We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$176
US$156
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$334
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$233/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$212
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$236
US$229
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$364/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$245
US$211
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$261/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$322
US$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$325/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$261/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hyatt San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$199
US$189
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$297/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Zephyr(San Francisco)
US$239
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$266/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$229
US$214
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,552)
Filter reviews
1,554 results
Traveller rating
469
719
262
60
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
719
262
60
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshitchcock filmunion squaresutter streettenderloinceiling fanwalk in wardrobefew blocksdecent sizeflat screen tvfree coffeestayed here for nightsdesk staffpublic transportfisherman's wharfcable cararound the cornerhomeless people
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 1,554 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017

It is only a few blocks from Union Square, very well located. Rooms are good, a bit small in our case since we were four but we managed perfectly. All in all, a good choice. Also, the hotel is the original building that appear in Vertigo movie, which is always on in the lobby!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silviaoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Silviaoxx,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Vertigo and for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope you will join us again soon for another wonderful experience.

Best regards,

Nick
Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco
for Hotel Vertigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We had a perfect stay at Hotel Vertigo in July, the room was perfect, spacious and spotless with a fun quirky interior and a lovely comfy bed! Although the booking is room-only they have a complimentary tea and coffee station in the morning to get you set for the day which was great! The location is perfect and our trip was made even better by one staff member in particular... Greg! His friendly positive energy and helpful knowledge of where to go and what to see made our stay perfect, thank you we will return!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear Annie P,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Vertigo and for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We pride ourselves on creating a memorable experience and are pleased to learn that our team members, Greg in particular, were successful in achieving this with you.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us, and we hope you will join us again soon for another wonderful experience.

Best regards,

Nick
Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco
for Hotel Vertigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We were very pleased with the size and condition of the room. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. The hotel is located 3 blocks from the California line of the trolley; and the #3 bus practically stops in front of the hotel (both can be ridden for free with a MUNI-PASS). It is also about 2 blocks from one of the stops for several of the Hop-on, Hop-off tours.

Two things to note. First, our room had a ceiling fan and was not air-conditioned. It was fairly warm while we were there, but the fan was enough to keep it comfortable. Second, they have discontinued the nightly wine hour. Neither of these would keep us from going back in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Arvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Arvid,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to San Francisco, thanks again!

Best regards,

Nick
Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco
for Hotel Vertigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Does not look great from the outside but inside it is clean and comfortable. Rooms are a little small but the bathroom was a good size. Staff was helpful when we asked for extra towels and changing linens. Union Square is about 7 minutes by foot but there are many restaurants around the area.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nbeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Nbeca,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, as well as the hospitality of our team. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to San Francisco, thanks again!

Best regards,

Nick
Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco
for Hotel Vertigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We were very pleased with our stay - we are a young family with two children. The room was of a good size and kept very clean. All staff that we came across were very pleasant and were very helpful with advice on our plans for the day. In fact, they were probably the best hotel staff we came across in our four weeks in terms of genuine politeness.

The hotel is not far from Union Square (but far enough to skip the crowds and resulting noise) and easily walkable with plenty of food options nearby. We felt safe in the neighbourhood. We were able to walk most places that we wanted to see from this hotel, or alternatively it is a straightforward walk to the cable car stops.

The room had a window that could be opened, which after a month of not being able to do so, was literally a breath of fresh air!

This was our last stop in the US, which we had been in for a month. This was only the second hotel where we were given the correct number of towels for the people booked in our room in each day.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a stay in San Francisco.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Alexandra M,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is a delight to hear that you and your family enjoyed our accommodations and hospitality of our team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next trip to San Francisco!

Best regards,

Nick
Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco
for Hotel Vertigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews