We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!”

The Institute of Contemporary Art
Book In Advance
More Info
US$26.25*
and up
Boston Harbor Night Cruise
Ranked #84 of 364 things to do in Boston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum features cutting-edge contemporary painting, sculpture, architecture, film and photography.
Reviewed 15 November 2017

I don’t always understand contemporary art and this is another try. I’m glad I did and I had so much fun! My favorites are Dana Schutz and Mark Dion. Took off one star because there’s a video in the new acquisition section that grossed me out without warning. I can’t unsee it. Other than that, it’s perfect. The staff, the building and the view are great. The audio tour is free via internet. They have free WiFi. It’s completely different from the art museums in Roma, I smile when I think of this place.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank San20150825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"permanent collection"
in 19 reviews
"silver line"
in 11 reviews
"great building"
in 12 reviews
"exhibits change"
in 4 reviews
"on display"
in 18 reviews
"seaport district"
in 6 reviews
"boston harbor"
in 20 reviews
"gift shop"
in 20 reviews
"small museum"
in 8 reviews
"works of art"
in 4 reviews
"ica"
in 110 reviews
"artists"
in 45 reviews
"installation"
in 21 reviews
"waterfront"
in 32 reviews
"cantilevered"
in 7 reviews
"watershed"
in 6 reviews
"video"
in 25 reviews
Filter

32 - 36 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Went there with a group of students and wasn't impressed or excited. This place is definitely for arts people and not for everyone. The artist also has a major narcissistic side to her.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank SteveFEAT8848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

I wasn't expecting to enjoy this museum as much as I did because of some other reviews I'd read but my two millenials and I had a good time viewing the main gallery with a show of work by Mark Dion, including his amusing 'Library for the Birds of New York." ICA also had a great store with lots of fun stuff. There is a glass wall room where you can view the harbor. The surrounding area is good for walking, and there are restaurants nearby. We ate at By Chloe, especially good for vegetarians and vegans,

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank elaine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Some friends encouraged me to come here on Thursday evening, as soon as the free night starts (5PM), just to sit in front of their giant windows and watch the harbor as the sun goes down. They were right, as it was lovely, and while I'm not terribly fond of contemporary art, I ended up really liking one of the exhibitions.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Betsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017

I have been to this museum when it first opened but did not check out the museum gift shop until yesterday.
It is a must stop after visiting the museum or if in the neighborhood just to go there only. It is one of the best gift shops that I have ever seen. All kinds of items plus great books and jewelry.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank kappy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Institute of Contemporary Art also viewed

 

Been to The Institute of Contemporary Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing