We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Ann Arts and Cultural Center
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful tour

I brought my 95-year-old mom for a tour. she was amazed! She even had to climb to the choir loft... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
caroltG9999IP
via mobile
Little known Gem in Rhode Island

We were intrigued when we saw a mention of St Ann Arts and Cultural Center in the newspaper. We... read more

Reviewed 6 September 2021
Xaj41
,
Aspen, Colorado
Read all 87 reviews
  
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
77
6
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
77
6
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful church hidden gem former church our tour guide french canadian new england frescoes europe sunday marble volunteers joe interior chartres chairman parishioners pulpit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2021

We were intrigued when we saw a mention of St Ann Arts and Cultural Center in the newspaper. We live only 45 minutes from Woonsocket and thought it worth checking out. So glad we did! It’s hard to Believe that this church’s frescoes, architecture and stained glass windows are a such a hidden treasure in our state! The experience would have been so much less without Joe, an EXCEPTIONAL guide and lovely person.
Please note that the Center is a secular and entirely volunteer effort. Cheers to them!!✌️

Date of experience: September 2021
1  Thank Xaj41
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2021

Absolutely wonderful! Truly a hidden gem! We live about twenty minutes from Woonsocket and had no idea what we were missing. Upon walking into St. Ann Arts and Cultural Center we were in awe. The stained glass windows, the architecture, and the frescos are beautiful and mesmerizing! As our volunteer tour guide shared the history of this building it was very clear how passionate he is about preserving this structure. Hopefully it will be around for many years to come. It is very well maintained and survives on donations. We have every intention of sharing our find with friends and family. One of the best afternoons we've enjoyed this summer!

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2021

A few Sundays ago, 2 family members and I took a tour of this amazingly beautiful site. Our guide, Joe, was very knowledgeable and informative, including the stories behind the lovely frescos. He was personable and took the time to answer our many questions. We highly recommend this wonderful historical treasure!

Date of experience: July 2021
1  Thank RottyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2021

WOW! Had no idea this place existed. Thank you to Channel 5's Chronicle for re-airing the episode. The staff were friendly and passionate about sharing the history of the building and advocating for its preservation. The story behind the paintings, the architecture, the building materials, and the local history will be enjoyed by all. By all means -- visit and put a few extra dollars in the donation box. And then head to the downtown area for a great lunch by the river!

Date of experience: July 2021
1  Thank mariagX4976DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2021

A national hidden treasure. This is one of the most amazing USA churches you will see, very comparable to the elegant ones we have seen in Europe.

Woonsocket is "on the way" to many other regional tourist hotspots, and easy to get to via state highways.

I thoroughly enjoyed the tour guide, who like the very small handful of others keep this place running and doing it all on volunteer time. The guide provided great background and history to the many frescos on the walls and ceiling. (He only works Sundays, but I'm sure the others are just as good). They can tell you who were the inspirations for many of the faces in the paintings and stainglass.

Now that this church is, well, no longer a church, you can even walk on the alter area.

There is no other church like this in the US - it truly has the largest collection of frescos.

They are operating on donations, but keep this place in amazing shape. Easy to get to, convenient parking. Give yourself time to look at a huge number of paintings on the walls.

Date of experience: July 2021
1  Thank denisw604
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews