk to. When I asked some of them a question like directions or even a taxi though they were a bit confusing.
Gym: Really good for a hotel gym with lots to keep you occupied! Mineral Water and towels are supplied.
Vending machines: If you need a snack or soft drink you can head to the ground floor for a refill

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexPtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear AlexPtraveler,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, the service of our staff and our proximity to Union Square and Market Street.

We hope to welcome you back to San Francisco in the near future!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
2,374 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cova Hotel
#102 of 230 in San Francisco
1,189 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
723 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: RM560 - RM1,553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing