We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel staff in Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boston Harbor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best hotel staff in Boston”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

You can marvel at the unique architecture of the Boston Harbor Hotel, admire its central waterfront location, and enjoy the dining rooms for excellent cuisine. There is little to say negative about this Boston favorite. Recently the historic Back Bay section of Boston experienced a 2 1/2 day blackout and as a resident of that area, I chose to escape to the Boston Harbor Hotel. The staff was overly attentive to all of my needs and helped me overcome the trauma of the blackout crisis. I was made to feel at home and I found time to decompress over the fact that Boston's most fashionable neighborhood was plunged into over 48 hours of darkness. In fun times, like summer, this hotel has wonderful dining on the terrace facing the harbor and you can enjoy a variety of events that include summer jazz to classic movies on the waterfront promenade at the hotel, week nights and weekends. More than a great hotel, it's a place to rendezvous with friends for a wonderful night out on the town. Planning your trip to Boston? My pick is THE BOSTON HARBOR HOTEL because you will be pampered by the best hotel staff in Boston. Then come enjoy everything that the BACK BAY has to offer in restaurants and shopping. You will love it all!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbor are scenic and rooms facing the Kennedy Greenway give a city view with an un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwise21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Last week was certainly an interesting time around the city of Boston. We’re so glad to hear that we were able to make trying circumstances such as the blackout just a little better for you. Certainly, kudos should be given to the tireless crews that worked around the clock to restore power to so many residents and businesses. Our staff is dedicated to providing emblematic service to all of our guests and we are pleased that their efforts were so amply acknowledged in your review. After some amazing shopping in Back Bay, we hope you’ll come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,461
    276
    64
    21
    18
See reviews for
454
679
76
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Our stay in Boston was only for one night and we chose to stay down by the water. We were on the 16th floor facing the harbor and the view was spectacular. We were able to valet park the car and walk wherever we wanted to go. The aquarium, Quincy Street Market and Legal Seafood are all within easy walking distance. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved facing the harbor and watching the ferries come and go. Also, you have a fantastic view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Watching the lapping waves of the harbor and the leisurely traverse of the ferries over the Harbor is a great way to enjoy the fantastic view from the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf. It also seems that you were able to enjoy many of the iconic attractions located very close to the hotel. We’re very happy to hear from you and learn that your stay was enjoyable, and we can’t wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Just returned from a work-related trip to Boston. I've always wanted to stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel, and this was a great opportunity. I could not have been happier with my stay. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and polite. Not a hint of snobbery or haughtiness, which might be expected of an old-school elegant hotel. My room was fantastic – and huge! Great views of the city and excellent amenities.

The hotel's proximity to the waterfront, South Station, the North End, Quincy Market and so many other sites is a big plus. I can't wait for my next trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a city view. Water view is more expensive, but the city lights are better at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
We’re thrilled that your wish came true and you were able to join us for a great stay! It’s wonderful to learn that your time spent at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf included the timeless service our staff is intent on providing and your compliments are sincerely appreciated. We look forward to your return and hope you have the opportunity to visit many more the amazing attractions conveniently located near our hotel. Thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Just had a lovely 3-night stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel. I need to say I am a travel agent (Journeys Around the World) but this was a mother-daughter weekend. Loved the location and its proximity to the North End (Italian), Quincy Market, and Aquarium. Have stayed at several large hotels in Boston over the last few years and found the BHH a wonderful experience. The hotel is very friendly and definitely committed to attentive service.

Had a Deluxe City View room that was excellent. Very spacious. Wonderfully comfortable beds and linens. Love having the light switches which can be accessed from bed & having outlets by the bed to plug in electronics nearby. Room had a nice sitting area with second TV. Very quiet, no street noise. Turndown service in the evening included Fiji water and fruit -- a wonderful touch!

Although there was no coffee pot in the room, they did have a coffee service set up in the lobby. It seemed that was put away around 8am but then the Seagrille Restaurant would give you a free coffee to go.

Did see a room with a harbor view and of course those views were also wonderful.

From the moment you walk in, with the doormen, reception staff and helpful concierge you know you are in someplace special. There are gorgeous flower arrangements in the public areas and public area for sitting close to the Seagrille restaurant and harbor side. The furniture in the public areas and in the rooms are traditional and very stately looking.

Ate at the Seagrille Restaurant for lunch and enjoyed the wonderful harbor view. We ate a lobster salad roll and a crab salad and both were excellent. The clam chowder was also great.

After touring one day when it was cold, we went into the Rowe’s Bar upon our return and they made us some nice hot coffee and hot chocolate drinks. The Bar is heavily wood paneled and very cozy feeling. They are known for the largest scotch selection in Boston.

Did not eat the Meritage restaurant but saw they have some wine tasting events for only about $25.

Bathroom has Asprey products which I had not seen before in a hotel and were very nice. The towels were extra plush. Of course, there were nice slippers and robes too.

Didn’t use the spa or gym but they looked nice and there is a saltwater lap pool, steam rooms, sauna, Jacuzzi, spa treatments, etc.

This is definitely a hotel I will stay at again.

Room Tip: Both the city view and harbor view rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneysTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
We’re delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf and that you appreciated the blending of historic characteristics with the luxurious and modern amenities of today that makes our hotel so wonderful. Hearing from a guest that knows the hospitality industry is especially complimentary and makes us happy to know that we fully impressed you. We’re sure that our other guests will appreciate the time you took to be so detailed about your experience. Thank you for your wonderful story describing your experience. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This hotel has exceptional service, spectacular boston harbor views and lovely rooms.
We even had a moment to meet the general manager- Mr. Crellin and he was gracious and
accomodating. When he found out my husband had forgotten his bow tie for our formal
event that evening he immediately had one sent to the room.
Rooms were spacious and beautiful. Beds were comfortable-we got a wonderful nights rest. Can't recommend this hotel enough- everyone should treat themselves to a stay at this gem!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seashell52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBostonHarborHotel, General Manager at Boston Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Making sure that our guests feel special while staying at the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf is our greatest priority. It makes us smile to learn that you consider us a gem and that your stay with us was absolutely enjoyable. We hope you had a wonderful time at your event. It was our pleasure to assist your husband with his wardrobe. Your gracious comments and recommendation are truly humbling and we bid you welcome in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,565 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,164 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Harbor Hotel

Property: Boston Harbor Hotel
Address: 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110-3354
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price range (per night): RM2,033 - RM4,027
Hotel Class:5 star — Boston Harbor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 230 room luxury five star hotel located on the waterfront at Rowes Wharf. Adjacent to the Financial District and walking distance to many different shopping areas including Fanueil Hall, Quincy Market, Downtown Crossing and the Historic North End. Close to many attractions including the New England Aquarium, Children's Museum, Trolley Tours, Whale Watches, Paul Revere House and Freedom Trail. The Spa at Rowes Wharf features a 60 foot indoor lap pool, sauna, steam room, and Jacuzzi. The workout room includes free-weights, elliptical machines, stairmasters, treadmills, bicycles and crosstrainers. All workout attire is provided including shirts, shorts, socks, towels, bathrobes, and slippers. Beneath the unmistakable arches of the Boston Harbor Hotel at Rowes Wharf, overlooking the majestic waterfront, three first-class restaurants combine to provide the perfect blend of delicate fare, scenery, and ambiance. The Rowes Wharf Sea Grille opened in May 2009 and features the freshest possible seafood artfully presented. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boston Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing