We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dizzy from the heat”
Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #69 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The Vertigo Hotel is an interesting place. The staff is very nice and informative. The decor of the hotel is vintage and reminiscent of the "Vertigo" era. It's centrally located and it is a great launching pad for visiting all parts of San Fran.

We fell in love with San Fran, and look forward to our next visit.

Unfortunately, I can not recommend this hotel in the summer. Yes, San Fran summers are mild, but the building housing the hotel retains heat, and there is no ventilation.

There is a small ceiling fan to moves a modest amount of air. The hotel brought us a second fan, which we deployed in front of the window, in hopes of pumping in cooler air at night. The staff was understanding and seemed genuinely concerned.

But, we literally had to cover ourselves with wet towels to tolerate the room. Even after the heat wave broke, and two days of temps in the 70s, the room was still unbearable and resulted in a miserable experience.

I would implore the owners of the hotel to face reality (global warming and more "heat" are in your future) and either install AC, or at a minimum create a meaningful ventilation system, to allow adequate air flow.

The ball is in your court.

Meantime, stay at the VERTIGO in the summer at your own risk, as I plan to avoid.

Room Tip: Avoid during the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uncwfuvcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear uncwfuvcu,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality of our team during your stay and had an overall pleasant visit to San Francisco. We do apologize that you had a less than satisfactory experience during your stay with us, especially during this past weekend's record breaking heat wave. As you mentioned, San Francisco's climate tends to be mild, even during the Summer, which is why dozens of San Francisco hotels such as ours built in the early 20th century do not feature AC units; in addition, structural and engineering regulations per the the City and County of San Francisco make it a difficult feat to achieve. Thank you again for your feedback!

Best regards,

Nick
Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco
for Hotel Vertigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Check in staff were so helpful and cheerful. We arrived quite late and was promptly checked in so we could do rest. The room was spacious and very clean. Shower cubicle was spacious. Toiletries included. Not the best of locations in San Fran but by far not the worst either. We enjoyed the walk to Fishermans Wharf. There's a hop-on-hop-off bus stop fairly close too. Great value for money

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Kate G,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Vertigo during your recent visit to San Francisco. We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience with us and are delighted to hear you enjoyed our accommodations as well as the excellent hospitality provided by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to San Francisco in the future!

Best regards,

Nick
Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco
for Hotel Vertigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

As a recommendation from our travel agency we chose The Vertigo for our SF stay. And it was a good recommendation!
The reception is helpful, friendly and has absolutely reliable information at hand (thanks again to Greg for everything!).
Our room was spacious and well equipped. There are enough power outlets and USB charging options, so none of your devices will ever run out of power.
The bathroom is very nice and was apparently newly renovated.

While the hotel itself doesn't offer breakfast (but very good complimentary coffee in the morning), you'll find a nice little coffee shop just across the street and several small stores just 100 meters away.

Due to the location, you'll reach Union Square within a few minutes of walking, the cable car is also close and Hop on bus stations only two blocks away.

It was a pleasure staying there and we can absolutely recommend this hotel!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A_Kroppenstedt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear A_Kroppenstadt,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Vertigo. We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations as well as the hospitality from our team members, especially Greg! We thank you again for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to San Francisco very soon.

Best regards,

Nick
Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco
for Hotel Vertigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Spend 3 nights here. Good location, 5 min walk to Union Square, heaven for shopping (macys, westfield, blooming dale). Size is moderate, very clean, wifi speed is good. Great service when we check in and check out. Very friendly. Even they let us check in at noon when room is available. For dining and breakfast, so many alternatives around from papa john pizza to new fusion liholiho that you need to reserve one month in advance :-) we ate at muracci's for best chicken katsu curry. We take uber everywhere. From airport to hotel $34, fishermen wharf $10, golden gate welcome center $15.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Edison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Edison D,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel Vertigo! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations as well as the hospitality from our team members. We thank you again for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to San Francisco very soon.

Best regards,

Nick
Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco
for Hotel Vertigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

For the Hitchcock buff, this is a place to stay. Like the retro design in the room, which is spacious, bright and clean. They screen the movie vertigo at the lobby and if you are lucky, the same room as the movie was shot. I was at the same floor. Very comfortable place. Just on the same block and next block serve good breakfast and coffee.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank kth777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear kth777,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us. We are especially delighted that our hotel's movie history was brought to life, if you will, during your visit. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Best regards,

Nick
Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco
for Hotel Vertigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#88 of 230 in San Francisco
2,381 reviews
Cova Hotel
#98 of 230 in San Francisco
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
747 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: RM551 - RM1,585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing