We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$322
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$344
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$266
US$224
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$265/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
W Boston(Boston)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$373
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Langham, Boston(Boston)
US$314
US$287
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$373
US$309
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$319
US$308
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$807
US$745
Mandarin Oriental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveller rating
318
291
65
28
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
291
65
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay windowgreat locationroom facingbreakfast was includedyogurtstay there againthe hynes convention centerfourth floorevery morningrestaurants and shopsroom was clean and comfortablegreat shoppingstayed here for nightsbed and breakfastshort walkstreet noisecopley square
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 720 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A lovely boutique hotel, in the heart of the iconic Newbury Street. We had a large room, with a great king-size bed. Very comfortable. Breakfast is a treat too, with bacon to die for. Fresh coffee is always available in reception, whenever you need it. A perfect location for all the shops, bars and restaurants in the Back Bay area. I would recommend staying here over one of the bigger hotels downtown everytime.

Room Tip: We had one of the bay rooms, overlooking Newbury Street. Not at all noisey.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We just spent 6 nights at the Newbury Guest House. The Hynes Convention Center is a short block (5 minutes or less) away. Boston Common is about a 10-15 minute walk. The setting of this four-story hotel is wonderful. Newbury street is loaded with boutique shops and restaurants, and it's close to the Copley T (Boston's subway) station---in fact, we bought a one-week T pass ($18) and took the T from the airport to the hotel. The room had a comfortable bed, a small refrigerator, and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was roomy and had a shower with a half-size tub. There was not dresser in the room, but the closet had shelves. There's a table with two chairs, no desk, and one other padded chair. The hotel offered a free hot breakfast daily (scrambled eggs, English muffins, pancakes, yogurt, tea, coffee, juice, and cereal) and free Wifi. The Wifi signal was consistent and strong. The lobby is a comfortable sitting room with a fire place and lots of books and magazines. The staff was attentive and friendly, and the room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: We had room 205, a bay window room on the second floor. It was right across the hall from the elevator and just a few steps from the stairs---most convenient. There was some street noise, but nothing more than what you'd expect in a city. The elevator's a bit slow, so the second floor was good for us.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UtahCrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We loved the location, with so many restaurants and shops close at hand. The Guest House feels much more personal than a large hotel chain and everyone was very friendly and efficient. Our room on the 4th floor at the front was comfortable and spacious. The street was lively but not noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewburyGuestHouse261, Manager at Newbury Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review. We hope to see you both again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I'd always wanted to visit Boston and did so after three weeks in New York. Boston is a wonderful city, with so much history. The Newbury is a delightful boutique hotel in a row of 19th century townhouses in a very trendy part of Boston. The street is peppered with boutiques, restaurants, specialty shops, and there is a large mall shopping centre only a block away. I stayed for 4 nights and loved every moment. My room was spacious, with a super comfortable queen bed and a strong shower in the bathroom. Public transport is close by, including trains and buses which can take you to all the amazing historical landmarks in Boston, including Harvard. I enjoyed the Newbury's breakfast, which was included, and a great start to a busy day of sight seeing. Staff were friendly and helpful. I'd recommend this to anyone visiting Boston - you'll love it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Selected this place due to its location. Perfect distance near all the local sights, pubs, entertainment, etc. Nice place, cozy, and comfortable. Free breakfast buffet, next door in restaurant. Great selection. Has elevator and stairs. Decent size rooms. Good bathroom. Ice machine right outside door. Room had a refrigerator., large flat screen tv., table and 2 chairs. Everything within walking distance or the "T." I would recommend this place for couples who want a change from the big named hotels. Staff not quite as friendly as I would have expected, but what can you expect from college students.... some of the nearby pubs were like that as well. They would rather cater to the younger crowd than the older ones with more money to spend, go figure. So expect this attitude throughout down town Boston.

Room Tip: We selected the 4th floor to stay above any night time noise.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicki062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews