We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best location, with a big difference from the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Boston, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kevin S
Edison, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best location, with a big difference from the cramp Hotel style stay!”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Sleep a Float Capricornus (Boston) at Lewis Wharf is so different from the usual hotel stay, you will want to expirence it, as I have twice now. The boat is always clean, 2 private bedrooms and a pull out couch probably best for children.The roof deck is a great place to relax before and after your journeys. It`s location is perfect for walking to all of the Boston Harbor Boat tours Quincy Hall, Little Italy and much more. The Tour Trolleys are a great way to expiernce the history of this great city also located a block or two away from the Capricornus.The public transportation (subways) are safe and great to venture out even further to the Kennedy Library, or a game at Fenway Park, or just about anything you want to see there. I have done this trip twice and prefer to fly into Bostons Logan airport ,take the free bus # 66, to the water taxi and walk a few blocks to the Capricornus, wheeled suit cases are best for this walk! You can drive in also but parking in Boston is very limited and expensive, you will not need a car, nor will you want to move it once you find a spot to park. To sum it all up if you never seen Boston you should add it to your bucket list, and go see this truely wonderful historic city. Sleep a Floats Capricornus will add even more adventure to your weekend or vacation experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The expirence, nothing like a hotel stay, private and relaxing.
Liked least: My only wish would have been another tv in the bedroom, there is only one in the living area.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony54_13
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A different experience, but worth it.”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My wife and I along with our daughter and my 90 year old mother-in-law stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed the experience. We'd never stayed on a houseboat before and weren't sure what to expect.Our boat was quite comfortable and ideally postioned to the hub of the tourist area of Boston. Our contact John was fantastic and was always avialable if we needed anything. The 2 main beds were very comfortable but the only real knock on our furnishings was the sofa bed our daughter had to sleep on. It was old and lumpy but not enough to deter us from booking again. The toilet facilities took a little getting used to as well. All in all it was a great experience and we'd certainly recommend it to anyone.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your honest response. We are so happy to hear you had a great time on board our boat and will definitely share with the owner your comments about the sofa bed.

Hope to have you on board again soon!

Best,
Team SleepAfloat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin S
Edison, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best way to vacation in Boston.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great vacation spot for the tour trolleys, and for people who don`t mind walking for a mile or two around this great city. The parking is the only problem, in the whole city of Boston there is very limited parking spots. Public garage spots are 25 a day , with limited spots at off peak times best for availability. It could be a hike with your suit cases and bags to the Sleep a Float boats, wheeled suit cases are best. Once parked you may not want to leave your parking spot, and start the hunt for another spot later on. Once you settle in on the boats you will love this vacacation location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: The parking.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2014
Thanks for the reveiw! Yes parking in the city can be a bit of a pain. We try to encourage all of our guests to take public transportation as the marina makes you pay every time you move your car out of the lot. The 5 minute walk to the subway is a much better option or just touring the city on foot as we are right in Downtown!

Hope to have you on board again soon!

Best,
Team SleepAfloat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kmpgil
Cold Spring, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Fully equipped houseboat. Nice deck on top. John , their representative couldn't have been more helpful. There was a problem with the TV and John stated it would be fixed by the time we returned, and it was. One small problem, the parking. It is a private lot, not part of Sleepafloat. The ad states parking is $25 per day, and that's correct. However, that's only if you leave the vehicle parked for the entire stay. if you take the vehicle out, you get charged again. Therefore parking could run you upwards of $50 per day if you use the vehicle in and out. Also, extremely difficult to find a space as the lot is used by nearby businesses and tourist. However, the boat itself was clean and ready for our arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Extremely small shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and those tips on parking are very helpful for future guests. Unfortunately parking in the downtown area can get expensive. Luckily most of our guests stay in the general area during their stay and can walk or take public transportation to most of the places they want to visit. It can get pricey though if you need to take your car in and out of the lot.

Hope to have you on board again!

Best,
Team SleepAfloat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing