We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hot room”
Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #69 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Hotel vertigo checks most of the boxes. The location is nice in SF which makes it simple to get to many tourist destinations. The rooms are fairly modern and nice, with a comfortable bed. The biggest issue (and what stands out the most) is the lack of air conditioning. Our room was an upper floor that faced the sun and got very hot during the day -- regardless of what we did with blinds/leaving the window open. We really weren't even able to comfortably stay in the room until it cooled off around 9pm. Called the front desk to complain and they just advised us to turn on the ceiling fan (really small and not effective) and leave the windows open. It was surprising that a hotel at this price point would not have AC.

Room Tip: avoid rooms that face sutter street and the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bes88882017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear bes88882017,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations. We do apologize that your stay was less than perfect due to the weather. San Francisco's climate tends to be mild, even during the Summer, which is why dozens of San Francisco hotels such as ours built in the early 20th century do not feature AC units; in addition, structural and engineering regulations per the the City and County of San Francisco make it a difficult feat to achieve. Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope you return to San Francisco in the future.

Best regards,

Nick
Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco
for Hotel Vertigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Correct hotel, quite well located but don't choose a room near the lift as it is very noisy, especially on 7th floor. It even became more noisy the 2nd and 3rd night.. we should have asked a quiet room...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CCh74350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear CCh74350,

Thank you for sharing your detailed review. We are sorry to hear of the disappointments you experienced during your stay and will be sure to share your feedback with our management team so that we may continually improve our services for our future guests. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Nick
Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco
for Hotel Vertigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We stayed one night in vertigo . Room was beautiful, small mix up with booking , error was from booking .com , as we were 2 couples only 1 room booked , but never the less , staff were helpful and soon sorted this out .
Rooms beautiful , mini bar very expensive i.e. Chocolate water well over priced .
A good central point for getting out an about.
Bed very comfortable and bathroom facilities very good .
Parking available at a price which is the same all over.parking is secure and about 2/3 mins down the road.
Would highly recommend this .hotel named after the Alfred Hitchcock film and the famous staircase is there to be seen.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear jacqueline B,

Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! We are delighted to hear that our team made things right for you at check in to insure an enjoyable stay for everyone! We hope to welcome you back to San Francisco on your next visit.

Best regards,

Nick
Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco
for Hotel Vertigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We enjoyed three great nights at this 'Alfred Hitchcock; themed Hotel Vertigo with its bright, quirky decor. The friendly welcome and efficeint service made our stay very enjoyable. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed and we found the location to be great - walking distance from Union Square, the theatre district, China Town and lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westernmeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear westernmeggie,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest on your next visit to San Francisco!

Best regards,

Nick
Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco
for Hotel Vertigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Recently back from a 4 day stay at Hotel Vertigo. Great hotel in a central location for everything, China Town, Union Square etc. Lots of streets to explore nearby also. Easy check in and straight to our room which was of a decent size for what we needed it for as we were out all day and so only to sleep in. Free tea/coffee every morning in reception and used the Cozy Café across the road for breakfast every morning, very busy place but always got a seat, great little find. We also used Papa Johns pizza one night and had great pizza there, but always found somewhere to eat and drink. The hotel was really clean, the staff were friendly when we spoke to them and we never really heard any noise while we were there. check out was easy, no hassle.

We used the tram to get to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39, again another great way to get round San Fran and still plenty to do.

A great hotel for what we needed and again not far from all the sights we needed to see.

Would definitely stay here again if we visited San Fran again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Hotel Vertigo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear shawzys,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Vertigo during your recent visit to San Francisco. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time during you stay with us! We will also agree with you about the Cozy Cafe, it is truly a neighborhood gem!

Once again, we thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to San Francisco.

Best regards,

Nick
Haiyi Hotels | San Francisco
for Hotel Vertigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#88 of 230 in San Francisco
2,380 reviews
Cova Hotel
#98 of 230 in San Francisco
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
744 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: RM473 - RM1,587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing