We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location at an excellent price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newbury Guest House
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This was my second visit to this guest house and I wasn't disappointed. We had a slight problem when checking in but it was dealt with very professionally by Bianca. Within no time we were settling in to our room. The room was spacious and clean. There is no tea/coffee making facility but it's not an issue as there is complimentary coffee in reception. The big bonus was a safe in the wardrobe that is free and very easy to use. Very handy for iPads and cameras etc. there is also a complimentary breakfast that is extremely good and very tasty. If you are looking for an inexpensive superb location close to the shops and park then look no further...there is even parking if you need it

Room Tip: We stayed at the back on the third floor which was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank betsybeaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 289 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

A lovely boutique hotel, in the heart of the iconic Newbury Street. We had a large room, with a great king-size bed. Very comfortable. Breakfast is a treat too, with bacon to die for. Fresh coffee is always available in reception, whenever you need it. A perfect location for all the shops, bars and restaurants in the Back Bay area. I would recommend staying here over one of the bigger hotels downtown everytime.

Room Tip: We had one of the bay rooms, overlooking Newbury Street. Not at all noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We just spent 6 nights at the Newbury Guest House. The Hynes Convention Center is a short block (5 minutes or less) away. Boston Common is about a 10-15 minute walk. The setting of this four-story hotel is wonderful. Newbury street is loaded with boutique shops and restaurants, and it's close to the Copley T (Boston's subway) station---in fact, we bought a one-week T pass ($18) and took the T from the airport to the hotel. The room had a comfortable bed, a small refrigerator, and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was roomy and had a shower with a half-size tub. There was not dresser in the room, but the closet had shelves. There's a table with two chairs, no desk, and one other padded chair. The hotel offered a free hot breakfast daily (scrambled eggs, English muffins, pancakes, yogurt, tea, coffee, juice, and cereal) and free Wifi. The Wifi signal was consistent and strong. The lobby is a comfortable sitting room with a fire place and lots of books and magazines. The staff was attentive and friendly, and the room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: We had room 205, a bay window room on the second floor. It was right across the hall from the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UtahCrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We loved the location, with so many restaurants and shops close at hand. The Guest House feels much more personal than a large hotel chain and everyone was very friendly and efficient. Our room on the 4th floor at the front was comfortable and spacious. The street was lively but not noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewburyGuestHouse261, Manager at Newbury Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review. We hope to see you both again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I'd always wanted to visit Boston and did so after three weeks in New York. Boston is a wonderful city, with so much history. The Newbury is a delightful boutique hotel in a row of 19th century townhouses in a very trendy part of Boston. The street is peppered with boutiques, restaurants, specialty shops, and there is a large mall shopping centre only a block away. I stayed for 4 nights and loved every moment. My room was spacious, with a super comfortable queen bed and a strong shower in the bathroom. Public transport is close by, including trains and buses which can take you to all the amazing historical landmarks in Boston, including Harvard. I enjoyed the Newbury's breakfast, which was included, and a great start to a busy day of sight seeing. Staff were friendly and helpful. I'd recommend this to anyone visiting Boston - you'll love it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#68 of 84 in Boston
971 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,428 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 84 in Boston
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#67 of 84 in Boston
773 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#12 of 84 in Boston
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Guest House

Address: 261 Newbury St, Boston, MA 02116-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: RM551 - RM1,470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the upscale Back Bay section of Boston. Steps from the Hynes Convention Center and the shops at the Prudential Center. Convenient to all major attractions and public transportation. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet every morning from 7:30am - 9:30am. Please contact hotel directly to book your reservation for the best rates, availability and upgrades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Newbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Guest House Hotel Boston
Newbury Bed And Breakfast
Newbury Guest House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing