We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing after reading reviews”
Review of Copley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copley House
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We stayed at this venue for six nights after reading so many positive reviews. I have to say I was disappointed with the accommodation. I believe that the positive reviews you might read are based on other apartment blocks that were reviewed and not the one we stayed at on St .Stephens Street. Yes the bed was comfortable and the location is good but there are a number of things that go against me recommending a stay here. The room was a decent size but the furniture and fixings were very "tired" the apartment needed a little bit of TLC and a good spring clean. The bathroom was very tiny and the shower unit was quite dirty with mold or something visible in the mastic sealant. Worst of all was the soundproofing. You could here everything even when guests were behaving in a sensible manner,if you were located next to inconsiderate guests it would be a nightmare. Staying here is not cheap and my wife and I will stay elsewhere when we next visit Boston.

Room Tip: Ask which apartment block you will be staying in and request photo of the accommodation you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Perfect location near Prudential Center ,
Outstanding apartment with all necessary amenties
Safe area within walking distance to Back Bay train station
excellent if you as we did arrive from New York City.
Staff helpful
Area quiet and residential

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lennart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Owner at Copley House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Lennart,

We appreciate you choosing to stay with Copley House! We're glad you enjoyed your apartment and the surrounding area. We hope to see you again during your next travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We enjoyed the Copley House, although transportation was a problem--and the logistics were a bit challenging. The closest restaurant (which is nice for breakfast) is Thornton's, two blocks away, so we relied on that a lot. Because we were both unwell (colds), climbing up and down the stairs and getting to the subway was a bit of an ordeal (no elevators). There's a 7-11 nearby for minor purchases. Be prepared to walk if you stay here--or bring a car and wrestle with the lack of parking.

The apartment itself was small but quite nice with a well-supplied kitchen. The staff was very friendly, flexible and helpful--when we could reach them. (At times, there was no one at the front desk.)

Room Tip: Book an apartment on the ground floor as there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BetsyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Owner at Copley House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

BetsyJ,

Thank you for leaving a review and for choosing Copley House. We appreciate your kind words about our staff. All feedback will be passed to our team. We hope you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We had a Studio apartment which suited us for a few days to explore Boston after we had been on a cruise. Fast Wifi- good sized bathroom- small kitchen area- friendly and helpful check in and out. Arrived early and we were given a room straight away before the time allocated for checking in. The room didn't suit and was given another straight away when I explained why. 50 mins walk to the water front and markets through the public park and Downtown. Across the road from our room was a delightful small park where we sat and read and whiled away the time. Easy walk to the Prudential building and star Market for any provisions needed. Would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank meatybj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopleyHouseBoston, Owner at Copley House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Meatybj,

We appreciate you choosing Copley House and glad we were able to get you a new room immediately. We can't wait to see you again during your next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Grim. Initially given a basement room. Dirty and many things broken. After complained got moved the next day. Everything pretty " icky ".
Only positive thing is that there are lovely streets round and about and getting around the city was easy.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere. Budget room should not mean dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairehill552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 84 in Boston
3,814 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#68 of 84 in Boston
971 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 84 in Boston
1,935 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#73 of 84 in Boston
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley House

Address: 239 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02116-6412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Boston
#56 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: RM481 - RM1,024 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copley House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copley House is your home away from home in Boston, MA. We offer affordable lodging in fully furnished apartments at daily and weekly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Copley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copley House Hotel Boston
Copley Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing