We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place !”
Review of Jack of the Wood

Jack of the Wood
Ranked #88 of 737 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Established in 1997, Jack of the Wood is one of downtown Asheville's first and oldest pubs. We have numerous local craft brews to try, and are now serving a fresh menu of artisanal sandwiches like Philly cheesesteaks, Classic Rueben sandwiches, Pub Burgers and more! Our Bluegrass Jam on Thursdays @ 7pm, live local music Friday & Saturday @ 7:30pm, or every Sunday is our Bluegrass Brunch from 12:30-3pm! Sláinte!
Reviewed 3 April 2020

Jack of the Wood is one of Asheville’s first, and continues to be one of the best brewpubs in the area much like a real British Pub !

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Soccermike1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2020

Food is ok, but the entertainment is so much fun! We were there when locals were playing. They were really good and made our evening enjoyable. Fries with cheese and bacon were good. Burgers were ok but nothing special. Lauren was good server. What makes this place stand out is the nightly entertainment.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020

I use to walk through Jack of the Wood as a kid when visiting Asheville because my dad was always amused by the stairs between it and the vegan restaurant above. Now, as an adult, I truly enjoy eating here because the food is amazing and they have local beer. On my last visit I got the nachos which were the best nachos of my life. We went back on this visit so I could get them again but they are only served after 9:30PM. My husband and I decided to try some appetizers to share instead and we got the vegetarian bread spread and the pretzel with cheese. We also got a flight with 4 local beers - Green Man of course because of the affiliation, then a Ginger's Revenge and a Tart Cherry Cider. The food was really good and while the beers other than the Green Man ESB weren't amazing, it was fun to sample them in the flight. This is definitely a restaurant we will continue to visit!

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Tiedyesunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2020 via mobile

Went out with some friends for drinks and food. Two of our party of four arrived early. It took awhile to get drinks (and it wasn’t late so no crowd yet). Me and my friend had almost finished our drinks by the time the other two girls arrived. It had taken so long to get drinks to begin with, and our waitress never came back to ask about their drink orders, so when she finally did, we told her we were closing our tab. She asked where we were going, and when we told her, she said “good luck with that “. I will not be going back there.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Christy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2020

We decided to stay in Asheville on our drive down to Florida. Of course, we needed to find some place to have dinner. While in the Visitor Center, I notice an poster for Jack of the Wood, saying they had a Live Music Showcase night. We were not disappointed! Friendly staff, great food, good beer list, fabulous entertainment.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack of the Wood also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Jack of the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Malaysia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.