We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fancy, but not my style.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fancy, but not my style.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

While it's a very nice hotel, the old style is just not my thing. The rooms were small, but clean. It's conveniently located and very nice. If you don't mind high quality, antiquey places, you'll probably love it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motogrrl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,326
    634
    128
    50
    21
See reviews for
839
1,182
161
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

What a great old hotel, beautiful, comfortable with all the modern conveniences. Ideal location for walking just about any where, I can't wait to go back!
Customer service was outstanding, everyone was super friendly and helpful.

One tip: While waiting for a taxi to the airport the bellman offered us a ride in the hotel's courtesy car for a flat rate of $40 (pre-tip). He said the $40 charge is only $7 more than the cab fare. We opted to just take the taxi and our fare was $21.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We spent two night's at the Lenox. It is an incredibly welcoming environment with the entire staff, front desk, doormen, maids, etc. highly motivated in creating a warm and relaxing ambiance.We stayed in a junior suite,which is a single corner room with two queen beds overlooking downtown Boston.

Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank cokeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, MA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I visited for a quick overnight getaway. I booked a fireplace suite, a large corner room on the 5th floor with a nice view of the city. The room itself was nicely decorated, but not particularly cozy or romantic. It seemed a bit cold and staid. (All those florescent lights don't help!) Anyways, after enjoying dinner at City Table, we wanted to take advantage of the fireplace, so called the "fire man" to come up and light a genuine wood fire. I don't know what those logs are made of, but he was able to light a blazing fire with only a couple of pieces of newspaper. It was very nice. We were told to keep the glass doors closed for 15 minutes, but then we opened them. (There were still screen doors closed in front of the fire.) All was well. But WHOA! At a very inopportune time, a flaming log came tumbling out of the fireplace onto the carpet! (The hearth is very small.) Hubby had to jump up and grab it on the sides with bare hands and throw it back into the fire. That was a close one! We closed the glass doors again, but the room had quite a bit of smoke in it. Good thing the windows to the outside open! I love the idea of the wood burning fireplace, but they really need to leave people with a log gripper in order to rearrange the logs when needed or catch one that has fallen out. We had no tools at all. I had to carefully shift the logs with my hands at one point to keep them going. (No, I was NOT going to call the fire man up to do it.) Once I did that, the fire continued to blaze until midnight. The other issue we had with the room was that there was a ventilation fan that hummed away loudly 24/7. It was in the ceiling, and there was no way to shut it off. It sounded a little like someone running a shower in the next room all night. So that interfered with a perfect night's sleep. I would definitely ask about it. Overall, it was an adventure, and I did enjoy the hotel. If you get a fireplace room, just pack your fireplace tools!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iwanttogetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We spent two night's at the Lenox. It is an incredibly welcoming environment with the entire staff, front desk, doormen, maids, etc. highly motivated in creating a warm and relaxing ambiance.We stayed in a junior suite,which is a single corner room with two queen beds overlooking downtown Boston. In this case "suite" means single corner room with more square footage that a single room, but not huge.

The beds are very, very comfortable, the linen luxurious, the decor is refined but not stuffy.
There is a small refrigerator but no coffee maker due to fire codes for historic old buidlings.
Peets coffee served complimentary in the lobby each morning. Free paper available upon request. Extremely quiet.

I would jump at the opportunity to stay here again. Great location as well.

Room Tip: Request a corner room on an upper floor for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#9 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,021 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#4 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,252 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Property: Lenox Hotel
Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price range (per night): RM835 - RM2,152
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Copley Square - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing