We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe it shouldn't be called a resort.”
Review of Almont Resort

Almont Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gunnison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Almont Resort
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Not bad at all. Clean bed and bathroom. The cabins by the river all had fire pits and barbecues. We fished the river, with no luck, then had a campfire and with a couple of beers. I could see how this would be a great spot for a weekend hunting or fishing trip. Once you get back to your cabin all you would have to do is walk to the lodge for dinner and a beer.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2016

For rustic guys weekend to bike up in CB and Gunnison this was a great base camp. No frills, place to sleep shower check out the stream. Had a good time, grilled or ate out in CB. No AC, but got cool once sun went down. Noise from road can be loud but we were so tired it didn't bother us.

Room Tip: Very rustic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TeamUSMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015

From first phone call to check-out, the service was great. Was given a super rate for myself and two friends. Stayed in "cabin" more of a house #24 A and B. Very comfortable and clean. Greeted with warmth of gas fireplace upon entering house. Yes, more coffee mugs, mixing bowls would be nice, but we were provided paper goods and toiletries which usually are not provided in rental cabins. Cleanliness and great rate and efficient staff are important to me. Thanks, Harold and Cassie.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank sunseeker1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

This is really more of a hunter/fisherman cabin than a "resort" cabin. However, it was clean. Here are the pros and cons of our experience there:
Pros
Clean cabin and bedding
Really good food and service in the restaurant!
Full bar with sports on the TVs behind the restaurant
Wifi in restaurant
Pleasant maid to switch-out towels, etc.
Fire pit & charcoal grill & picnic table at cabin

Cons
No TV in room (this may be a plus for some wanting to really get away)
No wifi in room
No kitchen in the cabin we had - although we did have a microwave, mini fridge & coffee pot
Our room had older, not-so-comfy mattresses
No place to set or hang anything on in the bathroom - bare bones.
If you order a spirit "on the rocks" in the bar, you will be charged extra because a "rocks pour" is a bigger shot. Good to know in advance.

I would recommend this place if you know what it is going in. The location is absolutely beautiful. A little pricey for what the cabin was, in my opinion, but not an unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Pros: Comfortable bed and a roof over our head.
Cons: Our cabin was right next to a very busy road. The interior was very worn, light shown from under the doors, no hangers for clothes, nails sticking out of the walls (one in a very precarious spot when getting out of bed in the middle of the night), the kitchen pots and pans have seen better days, no decent sized bowl to make a salad in, or even a colander if you wanted to are pasta. The towels and wash rags were worn and some were even thread bare. Good thing we had good weather and we could be outside during the day.
We were told there was maid service....this turned out to be, daily trash removal and towel exchange....nothing more.
We ate at the restaurant Friday evening so it was all you could eat fish fry dinner. The problem being, we got one hush puppie each, and when we asked for another one, we were told, the all you can eat is only for the fish...really?? I asked for soup, and never received it, but it did show up n the bill, along with a charge of $1.25 or $1.50 for rocks that my husband had ordered when he asked for scotch on the rocks. Needless to say we disputed both, they got taken off after a lengthy explanation that rocks mean you get a bigger pour. Have never heard of that one before. We didn't go back for any other meal.
The people who run the front desk were practically nonexistent, meaning they were not available to talk with. When checking in, my husband had to ask questions about what was offered, and so on, nothing was volunteered, not even where our cabin was. The few times we tried to talk to someone, they were either not there or on the phone, and attended to us while on the phone. So we had no way of complaining about the conditions. The amount they charge per night is much more than what this 'resort' is worth.
When I went to return our cabin keys the day we left, there was no one at the desk, and the waitress just yelled across the room, just leave the keys at the desk, seeing I said we checked out the night before. So, we never got the opportunity to say how we felt. I did write a similar letter to their website, but have not heard a word back from them.

Don't go here looking for a resort, or for anything above a hunting cabin with bare necessities.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms on the restaurant side of the road would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BetzKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gunnison
0.3 km away
Three Rivers Resort
Three Rivers Resort
#1 of 1 in Almont
140 reviews
14.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Gunnison
167 reviews
13.9 km away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#6 of 12 in Gunnison
191 reviews
15.0 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 12 in Gunnison
96 reviews
14.9 km away
Quality Inn Gunnison
Quality Inn Gunnison
#9 of 12 in Gunnison
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almont Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almont Resort

Address: 10209 N State Highway 135, Gunnison, CO 81210-9601
Region: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Gunnison
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most of our 15 cabins and 5 vacation homes are riverfront or very close to the water. We accommodate couples, families, corporate retreats and other larger groups. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing